The Design of Life by
Nobel laureate Renato Dulbecco presents a fascinating overview of the current state of information about life processes, ranging from the characteristics and activities of DNA to sexuality, practical aspects of genetics, communication between cells and between organisms, and the effects of drugs on the brain. He concludes with a provocative discussion of biology and human affairs in which he poses questions about brain programming and its relationship to accountability, freedom of choice, and the future. "An impressive overview of contemporary molecular biology. . . . Dulbecco leads us through virtually all of the exciting currents of recent research, from the origin of life to the biological significance of sexuality, from the most elementary evolutionary concepts to the design of the brain."--Joshua Lederberg, American Society for Microbiology News "Should be of interest to general readers who want to understand the developments that have taken place in biology during the past 30 years as well as to specialists in the field who want to learn more about Dulbecco's perspective."--American Scientist "People [will] enjoy reading and learning about the thread of life in the cell, the mating habits of the bowerbird in New Guinea [and] of the grunion in California, the problem of AIDS, and so on. Read it, enjoy it and learn from it."--David Hall, New Scientist "An excellent resource book for students who have difficulty in understanding the terminology of modern molecular biology; also recommended as a resource to any biologist who has struggled to try to make the discipline comprehensible to the nonscientist."--Choice
Desk Encyclopedia of Microbiology by
Derived from the Encyclopedia of Microbiology, this edition contains about 25 percent of the articles that originally appeared in that work. The articles selected have been chosen to offer the broadest appeal to microbiologists in all fields, and for their currency. The result is a volume where the coverage is extensive but not overly long in specific details. Topics fall into all major headings of the Encyclopedia, but greatest emphasis is placed on genetics, physiology, metabolism and gene expression, infectious diseases and pathogenesis and applied microbiology. Additionally, hot topics such as biofilms and quorum sensing have been included.
Dictionary of Microbiology & Molecular Biology by
Covers the whole field of pure and applied microbiology and microbial molecular biology.
Encyclopedia of Microbiology by 
Microbes and People : an A-Z of microorganisms in our lives by
Orgnized in an A-to-Z format, this reference guide is designed to help users find their way in the vast--and sometimes bewildering--world of living things too small to be discerned with the naked eye. Entries cover environmental, industrial, and food microbiology, in addition to the microbiology of health and disease. Scientific techniques used for studying microorganisms are discussed, and biographies of key individuals are provided. A chronology of infections and disease epidemics from 430 B.C. to the present is included as an appendix.
Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology by
Over the last few years, the language of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology has expanded enormously to the extent that few scientists can expect to be familiar with all the terms and concepts. This is partly due the massive influence of the Genome and successive "-omics" projects which havedeveloped in to many new areas of research. At the same time, terms from other subject areas - including mathematics, statistics, physics and other life sciences - appear increasingly in the biochemical literature. The Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology provides a comprehensive and 'encyclopaedic' survey of modern biochemistry and molecular biology. This new edition of the popular dictionary has been comprehensively reviewed and updated to include many important new concepts and words. Theentries are short but informative, providing up-to-date information on a broad range of topics, including definitions for terms from the fields of Bioinformatics, Biophysics, Cell Biology, Chemistry, Genetics, Immunology, Mathematics, Microbiology, Pharmacology, Systems Biology, and Toxicology.There are over 21000 main entries, which include: details of biochemical substances and the processes in which they are involved, methods and concepts in molecular biology, and definitions of biochemical symbols and abbreviations. Each entry is accessibly written. They point out pitfalls where termsare often confused, and explain the precise syntax of biochemical terms such as Greek letters and other formatting, which are invariably lost when searching the Internet. In addition, the dictionary is generously illustrated with over 900 chemical structures. The Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology will serve as an invaluable reference text for student and professional biochemists and molecular biologists seeking information both from within and outside their own fields. It will also be of relevance and use to a broader audience oflife scientists seeking an authoritative overview of fundamental principles.
Bioenergetics by
This new edition of Bioenergetics presents a clear and up-to-date explanation of the chemiosmotic theory and covers mitochondria, bacteria, and chloroplasts. It takes account of the many newly determined structures, such as ATP synthase and the two photosystems of photosynthesis, that provide molecular insight into chemiosmotic energy transduction. This edition includes additional color figures of protein structures and many newly drawn illustrations designed to enable the reader to grasp the fundamental insights that are derived from knowing the structure. Every chapter has been extensively revised and updated and a new chapter on the study of the bioenergetics of mitochondria in the intact cell is included to satisfy the enormous interest in this topic. Written for students and researchers alike, this book is the most current text on the chemiosmotic theory and membrane bioenergetics available.
