Skip to main content

English - Literature and Composition: Articles/Databases

A guide to resources for English courses focusing on the study of literature and the process of writing.

Journal vs. Magazine

Peer-reviewed, or "scholarly" articles appear in academic or professional journals.  The term "peer-review" means that the content of each article is reviewed by experts for accuracy and authority prior to publication.  Common components of a scholarly article include author credentials, literature review, methodology (if a research article), findings (if a research article), conclusions and a reference bibliography.

Magazine articles often do not include a reference bibliography, and in some cases the author and credentials are not listed.  Without that type of information, it is difficult to verify the source.  For most research projects, your professors will expect you to use strong, verifiable sources that have undergone peer-review prior to publishing.

Journals: Print or Electronic?

Hackelmeier Memorial Library contains both print and electronic peridocals. Knowing the coverage of our holdings can be confusing, but here are some tips to better understand how we maintain our collection.

Sometimes we are limited by the publisher in the currency of certain electronic publications; not always the most current volume and issues are electronically available in full-text. This is called an embargo, or moving wall, whereby publishers set limits on access to encourage purchase of print publication.

Users then should search not only our E-journals A-Z list, but our catalog to determine whether we have access in print for content to which our databases don't provide access.

For example, using the ejournal A-Z list the journal Conservation Biology displays electronic access (from Ebsco's Academic Search Premier database) beginning in 1998, with the most current twelve months unavailable. Note however, that current issues in print are available on the second floor of the library in the periodical collection. 

Additionally, users can try our new Browzine Web platform to search and browse all DOI cataloged journals we have available electronically.  Mobile device users will be required to install the free app.

Databases

Even within scholarly, full-text databases, using the CRAAP Test for evaluating information will ensure a critical focus on whatever sources are used in your research.