Dictionary of Gene Technology by
The most up-to-date and comprehensive collection of all terms of this modern science. With more than 4000 technical terms, this dictionary reflects the importance of gene technology for present-day biology. Extensive explanations and illustrations accompany the terms, providing admirably clear access to the complexities of this vital discipline. Moreover, the book elucidates the jungle of acronyms and swamps of jargon that have frustrated many a researcher. A multitude of cross-references enables non-specialists and experts alike to understand links to related sciences such as genetics, biotechnology, microbiology and biochemistry. Students, researchers, officials and journalists will soon find it difficult to imagine tackling gene technology without the assistance of this user-friendly dictionary.
A Dictionary of Genetics by
This eighth edition of A Dictionary of Genetics contains over 7,500 up-to-date and cross-referenced entries, including 540 that are newly written. The entries include the latest terminology, concepts, theories, and techniques, covering not only genetics but also such overlapping disciplines ascell biology, medicine, and evolutionary biology. The fully revised six appendices are a unique source of detailed supplementary information, including a chronology of scientific and technological breakthroughs spanning the period from 1590 to the present, lists of useful internet sites and journals, and a table of sample genome sizes and genenumbers. A Dictionary of Genetics continues to be the definitive reference work for students, educators, and clinicians in the field of genetics.
Dictionary of Microbiology and Molecular Biology by
This third, revised edition covers the whole field of pure and applied microbiology and microbial molecular biology in one volume. Includes: the latest developments in the field; over 18,000 entries from concise definitions of terms to review-length articles; extensive cross-referencing between topics; and, numerous references from scientific journals and other relevant sources.
Encyclopedia of Genetics by
This two-volume set provides a thorough coverage of the basics of genetics from historical, scientific and social issues perspectives. This revised edition adds more than 60 new overview essays and 26 new sidebars to the original entries, reflecting the rapid developments in this branch of science.
Genes and DNA: a beginner's guide to genetics and its applications by
Covering newsworthy aspects of contemporary biology--gene therapy, the Human Genome Project, DNA testing, and genetic engineering--as well as fundamental concepts, this book, written specifically for nonbiologists, discusses classical and molecular genetics, quantitative and population genetics--including cloning and genetic diseases--and the many applications of genetics to the world around us, from genetically modified foods to genetic testing. With minimal technical terminology and jargon, Genes and DNA facilitates conceptual understanding. Eschewing the organization of traditional genetics texts, the authors have provided an organic progression of information: topics are introduced as needed, within a broader framework that makes them meaningful for nonbiologists. The book encourages the reader to think independently, always stressing scientific background and current facts.
Genetics: a conceptual approach by
With Genetics: A Conceptual Approach, Ben Pierce brings a master teacher's experiences to the introductory genetics textbook, clarifying this complex subject by focusing on the big picture of genetics concepts and how those concepts connect to one another. The new edition features Pierce's signature writing style, relevant applications, student-friendly art, and emphasis on problem-solving, while incorporating the latest trends in genetics research. The new edition text and LaunchPad media work closely together for a seamless experience for both instructors and students. What's in the LaunchPad
Genetics: from genes to genomes by
Genetics: From Genes to Genomes is a cutting-edge, introductory genetics text authored by an unparalleled author team, including Nobel Prize winner, Leland Hartwell. The 4th edition continues to build upon the integration of Mendelian and molecular principles, providing students with the links between the early understanding of genetics and the new molecular discoveries that have changed the way the field of genetics is viewed. Users who purchase Connect receive access to the full online ebook version of the textbook.
Language of Genetics: an Introduction by
The Language of Genetics: An Introduction is the seventh title published in the Templeton Science and Religion Series, in which scientists from a wide range of fields distill their experience and knowledge into brief tours of their respective specialties. In this volume, Dr. Denis R. Alexander offers readers a basic toolkit of information, explanations, and ideas that can help us grasp something of the fascination and the challenge of the language of genetics. Alexander surveys the big picture, covering such topics as the birth of the field; DNA: what it is, how it works, and how it was discovered; our genetic history; the role of genes in diseases, epigenetics, and genetic engineering. The book assumes the reader has little scientific background, least of all in genetics, and approaches these issues in a very accessible way, free of specialized or overly technical jargon. In the last chapter, Dr. Alexander explores some of the big questions raised by genetics: what are its implications for notions of human value and uniqueness? Is evolution consistent with religious belief? If we believe in a God of love, then how come the evolutionary process, utterly dependent upon the language of genetics, is so wasteful and involves so much pain and suffering? How far should we go in manipulating the human genome? Does genetics subvert the idea that life has some ultimate meaning and purpose? Genetics is a rapidly advancing field; it seems new discoveries make headlines every other week. The Language of Genetics is intended to give the general reader the knowledge he or she needs to assess and understand the next big story in genetics.
