Atomic Absorption Spectrometry by
Atomic Absorption Spectroscopy (AAS) is a well-established elementalanalysis technology. It remains one of the most popular and cost-effectiveanalysis tools used by chemists, physicists, and materials scientists worldwide.This second edition offers a concise introduction to AAS concepts, essentialmethodologies, and important applications. It has been comprehensivelyupdated for the latest advances in AAS techniques and instruments.Highlights include:* Overviews of all basic atomic absorption concepts, including atomicline spectra theory, common sampling techniques, radiation sources,spectrometers, and detectors;* Coverage of hydride generation, cold vapor generation andelectrothermal generation, as well as flow injection analysis (FIA) toenhance AAS analytical performance;* New sections on troubleshooting and quality control guidelines,chemometrics, and emerging fields of applications, including analysisof nanoparticles; and* Selected examples of standards for chemical analysis.
Interpreting Organic Spectra by
Spectroscopic data undoubtedly provides a great deal of useful information about organic molecules. Competently deriving structural information from such data therefore, is a requisite skill for many undergraduates studying chemistry. Interpreting Organic Spectra covers the basic principles of spectroscopy in as non-mathematical a way as possible. It assumes no previous knowledge of spectroscopy and avoids excessive theory, approaching the topic as an exercise in pattern recognition. Hence the main focus of the book is in the provision of a variety of spectra for the student to interpret. Students are able to pace their progress by gaining confidence on the simpler spectra, and applying techniques learned to tackle more complex examples. As an introduction to the subject, it is ideal for A-level students as well as chemistry undergraduates and will prove to be a very useful reference tool for teachers and lecturers.
The Spectra and Dynamics of Diatomic Molecules by
This book is written for graduate students just beginning research, for theorists curious about what experimentalists actually can and do measure, and for experimentalists bewildered by theory. It is a guide for potential users of spectroscopic data, and uses language and concepts that bridge the frequency-and time-domain spectroscopic communities. spectra, basic experimental techniques, definition of Born-Oppenheimer and angular momentum basis sets and the associated spectroscopic energy level patterns (Hund's cases), construction of effective Hamiltonian matrices to represent both spectra and dynamics, terms neglected in the Born-Oppenheimer approximation (situations intermediate between Hund's cases, spectroscopic perturbations), nonlinear least squares fitting, calculation and interpretation of coupling terms, semi-classical (WKB) approximation, transition intensities and interference effects, direct photofragmentation (dissociation and ionization) and indirect photofragmentation (predissociation and autoionization) processes, visualization of intramolecular dynamics, quantum beats and wavepackets, treatment of decaying quasi-eigenstates using a complex Heff model, and concluding with some examples of polyatomic molecule dynamics. localized dynamics concealed beyond the reduction of spectra to archival molecular constants and the exact ab initio computation of molecular properties. the practical, simplified-model, and rigorous theoretical approaches discussed in this book. molecules. * It is the most up-to-date and comprehensive book on the electronic spectroscopy and dynamics of diatomic molecules. * The authors pioneered the development of many of the experimental methods, concepts, models, and computational schemes described in this book.
Spectra and Dynamics of Small Molecules by
These seven lectures are intended to serve as an introduction for beginning graduate students to the spectra of small molecules. The author succeeds in illustrating the concepts by using language and metaphors that capture and elegantly convey simple insights into dynamics that lie beyond archival molecular constants. The lectures can simultaneously be viewed as a collection of interlocking special topics that have fascinated the author and his students over the years. Though neither a textbook nor a scholarly monograph, the book provides an illuminating perspective that will benefit students and researchers alike.
Spectra of Atoms and Molecules by
Spectra of Atoms and Molecules, 2nd Edition is designed to introduce advanced undergraduates and new graduate students to the vast field of spectroscopy. Of interest to chemists, physicists, astronomers, atmospheric scientists, and engineers, it emphasizes the fundamental principles of spectroscopy with its primary goal being to teach students how to interpret spectra. The book includes a clear presentation of group theory needed for understanding the material and a large number of excellent problems are found at the end of each chapter. In keeping with the visual aspects of the course, the author provides a large number of diagrams and spectra specifically recorded for this book. Topics such as molecular symmetry, matrix representation of groups, quantum mechanics, and group theory are discussed. Analyses are made of atomic, rotational, vibrational, and electronic spectra. Spectra of Atoms and Molecules, 2nd Edition has been updated to include the 1998 revision of physical constants, and conforms more closely to the recommended practice for the use of symbols and units. This new edition has also added material pertaining to line intensities, which can be confusing due to the dozens of different units used to report line and band strengths. Another major change is in author Peter Bernath's discussion of the Raman effect and light scattering, where the standard theoretical treatment is now included. Aimed at new students of spectroscopy regardless of their background, Spectra of Atoms and Molecules will help demystify spectroscopy by showing the necessary steps in a derivation.
