Skip to main content

EndNote Web - Hackelmeier Memorial Library : Create a Bibliography

Manage your citations using Endnote Web when searching Hackelmeier Memorial Library databases.

Citing While You Write

Just as there is a References tab in MS Word to assist in the creating of citation management (footnotes/endnotes/ bibliographies) in users' research papers, so too is there a free, downloadable plugin from EndNote Web. Use this plugin feature to insert references, and format citations and bibliographies automatically while you write your papers in Word. The EndNote Web Plug-in also allows you to save online references to your library in Internet Explorer for Windows.

More information on the Cite While You Write Plugin can be found here.

Creating Bibliographies

One of the more useful features in EndNote Web is the ability to create instant bibliographies from one's sub-folders of citations. Under The "Format" tab click the "bibliography" link. From there the process is very simple:

  1. Under the "References" heading, select the sub-folder of desired citations to use.
  2. Under the "Bibliographic Style" heading, select the desired citation format (as directed by one's instructor) that corresponds to your writing format and/or discipline.
  3. Under the "File Format" heading, select RTF (Rich Text File) and then "Save" to generate the bibliography. the file can then be attached to an email, printed, or saved for future use. 

More information on generating bibliographies can be found here.

Cite While You Write & Formatting Bibliographies

A brief introduction to using EndNote Web's Cite While You Write Plugin and Create Bibliography function.