Principles of Modern Genetics by
This text, for a one-semester general genetics course for science majors, integrates the molecular and classical (Mendelian) approaches to genetics and takes an analytical approach, emphasizing problem solving and the analysis of research data.
The Study of Gene Action by
This important book points the way toward integrating the DNA sequence level with the level of organismal action. The authors show clearly that this integration is far more difficult and less well understood than either level is by itself. -- William B. Provine, Cornell University In The Study of Gene Action, Bruce Wallace and Joseph O. Falkinham III review the problems that confronted geneticists in successive eras. New technologies, developed to solve the problems, inevitably stimulated an awareness of subtler problems that awaited still more sophisticated technologies. The rediscovery of Mendel's studies of inheritance in 1900 catalyzed two branches of research: an investigation of the physical nature of the gene and an elucidation of the means by which the gene performs its function. In The Search for the Gene, Wallace described efforts to identify and characterize the physical basis for the phenomena Mendel observed. The Study of Gene Action, the companion volume, documents the research, accelerating over time, to specify how genes carry out their functions. Initially limited to an examination of external features and subse
Gregor Mendel: planting the seeds of genetics by
In the mid-nineteenth century, Gregor Mendel, a friar who taught natural science in the provincial Austro-Hungarian capital of Brunn (today Brno, Czech Republic), began to experiment with breeding garden peas. Meticulously recording his observations of their inherited traits over a number of generations, he developed the basis of the modern science of genetics. Mendel's discoveries were so far in advance of their day that it wasn't until 50 years had passed that their importance was recognised by the scientific community. Today he is recognised as one of the great scientists of history. The story of genetics, of course, did not stop with Mendel. In a fascinating account of scientific history, author Simon Mawer continues the narrative through the work of the life-scientists who built their own research on Mendel's discoveries. These include the discovery of the DNA molecule by scientists led by James Watson and Francis Crick in the early 1950s, the Human Genome Project completed in 2003, and the remarkable discoveries of geneticists that continue today.
Gregor Mendel: the first geneticist by
Gregor Mendel: The First Geneticist presents a lively, authoritative introduction to the man who discovered the laws of heredity and pioneered the study of genetics. Written by world-renowned Mendel scholar Vitezslav Orel, the book brilliantly traces Mendel's intellectual development, focusing in particular on his 1865 plant crossing experiments that revolutionized modern science. Throughout, Orel considers Mendel's contributions and personality in the unique social context in which he flourished. He also offers fascinating accounts of Mendel's fight for recognition, and the subsequent misuse of his theories by the Soviets and Nazis. Gregor Mendel offers the definitive systematic account of the great scientist's life and work. It will be enjoyed by interested general readers as well as students and researchers in biology and science history.
Hybrid: the history and science of plant breeding by
Disheartened by the shrink-wrapped, Styrofoam-packed state of contemporary supermarket fruits and vegetables, many shoppers hark back to a more innocent time, to visions of succulent red tomatoes plucked straight from the vine, gleaming orange carrots pulled from loamy brown soil, swirling heads of green lettuce basking in the sun. With Hybrid, Noel Kingsbury reveals that even those imaginary perfect foods are themselves far from anything that could properly be called natural; rather, they represent the end of a millennia-long history of selective breeding and hybridization. Starting his story at the birth of agriculture, Kingsbury traces the history of human attempts to make plants more reliable, productive, and nutritious--a story that owes as much to accident and error as to innovation and experiment. Drawing on historical and scientific accounts, as well as a rich trove of anecdotes, Kingsbury shows how scientists, amateur breeders, and countless anonymous farmers and gardeners slowly caused the evolutionary pressures of nature to be supplanted by those of human needs--and thus led us from sparse wild grasses to succulent corn cobs, and from mealy, white wild carrots to the juicy vegetables we enjoy today. At the same time, Kingsbury reminds us that contemporary controversies over the Green Revolution and genetically modified crops are not new; plant breeding has always had a political dimension. A powerful reminder of the complicated and ever-evolving relationship between humans and the natural world, Hybrid will give readers a thoughtful new perspective on--and a renewed appreciation of--the cereal crops, vegetables, fruits, and flowers that are central to our way of life.