Mathematical physical chemistry : practical and intuitive methodology by
This book introduces basic concepts of mathematical physics to chemists. Many textbooks and monographs of mathematical physics may appear daunting to them. Unlike other, related books, however, this one contains a practical selection of material, particularly for graduate and undergraduate students majoring in chemistry. The book first describes quantum mechanics and electromagnetism, with the relation between the two being emphasized. Although quantum mechanics covers a broad field in modern physics, the author focuses on a hydrogen(like) atom and a harmonic oscillator with regard to the operator method. This approach helps chemists understand the basic concepts of quantum mechanics aided by their intuitive understanding without abstract argument, as chemists tend to think of natural phenomena and other factors intuitively rather than only logically. The study of light propagation, reflection, and transmission in dielectric media is of fundamental importance. This book explains these processes on the basis of Maxwell equations. The latter half of the volume deals with mathematical physics in terms of vectors and their transformation in a vector space. Finally, as an example of chemical applications, quantum chemical treatment of methane is introduced, including a basic but essential explanation of Green functions and group theory. Methodology developed by the author will also prove to be useful to physicists.
Methods in Physical Chemistry by
Thanks to the progress made in instruments and techniques, the methods in physical chemistry have developed rapidly over the past few decades, making them increasingly valuable for scientists of many disciplines. These two must-have volumes meet the needs of the scientific community for a thorough overview of all the important methods currently used. As such, this work bridges the gap between standard textbooks and review articles, covering a large number of methods, as well as the motivation behind their use. A uniform approach is adopted throughout both volumes, while the critical comparison of the advantages and disadvantages of each method makes this a valuable reference for physical chemists and other scientists working with these techniques.
Physical Chemistry by
This new edition of Robert G. Mortimer's Physical Chemistry has been thoroughly revised for use in a full year course in modern physical chemistry. In this edition, Mortimer has included recent developments in the theories of chemical reaction kinetics and molecular quantum mechanics, as well as in the experimental study of extremely rapid chemical reactions. While Mortimer has made substantial improvements in the selection and updating of topics, he has retained the clarity of presentation, the integration of description and theory, and the level of rigor that made the first edition so successful. * Emphasizes clarity; every aspect of the first edition has been examined and revised as needed to make the principles and applications of physical chemistry as clear as possible. * Proceeds from fundamental principles or postulates and shows how the consequences of these principles and postulates apply to the chemical and physical phenomena being studied. * Encourages the student not only to know the applications in physical chemistry but to understand where they come from. * Treats all topics relevant to undergraduate physical chemistry.
Physical Chemistry: a molecular approach by
As the first modern physical chemistry textbook to cover quantum mechanics before thermodynamics and kinetics, this book provides a contemporary approach to the study of physical chemistry. By beginning with quantum chemistry, students will learn the fundamental principles upon which all modern physical chemistry is built. The text includes a special set of "MathChapters" to review and summarize the mathematical tools required to master the material Thermodynamics is simultaneously taught from a bulk and microscopic viewpoint that enables the student to understand how bulk properties of materials are related to the properties of individual constituent molecules. This new text includes a variety of modern research topics in physical chemistry as well as hundreds of worked problems and examples.