Bioenergetics at a Glance: an Illustrated Introduction by
Bioenergetics is the study of the way biological systems, usually at the molecular level, utilize and convert energy in order to drive the biochemical reactions that constitute life. However, because of its often quantitative basis and the amount of technical jargon, the subject tends to alienate and intimidate students. This beautifully illustrated text has a lucid and logical approach to the subject. The text uses the modern perspective throughout so that the student is given an easily assimilable, logical introduction to the important concepts of the subject, particulary the core concept, the 'chemiosmotic theory'. It has been specifically designed to make information easily accessible by devoting each double-page spread to one topic. Within the spread, a variety of carefully constructed diagrams present information in a concise and innovative manner. The text is further enhanced by a comprehensive guide to additional reading. Original, easily understood combination of visual and written information. 43 double-page speads give a clear and concise introduction to this traditionally difficult subject. The most up to date text available, covering all modern molecular genetic techniques. Competitively priced.
Cell Physiology Source Book by
Cell Physiology Source Book gathers together a broad range of ideas and topics that define the field. It provides clear, concise, and comprehensive coverage of all aspects of cellular physiology from fundamental concepts to more advanced topics. The 4e contains substantial new material. Most chapters have been thoroughly reworked. The book includes chapters on important topics such as sensory transduction, the physiology of protozoa and bacteria, and synaptic transmission. Authored by leading researchers in the field Clear, concise, and comprehensive coverage of all aspects of cellular physiology, from fundamental concepts to more advanced topics Full color illustrations
Functional Metabolism: regulation and adaptation by
Functional Metabolism of Cells is the first comprehensive survey of metabolism, offering an in-depth examination of metabolism and regulation of carbohydrates, lipids, and amino acids. It provides a basic background on metabolic regulation and adaptation as well as the chemical logic of metabolism, and covers the interrelationship of metabolism to life processes of the whole organism. The book lays out a structured approach to the metabolic basis of disease, including discussion of the normal pathways of metabolism, altered pathways leading to disease, and use of molecular genetics in diagnosis and treatment of disease. It also takes a unique comparative approach in which human metabolism is a reference for metabolism in microorganisms and plant design, and presents novel coverage of development and aging, and human health and animal adaptation. The final chapter reviews the past and future promise of new genetic approaches to treatment and bioinformatics. This, the most exhaustive treatment of metabolism currently available, is a useful text for advanced undergraduates and graduates in biochemistry, cell/molecular biology, and biomedicine, as well as biochemistry instructors and investigators in related fields.
Structural Basis of Biological Energy Generation by
The fascinating machinery that life uses to harness energy is the focus of this volume of the Advances in Photosynthesis and Respiration series. Experts in the field communicate their insights into the mechanisms that govern biological energy conversion from the atomic scale to the physiological integration within organisms. By leveraging the power of current structural techniques the authors reveal the inner workings of life.
The Cell by
Now in its seventh edition, The Cell continues the central goal of helping students understand the principles and concepts of contemporary cell biology while gaining an appreciation of the excitement and importance of research in this rapidly moving field.
Cell and Molecular Biology by
The Seventh Edition of Cell and Molecular Biology: Concepts and Experiments connects experimental material to key concepts of Cell Biology. The text offers streamlined information that reinforces a connection of key concepts to experimentation. Through the use of paired art and new science illustrations; readers benefit from a visual representation of experimental connections. Animations and video clips are tied to key illustrations with practice questions to provide a variety of ways to experience a key concept. The new 7th edition offers an appropriate balance of concepts and experimentation. Experimental detail is offered when it helps to reinforce the concept being explained.
Cell Biology by the Numbers by
How much energy is released in ATP hydrolysis? How many mRNAs are in a cell? How genetically similar are two random people? What is faster, transcription or translation? Cell Biology by the Numbers explores these questions¿and dozens of others¿providing a richly illustrated and handy reference for students and researchers in molecular and cell biology, chemistry, and biophysics. The book features question-driven vignettes and "back of the envelope" calculations that investigate some of the key numbers in cell biology. Readers will learn about the sizes, concentrations, rates, energies, and other numbers that describe and drive the living world.