Plant Genes, Genomes and Genetics by
Plant Genes, Genomes and Genetics provides a comprehensive treatment of all aspects of plant gene expression. Unique in explaining the subject from a plant perspective, it highlights the importance of key processes, many first discovered in plants, that impact how plants develop and interact with the environment. This text covers topics ranging from plant genome structure and the key control points in how genes are expressed, to the mechanisms by which proteins are generated and how their activities are controlled and altered by posttranslational modifications. Written by a highly respected team of specialists in plant biology with extensive experience in teaching at undergraduate and graduate level, this textbook will be invaluable for students and instructors alike. Plant Genes, Genomes and Genetics also includes: specific examples that highlight when and how plants operate differently from other organisms special sections that provide in-depth discussions of particular issues end-of-chapter problems to help students recapitulate the main concepts rich, full-colour illustrations and diagrams clearly showing important processes in plant gene expression a companion website with PowerPoint slides, downloadable figures, and answers to the questions posed in the book Aimed at upper level undergraduates and graduate students in plant biology, this text is equally suited for advanced agronomy and crop science students inclined to understand molecular aspects of organismal phenomena. It is also an invaluable starting point for professionals entering the field of plant biology.
Plant Genetics and Molecular Biology by
This book reviews the latest advances in multiple fields of plant biotechnology and the opportunities that plant genetics, genomics and molecular biology have offered for agriculture improvement. Advanced technologies can dramatically enhance our capacity in understanding the molecular basis of traits and utilizing the available resources for accelerated development of high yielding, nutritious, input-use efficient and climate-smart crop varieties. In this book, readers will discover the significant advances in plant genetics, structural and functional genomics, trait and gene discovery, transcriptomics, proteomics, metabolomics, epigenomics, nanotechnology and analytical & decision support tools in breeding. This book appeals to researchers, academics and other stakeholders of global agriculture.
A Century of DNA : a history of the discovery of the structure and function of the genetic substance by
The story of DNA from the time of its discovery in 1869 up to the solution of the genetic code in the 1960s. Why did it take more than a century of research before scientists properly understood what DNA was and what it did within the cell? A Century of DNA aims to answer this question, tracing the history of DNA research across interrelated subjects, including embryology, biophysics, organic chemistry, histology, physiological chemistry, and genetics. The chapters follow a chronological sequence in the development of ideas on DNA, and incorporate biographical material on researchers involved in these discoveries. Comprehensible to the general scientific reader and to the specialist, this book is a unique look at the foundations of molecular biology.
DNA: promise and peril by
The genetic revolution has provided incredibly valuable information about our DNA, information that can be used to benefit and inform--but also to judge, discriminate, and abuse. An essential reference for living in today's world, this book gives the background information critical to understanding how genetics is now affecting our everyday lives. Written in clear, lively language, it gives a comprehensive view of exciting recent discoveries and explores the ethical, legal, and social issues that have arisen with each new development.
A Passion for DNA : Genes, Genomes, and Society by
A principal architect and visionary of the new biology, a Nobel Prize-winner at 34 and best-selling author at 40 (The Double Helix), James D. Watson had the authority, flair, and courage to take an early and prominent role as commentator on the march of DNA science and its implications for society. In essays for publications large and small, and in lectures around the world, he delivered what were, in effect, dispatches from the front lines of the revolution. Outspoken and sparkling with ideas and opinions, a selection of them is collected for the first time in this volume. Their resonance with today's headlines is striking.
Rosalind Franklin : the dark lady of DNA by
In March 1953, Maurice Wilkins of King's College, London, announced the departure of his obstructive colleague Rosalind Franklin to rival Cavendish Laboratory scientist Francis Crick. But it was too late. Franklin's unpublished data and crucial photograph of DNA had already been seen by her competitors at the Cambridge University lab. With the aid of these, plus their own knowledge, Watson and Crick discovered the structure of the molecule that genes are composed of--DNA, the secret of life. This is a powerful story of a remarkable simpleminded, forthright and tempestuous young woman who, at the age of fifteen, decided she was going to be a scientist, but who was airbrushed out of the greatest scientific discovery of the twentieth century.