Physical Chemistry: How Chemistry Works by
Much of chemistry is motivated by asking 'How'? How do I make a primary alcohol? React a Grignard reagent with formaldehyde. Physical chemistry is motivated by asking 'Why'? The Grignard reagent and formaldehyde follow a molecular dance known as a reaction mechanism in which stronger bonds are made at the expense of weaker bonds. If you are interested in asking 'why' and not just 'how', then you need to understand physical chemistry. Physical Chemistry: How Chemistry Works takes a fresh approach to teaching in physical chemistry. This modern textbook is designed to excite and engage undergraduate chemistry students and prepare them for how they will employ physical chemistry in real life. The student-friendly approach and practical, contemporary examples facilitate an understanding of the physical chemical aspects of any system, allowing students of inorganic chemistry, organic chemistry, analytical chemistry and biochemistry to be fluent in the essentials of physical chemistry in order to understand synthesis, intermolecular interactions and materials properties. For students who are deeply interested in the subject of physical chemistry, the textbook facilitates further study by connecting them to the frontiers of research. Provides students with the physical and mathematical machinery to understand the physical chemical aspects of any system. Integrates regular examples drawn from the literature, from contemporary issues and research, to engage students with relevant and illustrative details. Important topics are introduced and returned to in later chapters: key concepts are reinforced and discussed in more depth as students acquire more tools. Chapters begin with a preview of important concepts and conclude with a summary of important equations. Each chapter includes worked examples and exercises: discussion questions, simple equation manipulation questions, and problem-solving exercises. Accompanied by supplementary online material: worked examples for students and a solutions manual for instructors. Written by an experienced instructor, researcher and author in physical chemistry, with a voice and perspective that is pedagogical and engaging.
Physical Chemistry Essentials by
This textbook covers the fundamentals of physical chemistry, explaining the concepts in an accessible way and guiding the readers in a step-by-step manner. The contents are broadly divided into two sections: the classical physico-chemical topics (thermodynamics, kinetics, electrochemistry, transport, and catalysis), and the fabric of matter and its interactions with radiation. Particular care has been taken in the presentation of the algebraic parts of physico-chemical concepts, so that the readers can easily follow the explanations and re-work relevant discussion and derivations with pen and paper. The book is accompanied by a rich mathematical appendix. Each chapter includes a selection of (numerical) exercises and problems, so that students can practice and apply the learned topics. An appendix with solutions allows for controlling the learning success. Carefully prepared illustrative color images make this book a great support for teaching physical chemistry to undergraduate students. This textbook mainly addresses undergraduate students in life sciences, biochemistry or engineering, offering them a comprehensive and comprehensible introduction for their studies of physical chemistry. It will also appeal to undergraduate chemistry students as an accessible introduction for their physical chemistry studies.
Quantities, Units and Symbols in Physical Chemistry by
The first IUPAC Manual of Symbols and Terminology for Physicochemical Quantities and Units (the Green Book) of which this is the direct successor, was published in 1969, with the object of 'securing clarity and precision, and wider agreement in the use of symbols, by chemists in different countries, among physicists, chemists and engineers, and by editors of scientific journals'. Subsequent revisions have taken account of many developments in the field, culminating in the major extension and revision represented by the 1988 edition under the simplified title Quantities, Units and Symbols in Physical Chemistry. This 2007, Third Edition, is a further revision of the material which reflects the experience of the contributors with the previous editions. The book has been systematically brought up to date and new sections have been added. It strives to improve the exchange of scientific information among the readers in different disciplines and across different nations. In a rapidly expanding volume of scientific literature where each discipline has a tendency to retreat into its own jargon this book attempts to provide a readable compilation of widely used terms and symbols from many sources together with brief understandable definitions. This is the definitive guide for scientists and organizations working across a multitude of disciplines requiring internationally approved nomenclature.
Stochastic Processes in Physics and Chemistry by
The third edition of Van Kampen's standard work has been revised and updated. The main difference with the second edition is that the contrived application of the quantum master equation in section 6 of chapter XVII has been replaced with a satisfactory treatment of quantum fluctuations. Apart from that throughout the text corrections have been made and a number of references to later developments have been included. From the recent textbooks the following are the most relevant. C.W.Gardiner, Quantum Optics (Springer, Berlin 1991) D.T. Gillespie, Markov Processes (Academic Press, San Diego 1992) W.T. Coffey, Yu.P.Kalmykov, and J.T.Waldron, The Langevin Equation (2nd edition, World Scientific, 2004)
An Introduction to Chemical Kinetics by
This book is a progressive presentation of kinetics of the chemical reactions. It provides complete coverage of the domain of chemical kinetics, which is necessary for the various future users in the fields of Chemistry, Physical Chemistry, Materials Science, Chemical Engineering, Macromolecular Chemistry and Combustion. It will help them to understand the most sophisticated knowledge of their future job area. Over 15 chapters, this book present the fundamentals of chemical kinetics, its relations with reaction mechanisms and kinetic properties. Two chapters are then devoted to experimental results and how to calculate the kinetic laws in both homogeneous and heterogeneous systems. The following two chapters describe the main approximation modes to calculate these laws. Three chapters are devoted to elementary steps with the various classes, the principles used to write them and their modeling using the theory of the activated complex in gas and condensed phases. Three chapters are devoted to the particular areas of chemical reactions, chain reactions, catalysis and the stoichiometric heterogeneous reactions. Finally the non-steady-state processes of combustion and explosion are treated in the final chapter.