Essential Cell Biology by
This text provides a readily accessible introduction to the central concepts of cell biology. And its lively, clear writing and exceptional illustrations make it the ideal text for a first course in both cell and molecular biology. Molecular detail has been kept to a minimum. This decision delivers a cohesive conceptual framework for the basic science that underlies our current understanding of all of biology--including the biomedical sciences.
The World of the Cell by
Focussing on the key concepts, this work aims to provide students with a comprehensive understanding of cell biology without being overwhelming. The fourth edition contains increased coverage of experiments, emphasizing the importance of the scientific process.
Atlas of Plant Cell Structure by
This atlas presents beautiful photographs and 3D-reconstruction images of cellular structures in plants, algae, fungi, and related organisms taken by a variety of microscopes and visualization techniques. Much of the knowledge described here has been gathered only in the past quarter of a century and represents the frontier of research. The book is divided into nine chapters: Nuclei and Chromosomes; Mitochondria; Chloroplasts;nbsp;Thenbsp;Endoplasmic Reticulum, Golgi Apparatuses, and Endocytic Organelles; Vacuoles and Storage Organelles; Cytoskeletons; Cell Walls; Generative Cells; and Meristems. Each chapter includes several illustrative photographs accompanied by a short text explaining the background and meaning of the image and the method by which it was obtained, with references. Readers can enjoy the visual tour within cells and will obtain new insights into plant cell structure. This atlas is recommended for plant scientists, students, their teachers, and anyone else who is curious about the extraordinary variety of living things.
Between Nucleus and Cytoplasm by
In the last decade nucleo-cytoplasmic transport has developed into one of the most active areas of research in cell biology and its significance for cell biology as a whole has been recognized. It has led to elucidation of the mechanisms of major cellular functions such as protein synthesis and cellular differentiation. It is also helping to bring about a synthesis of ultrastructural, biochemical, molecular biological and biophysical approaches to the study of cellular organization and function.
The Biogenesis of Cellular Organelles by
The Biogenesis of Cellular Organelles represents a comprehensive summary of recent advances in the study of the biogenesis and functional dynamics of the major organelles operating in the eukaryotic cell. This book begins by placing the study of organelle biogenesis in a historical perspective by describing past scientific strategies, theories, and findings and relating these foundations to current investigations. Reviews of protein and lipid mediators important for organelle biogenesis are then presented, and are followed by summaries focused on the endoplasmic reticulum, Golgi, lysosome, nucleus, mitochondria, and peroxisome.
Functional Ultrastructure: an atlas of tissue biology and pathology by
The period between 1950 and 1980 were the golden It also provides unique insights into how pathological years of transmission electron microscopy and pro- processes affect cell organization. duced a plethora of new information on the structure of This information is vital to current work in which cells that was coupled to and followed by biochemical the emphasis is on integrating approaches from p- and functional studies. TEM was king and each micro- teomics, molecular biology, molecular imaging and graph of a new object produced new information that physiology, and pathology to understand cell functions led to new insights on cell and tissue organization and and derangements in disease. In this current era, there is their functions. The quality of data represented by the a growing tendency to substitute modern light mic- images of cells and tissues had been perfected to a very scopic techniques for electron microscopy because it is high level by the great microscopists of the era including less technically demanding and is more readily available Palade, Porter, Fawcett, Sjostrand, Rhodin and many to researchers. This atlas reminds us that the infor- others. At present, the images that we see in leading tion obtained by electron microscopy is invaluable and journals for the most part do not reach the same techni- has no substitute.
Golgi Apparatus: structure, functions and mechanisms by
The Golgi apparatus is an organelle found in most eukaryotic cells. The primary function of the Golgi apparatus is to process and package macromolecules, such as proteins and lipids, after their synthesis and before they make their way to their destination. This book presents topical research data in the study of Golgi apparatus, including Golgi organisation and stress sensing; signalling pathways controlling mitotic Golgi breakdown in mammalian cells; the role of Golgi apparatus in the biological mechanisms of hypericin-mediated photodynamic therapy; the role of the Trans-Golgi Network (TGN) in the sorting of nonenzymic lysosomal proteins; and the mechanisms involving the role of Golgi apparatus alteration in neurological disorders triggered by manganese.
