Hackelmeier Memorial Library provides access to various online journals within our database collection. Listed below are some journal titles, containing full-text article access pertaining to the history of the book as well and which database in which they are located.
The Beauty of Books Series (Films on Demand) - A film series produced by the BBC, available from our Films on Demand database
The Book: 1450 to the Present - Resources for the graduate course S681, taught by Annette Lamb at IUPUI (Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis).
Book History - Journal in Project Muse and Academic Search Premier databases
Book Research Quarterly - Journal available in Academic Search Premier and Masterfile Premier databases
Empire of the Word: A Reader's Journey Series - via Films on Demand
Library & Information History - Available from Academic Search Premier
Printing History - Covers topics related to the history of printing, publishing, books, type, typography, paper and related industries.
Spreading the Word: Fry's Planet Word (Films on Demand) - A BBC documentary in which Stephen Fry explores the history of the written word, from the earliest forms of writing to that seen in current social media trends. He also explores how the development of printing has resulted in such technologies as libraries, encyclopedias, and computing code. (Taken from publishers description)
From the Getty Museum, this video introduces the making of a medieval, illuminated manuscript.
Ever wondered how the Gutenberg press actually operated?