Secondary sources are materials that compile and reference original sources to describe and analyze past events. Textbooks are considered secondary sources, as are scholarly research articles and books written after an event, by someone not directly involved in the event.
Eyewitness accounts by explorers, native americans, missionaries, traders, settlers exploring North Americ, ca. AD 1000 to 1800 from the Wisconsin Historical Society.
National Library of the United States and Congress. Prints, photographs, sound archives, and other e-resources) from all time periods and countries. Includes two popular collections:
Digital archive to historical documents, maps, sound recordings, and images.
Digital Newspaper Project: U.S. Newspapers--many small town--to 1922.
Texts, images, audiofiles on history, literature and culture, colonial period to include the
beginnings of the twentieth century. From the University of North Carolina Library.
Historical sources for Ancient History, Medieval Studies, and Modern History.
Digital library of 8,500 books and 50,000 journal articles in American social history,
antebellum period through Reconstruction. From the University of Michigan.
Features online primary source materials for educational program DocsTeach, and online exhibits. Also guides to archival collections in regional depositories (Atlanta, Georgia, is NARA’s Southeast Regional Repository). For more information, see http://www.archives.gov/education/research/primary-sources.html
Archives, Digital collections and more from the NYPL: Historical maps, illuminated manuscripts, prints and photographs. Includes texts and images from the Schomburg Center for Research in Black Culture.
The Digital Library Collections contain exhibitions, digitized books (many on the history of science and technology), papers from the Bureau of American Ethnology BULLETIN.
Search vital, cultural, military, court, land, medical, civil war, and criminal history records.
Collections include photographic, institution, military, historical, naturalization, and court records.
more than 75,000 digital images that are available for research,
Links to digital collections from academic libraries, public libraries, historical societies, museums, and archives in the state of Indiana.