Guided Tour of the Living Cell by 
The Peroxisome: a vital organelle by
Over the last decades, a series of dramatic research findings have served to emphasize the vital role of the peroxisome. These findings have included major advances in our understanding of its metabolic roles, genetics and biochemistry, as well as of the broad involvements of peroxisomal diseases. This book provides a basic introduction to the peroxisome and its relationship to other components of eukaryotic cells, followed by a detailed and comprehensive discussion of research advances. Current understanding of the morphology, phylogeny, enzymology and ontogeny of the peroxisome is also reviewed. The book concludes with a chapter on peroxisomes and human disease. The authors are well-respected researchers in this field, and have produced an authoritative and readable text which will appeal to postgraduates and researchers in biochemistry, cell biology and medical science.
The Plant Endoplasmic Reticulum by
The endoplasmic reticulum (ER), called "the mother of all membranes," is spotlighted in this timely new book. The work presented here is especially exciting since GFP-technology has provided new ways of looking at the dynamics of the ER and its relationship to other organelles, particularly the Golgi apparatus and peroxisomes. This book provides in-depth knowledge of the ER and the diverse roles it plays.
Power, Sex, Suicide: Mitochondria and the meaning of life by
Mitochondria are tiny structures located inside our cells that carry out the essential task of producing energy for the cell. They are found in all complex living things, and in that sense, they are fundamental for driving complex life on the planet. But there is much more to them than that. Mitochondria have their own DNA, with their own small collection of genes, separate from those in the cell nucleus. It is thought that they were once bacteria living independentlives. Their enslavement within the larger cell was a turning point in the evolution of life, enabling the development of complex organisms and, closely related, the origin of two sexes. Unlike the DNA in the nucleus, mitochondrial DNA is passed down exclusively (or almost exclusively) via the femaleline. That's why it has been used by some researchers to trace human ancestry daughter-to-mother, to 'Mitochondrial Eve'. Mitochondria give us important information about our evolutionary history. And that's not all. Mitochondrial genes mutate much faster than those in the nucleus because of the free radicals produced in their energy-generating role. This high mutation rate lies behind our ageing and certain congenital diseases. The latest research suggests that mitochondria play a key role indegenerative diseases such as cancer, through their involvement in precipitating cell suicide.Mitochondria, then, are pivotal in power, sex, and suicide. In this fascinating and thought-provoking book, Nick Lane brings together the latest research findings in this exciting field to show how our growing understanding of mitochondria is shedding light on how complex life evolved, why sex arose (why don't we just bud?), and why we age and die. This understanding is of fundamental importance, both in understanding how we and all other complex life came to be, but also in order to be able tocontrol our own illnesses, and delay our degeneration and death.'An extraordinary account of groundbreaking modern science... The book abounds with interesting and important ideas.'Mark Ridley, Department of Zoology, University of Oxford
The Amoeba in the Room: Lives of the Microbes by
Animals and plants rule the world - or do they? A cup of seawater contains 100 million cells which are preyed upon by billions of viruses; a pinch of soil swarms with cryptic microbes whose activities are a mystery; 50 million tons of fungal spores are released into the atmosphere every year and affect the weather; and, human beings are mobile ecosystems that farm, and are farmed by, vast populations of bacteria and viruses involved with almost every aspect of our wellbeing. These are the vast, unnoticed, unmentioned 'elephants in the room' of planet earth. The more we learn about microbial biodiversity, the less important do animals and plants become in our understanding life on earth. The flowering of microbial science is revolutionizing biology and medicine in ways unimagined even a decade or two ago, and is inspiring a new view of what it means to be human. Nicholas P. money explores the extraordinary breadth of the microbial world and the vast swathes of biological diversity that are now becoming recognized using molecular methods. Money argues for nothing less than a revolution in our perception of the living world: the big lumbering forms we see are just froth on a vast ocean of single-celled protists, bacteria, and viruses that constitute most of life on earth.