Signs of Life: the language and meanings of DNA by
"The genetic age is upon us, yet most people have only a limited understanding of the wondrous chemical that encodes the formula for all living things. As DNA's secrets are revealed, they must be rescued from the obscuring language of science, and now Signs of Life does just that. Borrowing from the humanities, Robert Pollack offers an entirely fresh perspective: DNA, he argues, should be seen as a great work of natural literature, a three-billion-year-old, continuously evolving text." "An award-winning scientist and teacher, Pollack displays both a sophisticated understanding of biology and a remarkable gift for metaphor. In elegant prose, he shows precisely how DNA provides the instruction book for life. He takes us deep inside a living cell - a teeming walled city - and explains how the genetic script at its heart governs all its operations. He opens the book containing the human genome and lucidly reveals the process by which biologists and physicians have begun to read its words and sentences." "But the frontier of genetics now extends into troubling territory. Pollack identifies several areas of concern: the ambitious but flawed Human Genome Project, the widespread access to individual genetic data, the temptation to manipulate genetic codes to make them "better." Given our still-crude ability to interpret these living texts, our eagerness to rewrite them is alarming. The power to change the human genome brings with it enormous responsibilities, and Pollack offers persuasive evidence that if we fail to achieve a fuller understanding of the multiple meanings of DNA, we risk disaster." "Signs of Life is both a brilliant illumination of a biological text and a provocative meditation on our awesome new ability to alter it. With the grace of a born writer and teacher, Robert Pollack has written a book that will change the way people think about science, genetics, and the future of our species."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Understanding DNA: the molecule & how it works by
The functional properties of any molecule are directly related to, and affected by, its structure. This is especially true for DNA, the molecular that carries the code for all life on earth. The third edition of Understanding DNA has been entirely revised and updated, and expanded to cover new advances in our understanding. It explains, step by step, how DNA forms specific structures, the nature of these structures and how they fundamentally affect the biological processes of transcription and replication. Written in a clear, concise and lively fashion, Understanding DNA is essential reading for all molecular biology, biochemistry and genetics students, to newcomers to the field from other areas such as chemistry or physics, and even for seasoned researchers, who really want to understand DNA.
Developmental Gene Expression Regulation by 
The Engineer in the Garden : genes and genetics : from the idea of heredity to the creation of life by
"In The Engineer in the Garden, Colin Tudge leads us through the intricacies of genetic theory - from its earliest classical form, to plant and animal breeding, to cloning and the Human Genome Project. He explains and questions the presumptions and ramifications of every scientific assertion about "advance," including sociobiology, genetic counseling, the creation of novel vaccines, and the possibility of prolonging human life. Cautious but not alarmist, Tudge argues that these scientific advances have far outpaced our thinking about them, and charges us to recognize that since science is part of the social order, scientific literacy is no longer a privilege of but a requirement for citizenship in the global community. Our response to these new technologies must necessarily involve our deepest thoughts about democratic principles, economic theory, and the meaning of life." "A lucid and engaging overview of what we have learned thus far, The Engineer in the Garden is also a passionate and provocative work of social criticism."--BOOK JACKET.Title Summary field provided by Blackwell North America, Inc. All Rights Reserved
Epigenetics - a Different Way of Looking at Genetics by
This book presents epigenetics research as a new way of looking at genetics. Topics range from basic epigenetics mechanisms to development of cells and organisms and the biological basis of diseases. In addition the book focuses on immunology and the role of viruses in epigenetics. The last part of the book highlights proteins and peptides as epigenetic modulators.
Epigenetics: the ultimate mystery of inheritance by
"The potential is staggering. . . . The age of epigenetics has arrived."--Time, January 2010Epigenetic means "on the gene," and the term refers to the recent discovery that stress in the environment can impact an individual's physiology so deeply that those biological scars are actually inherited by the next several generations. For instance, a recent study has shown that men who started smoking before puberty caused their sons to have significantly higher rates of obesity. And obesity is just the tip of the iceberg--many researchers believe that epigenetics holds the key to understanding cancer, Alzheimer's, schizophrenia, autism, and diabetes.Epigenetics is the first book for general readers on this fascinating and important topic. The book is driven by stories such as the Dutch famine of World War II, José Canseco and steroids, the breeding of mules and hinnies, Tazmanian devils and contagious cancer, and more.