Principles of Chemical Kinetics by
James House's revised Principles of Chemical Kinetics provides a clear and logical description of chemical kinetics in a manner unlike any other book of its kind. Clearly written with detailed derivations, the text allows students to move rapidly from theoretical concepts of rates of reaction to concrete applications. Unlike other texts, House presents a balanced treatment of kinetic reactions in gas, solution, and solid states. The entire text has been revised and includes many new sections and an additional chapter on applications of kinetics. The topics covered include quantitative relationships between molecular structure and chemical activity, organic/inorganic chemistry, biochemical kinetics, surface kinetics and reaction mechanisms. Chapters also include new problems, with answers to selected questions, to test the reader's understanding of each area. A solutions manual with answers to all questions is available for instructors. A useful text for both students and interested readers alike, Dr. House has once again written a comprehensive text simply explaining an otherwise complicated subject. Provides an introduction to all the major areas of kinetics and demonstrates the use of these concepts in real life applications Detailed derivations of formula are shown to help students with a limited background in mathematics Presents a balanced treatment of kinetics of reactions in gas phase, solutions and solids Solutions manual available for instructors
Principles of Quantum Mechanics As Applied to Chemistry and Chemical Physics by
Quantum behavior encompasses a large fraction of modern science and technology, including the laws of chemistry and the properties of crystals, semiconductors, and superfluids. This graduate-level text presents the basic principles of quantum mechanics using modern mathematical techniques and theoretical concepts, such as hermitian operators, Hilbert space, Dirac notation, and ladder operators. The first two chapters serve as an introduction to quantum theory with a discussion of wave motion and Schrodinger's wave mechanics. Coverage then details the fundamental principles of quantum mechanics. Throughout, basic theory is clearly illustrated and applied to the harmonic oscillator, angular momentum, the hydrogen atom, the variation method, perturbation theory, and nuclear motion. This volume is the ideal textbook for beginning graduate students in chemistry, chemical physics, molecular physics and materials science.
Quantum Mechanics in Chemistry by
Written for beginning graduate students and advanced undergraduates, this unique text combines both introductory and modern quantum chemistry in a single volume. Unlike similar texts, which concentrate on quantum physics and provide only brief examples of chemical applications, QuantumMechanics in Chemistry focuses on the topics a chemist needs to know. It provides an introduction to the fundamentals of quantum mechanics as they apply to chemistry, then moves on to the more modern aspects of the field, which are very important in industry and are not emphasized in any other text.It also includes introductions to molecular spectroscopy, chemical dynamics, and computational chemistry as applied to electronic structures. The authors' websites offer text-related computer programs and a large number of exercises, problems, and solutions to further enhance the flexibility andutility value of the text for students, instructors, and professionals in the field. The publisher's website is linked to the authors' websites: see Appendix H for WWW addresses.
Thermodynamics by
In this classic of modern science, the Nobel Laureate presents a clear treatment of systems, the First and Second Laws of Thermodynamics, entropy, thermodynamic potentials, and much more. Calculus required.
Thermodynamics and Chemistry by
Thermodynamics and Chemistry is designed primarily as a textbook for a one-semester course in classical chemical thermodynamics at the graduate or undergraduate level. It can also serve as a supplementary text and thermodynamics reference source.
Treatise on Thermodynamics by
This classic by the Nobel Laureate is still recognized as one of the best introductions to thermodynamics. A model of conciseness and clarity, it covers fundamental facts and definitions, first and second fundamental principles of thermodynamics, applications to special states of equilibrium, and much more. Numerous worked examples. 1917 edition.