Biodegradative Bacteria: how bacteria degrade, survive, adapt, and evolve by
Biodegradative Bacteria highlights the novel nature of bacterial cell functions in the field of biodegradation by putting them into three parts: (1) Genetic and genomic systems, (2) Degradative enzyme systems, and (3) Bacterial behavior in natural environmental systems. The first part of the book includes cell functions as degradative machinery, genome systems for effective degradation, and the evolution of degradative systems by mobile genetic elements. The second part deals with the structure, function, evolution, diversity, and application of degradative and related enzymes. The third part presents cell or genomic behaviors of biodegradative bacteria in natural ecosystems. Bacterial metabolic capacity, which plays an important role in the global material cycle, contributes significantly to the buffering capacity for the huge and unintended release of various chemicals. Recently, however, the prosperity and globalization of material civilization has led not only to severe local contamination by hazardous chemicals, but also to continuous increment of contaminant concentrations worldwide. To solve such urgent global issues, bacterial functions that are involved in biodegradation of hazardous chemicals have been analyzed. The term "biodegradative bacteria" refers to those bacteria that have the ability to degrade such xenobiotic (man-made) and/or hazardous chemicals. Analyses of biodegradative bacteria include diverse areas of study, such as genetics, enzymology, genomics, cell physiology, ecology, and evolutionary biology. In other words, the targets investigated in research on biodegradative bacteria include single molecules, single cell systems, bacterial consortia (interaction with surrounding microorganisms), and interaction with surrounding biotic and abiotic materials. Such complexity makes the research on biodegradative bacteria difficult but quite interesting.
Foundations in Microbiology by
Talaro/Chess: Foundations in Microbiology is an allied health microbiology text for non-science majors with a taxonomic approach to the disease chapters. It offers an engaging and accessible writing style through the use of tools such as case studies and analogies to thoroughly explain difficult microbiology concepts. We are so excited to offer a robust learning program with student-focused learning activities, allowing the student to manage their learning while you easily manage their assessment. Detailed reports show how your assignments measure various learning objectives from the book (or input your own!), levels of Bloom’s Taxonomy or other categories, and how your students are doing.The Talaro Learning program will save you time while improving your students success in this course. Users who purchase Connect Plus receive access to the full online ebook version of the textbook.
Life at Small Scale : the behavior of microbes by
Our world is swarming with invisible organisms - bacteria and fungi that affect their hosts and environments in diverse ways. This text looks at the mysterious microscopic world of microbes and investigates how they behave, and why. It tells stories of how scientists have discovered the laws of behaviour of the world of microbes, including the principles of locomotion, navigation, survival, reproduction and communication. In addition, the text relates the behaviour of bacteria and other microbes to our more familiar world and shows their impact on our lives.
Lippincott's Illustrated Review : Microbiology by
Publisher's Note: Products purchased from 3rd Party sellers are not guaranteed by the Publisher for quality, authenticity, or access to any online entitlements included with the product. A MUST READ for mastering essential concepts in microbiology Well-known and widely used for their hallmark illustrations, Lippincott's Illustrated Reviews bring concepts to vibrant life. Students rely on LIR for quick review, easier assimilation, and understanding of large amounts of critical, complex material. * Outline format and full-color illustrations: More than 400 color illustrations and color-coded summaries provide key information at a glance and helpful visual explanations * Illustrated case studies and questions to support USMLE prep: Expanded discussions reinforce key concepts and review questions with detailed rationales allow for self-assessment * New bookmark features mini-index of important microorganisms for quick and easy reference "Microbiology can be an overwhelming topic, but the pictures, concise descriptions, and parallel structure of each chapter helps to make the subject easier to understand and digest." - Amelia Keaton, medical student "I think this book better meets the needs of the market because of its review chapters and disease summaries, its review questions, and its excellent photographs of clinical manifestations of microbial disease. I also found this book easier to read and study from." - Devorah Segal, medical student FREE online! (with purchase of the text) * Interactive question bank for test-taking practice * Fully searchable eBook for studying on-the-go
Microbial Biochemistry by
Microbial physiology, biochemistry and genetics allowed the formulation of concepts that turned out to be important in the study of higher organisms. In the first section, the principles of bacterial growth are given, as well as the description of the different layers that enclose the bacterial cytoplasm, and their role in obtaining nutrients from the outside media through different permeability mechanism described in detail. A chapter is devoted to allostery and is indispensable for the comprehension of many regulatory mechanisms described throughout the book. Another section analyses the mechanisms by which cells obtain the energy necessary for their growth, glycolysis, the pentose phosphate pathway, the tricarboxylic and the anaplerotic cycles. Two chapters are devoted to classes of microorganisms rarely dealt with in textbooks, namely the Archaea, mainly the methanogenic bacteria, and the methylotrophs. Eight chapters describe the principles of the regulations at the transcriptional level, with the necessary knowledge of the machineries of transcription and translation. The next fifteen chapters deal with the biosynthesis of the cell building blocks, amino acids, purine and pyrimidine nucleotides and deoxynucleotides, water-soluble vitamins and coenzymes, isoprene and tetrapyrrole derivatives and vitamin B12. The two last chapters are devoted to the study of protein-DNA interactions and to the evolution of biosynthetic pathways. The considerable advances made in the last thirty years in the field by the introduction of gene cloning and sequencing and by the exponential development of physical methods such as X-ray crystallography or nuclear magnetic resonance have helped presenting metabolism under a multidisciplinary attractive angle.