Evolutionary Genetics by
Charles Fox and Jason Wolf have brought together leading researchers to produce a cutting-edge primer introducing readers to the major concepts in modern evolutionary genetics. This book spans the continuum of scale, from studies of DNA sequence evolution through proteins and development tomultivariate phenotypic evolution, and the continuum of time, from ancient events that lead to current species diversity to the rapid evolution seen over relatively short time scales in experimental evolution studies. Chapters are accessible to an audience lacking extensive background inevolutionary genetics but also current and in-depth enough to be of value to established researchers in evolution biology.
Evolution of the Human Genome I: The Genome and Genes by
This book reviews the human genome from an evolutionary perspective. No such book has ever been published before, although there are many books on human genomes. There are two parts in this book: Overview of the Human Genome (Part I) and The Human Genome Viewed through Genes (Part II). In Part I, after a brief review of human evolution and the human genome (by Naruya Saitou), chapters on rubbish or junk DNA (by Dan Graur), GC content heterogeneity (by Satoshi Oota), protein coding and RNA coding genes (by Tadashi Imanishi), duplicated genes (by Takashi Kitano), recombinations (by Montanucci and Bertranpetit), and copy number variations including microsatellites (by Naoko Takezaki) are discussed. Readers can obtain various new insights on the human genome from this part. In Part II, genes in X and Y chromosomes (by Yoko Satta and others), HLA genes (by Timothy A. Jinam), opsin genes (by Shoji Kawamura and Amanda D. Melin), genes related to phenotypic variations (by Ryosuke Kimura), transcription factors (by Mahoko Takahashi and So Nakagawa), diabetes-related genes (by Ituro Inoue), disease genes in general (by Ituro Inoue and Hirofumi Nakaoka), and microbial genomes (by Chaochun Wei) are discussed. The human genome sequences were determined in 2004, and after more than 10 years we are now beginning to understand the human genome from an evolutionary point of view. This book furnishes readers with a good summary of current research in the field.
The Genomics Age: how DNA technology is transforming the way we live and who we are by
Science is on the verge of unlocking the mysteries of life. Will the knowledge mean the beginning of a new era, or the end of life as we know it?
The Molecular Basis of Cancer by
2015 BMA Medical Book Awards Highly Commended in Oncology Category! The Molecular Basis of Cancer arms you with the latest knowledge and cutting-edge advances in the battle against cancer. This thoroughly revised, comprehensive oncology reference explores the scientific basis for our current understanding of malignant transformation and the pathogenesis and treatment of this disease. A team of leading experts thoroughly explains the molecular biologic principles that underlie the diagnostic tests and therapeutic interventions now being used in clinical trials and practice. Detailed descriptions of topics from molecular abnormalities in common cancers to new approaches for cancer therapy equip you to understand and apply the complexities of ongoing research in everyday clinical application. Effectively determine the course of malignancy and design appropriate treatment protocols by understanding the scientific underpinnings of cancer. Visually grasp and retain difficult concepts easily thanks to a user-friendly format with abundant full-color figures. Find critical information quickly with chapters following a logical sequence that moves from pathogenesis to therapy. Stay current with the latest discoveries in molecular and genomic research. Sweeping revisions throughout include eight brand-new chapters on: Tumor Suppressor Genes; Inflammation and Cancer; Cancer Systems Biology: The Future; Biomarkers Assessing Risk of Cancer; Understanding and Using Information About Cancer Genomes; The Technology of Analyzing Nucleic Acids in Cancer; Molecular Abnormalities in Kidney Cancer; and Molecular Pathology. Access the entire text and illustrations online, fully searchable, at Expert Consult.
Pharmacogenomics an Introduction and Clinical Perspective by
A state-of-the-art textbook on the emerging field of pharmacogenomics, this is a comprehensive textbook detailing how genetic makeup affects a body's response to drugs. The book covers everything from individual molecules to systemic diseases, and examines both fundamental concepts and the latest technologies.
Principles of Cancer Genetics by
This is the second edition of a widely used textbook that consolidates the basic concepts of the cancer gene theory and provides a framework for understanding the genetic basis of cancer. Particular attention is devoted to the origins of the mutations that cause cancer, and the application of evolutionary theory to explain how the cell clones that harbor cancer genes tend to expand. Focused on the altered genes and pathways that cause the growth of the most common tumors, Principles of Cancer Genetics is aimed at advanced undergraduates who have completed introductory coursework in genetics, biology and biochemistry, medical students and medical house staff. For students with a general interest in cancer, this book provides a highly accessible and readable overview. For more advanced students contemplating future study in the field of oncology and cancer research, this concise book will be useful as a primer.
