Skip to main content

Library Resources at Marian University: New Material

Leisure Reading Collection

We also have a leisure reading collection, a rotating collection of popular and recently released books that will grow to roughly 300 titles by the end of the year. New titles arrive each month, and once the collection reaches the maximum, older titles will be removed to make room for new titles in the collection. Check out the leisure reading collection.

Leisure Reading Titles

What Do I Read Next?

What Do I Read Next? logo

Want some book suggestions picked just for you? Fill out this form with your reading preferences, and we'll find books that match your interests. 

Contact the Library

Call Us:

317.955.6090

Email Us:

librarystaff@marian.edu

Follow Us on Twitter:

@HackelmeierLib

Friend Us on Facebook :

Hackelmeier Memorial Library

Hours of Operation:

Updated Hours

New Acquisitions

New Graphic Novels

 

Oxford Scholarship Online

Ebook collection covering topics such as business, economics, history, literature, philosophy, theology, sociology, and social work.

 

 

 


Business Source Complete

Aimed at the needs of business schools and libraries, this database includes premium full-text content and peer-reviewed business journals. It covers all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, banking, finance, and more. Indexing and abstracts and full text are available back as far as 1886. This is an upgrade from our previous subscription of Business Source Premiere.


Film & Television Literature Index with Full Text

A resource for researchers of film and television, providing the most comprehensive, balanced collection of full-text and bibliographic coverage from scholarly and popular sources, and spanning the entire spectrum of film and television studies.


Fuente Academica Premier

A source for academic research, providing key coverage of major subject areas. Fuente Académica provides researchers with a collection of scholarly journals from Latin America, Portugal and Spain, designed to make academic research readily available in PDF format.

History Reference Center

Designed for secondary schools, public libraries, junior/community colleges and undergraduate research, this database features full text for thousands of primary source documents and informational texts.


Humanities Full Text (H.W. Wilson)

This database provides full text, abstracts and bibliographic indexing of the most noted scholarly sources in the humanities, as well as specialized magazines.


International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text

A research tool for theatre and dance studies. In addition to all the comprehensive indexing of the International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance (IBTD), it contains full text for the top performing arts journals.


Literary Reference Center Plus

A full-text database providing information on thousands of authors and their works across literary disciplines and timeframes. It gives students, teachers and librarians a complete foundation of literary reference works to meet any and all of their research or instructional needs.


MagillOnLiterature Plus

Produced by Salem Press, MagillOnLiterature Plus combines all of the quality content of both MagillOnLiterature and MagillOnAuthors in a fully integrated and enhanced single database. It is a source for editorially reviewed critical analyses, character studies, author biographies and plot summaries of the most studied literary works.


Play Index (H.W. Wilson)

This unique resource covers classic and historical plays, along with the works of contemporary playwrights. Play Index covers new editions and translations, and includes descriptive annotations to summarize the plot and indicate musical requirements.


Points of View Reference Center

Containing resources that present multiple sides of an issue, this database provides rich content that can help students assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills.


Referencia Latina

This comprehensive database offers content from a variety of sources, including an inclusive collection of images, health reports, and full text for reference books and general interest magazines in a broad array of subject areas. Additionally, the resource covers a full spectrum of Spanish-language scholarships inside and outside academia.


Rosetta Stone Level One for Personal Use

Recognized as a leader in technology-based language learning, Rosetta Stone offers libraries and their patrons their proven immersion method.


Science Reference Center

A research database providing easy access to a wealth of full-text, science-oriented content. Designed to meet student researcher's needs, Science Reference Center contains full text for hundreds of science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals and other reliable sources. In addition, the database includes a vast collection of images from sources such as UPI, Getty, NASA, National Geographic and the Nature Picture Library.


Short Story Index (H.W. Wilson)

Provides detailed indexing for hundreds of thousands of short stories, this database is an essential resource for readers seeking short stories by author or genre, and for those researching the body of work of a particular literary figure.


Small Business Reference Center

This database offers exclusive full text for many top consumer small business reference books, as well as the necessary tools and instructions to address a wide-range of small business topics. In addition, it provides business videos, a help and advice section, and information on how to create business plans.


Social Sciences Full Text (H.W. Wilson)

Covering the latest concepts, theories and methods from both applied and theoretical aspects of the social sciences, this full-text resource provides access to the most important English-language social science journals.


Vente et Gestion

A tool for both academic and professional researchers, Vente et Gestion provides full-text access to a wide variety of content relevant to business and related subjects, sourced from top French language journals on business and industry.


Art Index

Database includes indexing for more than 650 periodicals, more than 14,000 art dissertations and more than 200,000 art reproductions covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as photography, folk art, film, and architecture.

 


 

Encyclopedia of Social Work

A continuously updated online collaboration between the National Association of Social Workers (NASW Press) and Oxford University Press (OUP). Over 400 overview articles, on key topics ranging from international issues to ethical standards, offer students, scholars, and practitioners a trusted foundation for a lifetime of work and research, with new articles and revisions to existing articles added regularly.

 


CQ Researcher

CQ Researcher includes reports that offers in-depth coverage of political and social issues, such as health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.


Suggestions for Purchase

To submit an item to be considered for purchase, fill out this form.  

Submitting a request does not guarantee that we will place an order, but we do take all requests into consideration.