Microbiology by
Mastering essential microbiology concepts is easier with this vividly illustrated review resource. Part of the popular Lippincott® Illustrated Reviews series, this proven approach uses clear, concise writing and hundreds of dynamic illustrations to take students inside various microorganisms and ensure success on board exams. Straightforward lecture-style outlines streamline the review process, accompanied by hundreds of colorful illustrations that make complex concepts more accessible and bring microorganisms to life in vibrant detail. This edition makes exam preparation more efficient than ever with an emphasis on exam-relevant content, as well as hundreds of board-style review questions that help students confidently prepare for the USMLE. Revised coverage familiarizes students with the topics and approaches they're most likely to encounter on exams and in clinical settings. Lecture-style outline format guides students step-by-step through essential concepts. More than 400 full-color illustrations clarify complex microorganisms and common processes. Chapter overviews highlight the most critical information and make studying more efficient and effective. Illustrated case studies challenge students to apply their understanding to commonly encountered clinical scenarios. Hundreds of USMLE-style review questions help students assess their understanding and prepare for exams.
Microbiology: a systems approach by
This book is suited for all kinds of students and doesn't require any prerequisite knowledge of biology or chemistry. If you are interested in entering the health care profession in some way, this book will give you a strong background in the biology of microorganisms, without overwhelming you with unnecessary details. Don't worry if you are not in health professions. A grasp of this topic is important for everyone and can be attained with this book.
Mims' medical microbiology and immunology by
"Learn all the microbiology and basic immunology concepts you need to know for your courses and exams. Now fully revised and updated, Mims' clinically relevant, systems-based approach and abundant colour illustrations make this complex subject easy to understand and remember"--Publisher's description.
Their World: a Diversity of Microbial Environments by
This volume summarizes recent advances in environmental microbiology by providing fascinating insights into the diversity of microbial life that exists on our planet. The first two chapters present theoretical perspectives that help to consolidate our understanding of evolution as an adaptive process by which the niche and habitat of each species develop in a manner that interconnects individual components of an ecosystem. This results in communities that function by simultaneously coordinating their metabolic and physiologic actions. The third contribution addresses the fossil record of microorganisms, and the subsequent chapters then introduce the microbial life that currently exists in various terrestrial and aquatic ecosystems. Coverage of the geosphere addresses endolithic organisms, life in caves and the deep continental biosphere, including how subsurface microbial life may impact spent nuclear fuel repositories. The discussion of the hydrosphere includes hypersaline environments and arctic food chains. By better understanding examples from the micro biosphere, we can elucidate the many ways in which the niches of different species, both large and small, interconnect within the overlapping habitats of this world, which is governed by its microorganisms.
Viral Pathogenesis and Immunity by
Based on the highly successful reference work Viral Pathogenesis published in 1997, this concise, economical version can be used both as an introductory text or for self-education by medical students and biologists alike. This latest edition provides a completely revised overview of the subject with new chapters on innate immunity, emerging viral diseases, and antiviral therapy in a format that is easy to understand without continually referring to additional information. Used by the author in his graduate classes at the University of Pennsylvania, it sets forth the essential principles and discusses the details of how the immune system responds to viral invasion including the treatment and prevention of infection. Illustrated by pertinent examples it is one of the only books devoted exclusively to this topic. * Offers almost a 20% expansion over the first edition * Focuses specifically on viral pathogenesis unlike other texts where only a few chapters are devoted to the topic * Neal Nathanson is one of the primary authorities in the field and has authored chapters on viral pathogenesis in two of the most well known virology and microbiology titles Field's Virology and Topley and Wilson's Microbiology * Now in four color throughout!