The Double-Edged Helix: social implications of genetics in a diverse society by
The rapidly changing field of genetics affects society through advances in health-care and through implications of genetic research. This study addresses the impacts of new genetic discoveries and technologies on different segments of today's society. The book begins with a chapter on genetic complexity, and subsequent chapters discuss moral and ethical questions arising from today's genetics from the perspectives of health care professionals, the media, the general public, special interest groups and commercial interests.
Genetics, Health and Society by
This volume focuses on critical issues surrounding the intersection of genetics, health, and society. It provides a critical examination of sociological and biomedical approaches to genomics, including strengths and limitations of each perspective.
Genomics and Society: legal, ethical and social dimensions by
The impact of genomics on society has been the focus of debate and conflict across the world. Contrasting views of risks and benefits, trust in science and regulation, the understanding of science, media coverage and mobilization of the public by civil society groups all have been cited as drivers of public opinion. The long running controversy is a signal that the public's view cannot be ignored in the development and implementation of new technologies arising out of genomics such as agricultural biotechnologies, genetic testing and the uses of genetic information, the cloning of human cells and tissues and transgenic animals.Written by a progressive international group of social scientists from Europe, North America and Japan, this volume presents a series of comparative perspectives on the social, ethical and legal implications of genomics. The result is a book which encapsulates the lessons to be learned from the controversies of the 1990s and raises the level of debate on the societal implications of new developments in genomics.
Human Genes and Genomes: science, health, society by
In the nearly 60 years since Watson and Crick proposed the double helical structure of DNA, the molecule of heredity, waves of discoveries have made genetics the most thrilling field in the sciences. The study of genes and genomics today explores all aspects of the life with relevance in the lab, in the doctor's office, in the courtroom and even in social relationships. In this helpful guidebook, one of the most respected and accomplished human geneticists of our time communicates the importance of genes and genomics studies in all aspects of life. With the use of core concepts and the integration of extensive references, this book provides students and professionals alike with the most in-depth view of the current state of the science and its relevance across disciplines.
Human Recipe: understanding your genes in today's society by
Human genetics is not the playground of science alone. Genetics concerns all of us, for we all have DNA, genes, genomes, and chromosomes. In fact, our genes determine our appearance and our behaviour. They even define our talents and our health risks. The authors of The Human Recipe explain clearly and with humour what exactly is understood by human genetics. With anecdotes and topical examples they demonstrate how genetics interferes with our everyday lives. What if a DNA analysis reveals that your biological father is someone else than the person you have been calling dad for years? Why do Africans excel in athletics, Asians in gymnastics, and Europeans mainly in sports testing physical strengths? What is the difference between a genetic disease and a contagious illness? The newest developments in human genetics also raise ethical questions and provoke actual debates which the authors do not bypass. Why are many people reluctant to the conception of designer babies and less to rescue babies? Is it possible to eliminate cancer? And are preventive surgeries and amputations the most appropriate solutions to do so? What about privacy in DNA research and forensic databases? Can DNA be stolen and is this considered a serious crime? The Human Recipe is a smart guide to all you want to know about human genetics in our current society.
Wondergenes: Genetic Enhancement and the Future of Society by
Wondergenes not only imagines a future world in which genetic enhancement is the norm, but asserts that this future has already begun. Genetically engineered substances are already in use by athletes, in vitro fertilization already provides the primitive means by which parents can "select" an embryo, and the ability to create new forms of genetically engineered human beings is not far off. What happens when gene therapy becomes gene enhancement? Who will benefit and who might be left behind? What are the costs to our values and beliefs, and to the future of our society? To answer these questions, Maxwell J. Mehlman provides an overview of the scientific advances that have led to the present state of genetic enhancement and explains how these advances will be used in the future to redefine what we think of as a normal human being. He explores the ethical dilemmas already facing researchers and medical practitioners, and the dilemmas we will all be expected to face. In his forecast of the dangers inherent in this technology, he is particularly concerned with the emergence of a "genobility" made up of those able to afford increasingly expensive enhancement. Wondergenes is a serious, accessible introduction to the social and personal implications of genetic engineering. Mehlman weighs the social and economic costs of the many proposals to regulate or limit genetic engineering and provides six concrete policy recommendations from professional licensing to a ban on germ-line enhancement that propose to make the future of genetic enhancement more equitable and safe."