LibGuides: **Medicine: OMS-2

OMS-II Readings

MED 710 Immunology/ The Immune System

Required Texts:

(Cooper) The Cell, A Molecular Approach
**You may have to reset/remind/retrieve via lost password link** Try your Marian.edu email first, if that doesnt work try your most often used personal (Gmail/Yahoo) accounts.
(Abbas) Basic Immunology Functions and Disorders of the Immune System 7th ed.
Online Access (Clinical Key)
Robbins and Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease
pp 205-231 -- See Chapter 6. Pp 200-205 -- See Chapter 6. Online Access (ClinicalKey)
Robbins Basic Pathology
Pp 109-110, 114-135 See Chapter 4 Pp 109- 114 See Chapter 4 Online Access (ClinicalKey)

Suggested Texts:

How the Immune System Works (2015)
Online Access (R2)
How the Immune System Works (2015)
Print Copy @ Library
How the Immune System Works (2013) old edition
Online Access (R2)

MED 721 Dermatology

Required Texts:

N/A

(Cooper) The Cell, A Molecular Approach
**You may have to reset/remind/retrieve via lost password link** Try your Marian.edu email first, if that doesnt work try your most often used personal (Gmail/Yahoo) accounts.

Recommended Texts

Habif's clinical dermatology : a color guide to diagnosis and therapy
Available via ClinicalKey
(Fitzpatrick) Dermatology in General Medicine
Online Access (Access Medicine)
(Habif) Skin disease : diagnosis and treatment
Online Access (Clinical Key)
Fitzpatrick’s Color Atlas & Synopsis of Clinical Dermatology
Online Access (Access Medicine)
Robbins and Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease
Online Access (ClinicalKey)

Visual Dx This link opens in a new window
With the entry of a single symptom, the VisualDx builder helps you quickly evaluate possibilities, compare variations, and improve diagnostic accuracy at the point of care. MobileApp available too.

LearnDerm
LearnDerm is a free resource. It a self-study dermatology based resource that has interactive lessons to help with terminology and pattern recognition skills.

Required Texts:

Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine
(Preston & Wilson) Lippincott’s Illustrated Reviews: Physiology
Via LWW Online access OR Library Circulating Collection

Suggested Text:

(Katzung) Basic and Clinical Pharmacology
Online Access & Library Circulating collection
Goldman's Cecil Medicine
Online access (ClinicalKey)
Junqueira's Basic Histology
Online Access (AccessMedicine)
(Nolte) The Human Brain, an introduction to its functional anatomy, 8th ed.
Online Access (ClinicalKey) & Library Circulating Collection

Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine
(Preston & Wilson) Physiology (Lippincott Illustrated Reviews)
LWW access OR Library Circulating Collection

MED 712 Gastrointestinal and Hepatobiliary

Required Texts:

Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine
Online access (AccessMedicine)
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine
Library Reference Collection (print)

Recommended Texts

(Brody) Nutritional Biochemistry
Download up to 60 pages of PDF per session or
Download book for 14 day checkout (follow directions)

MED 713 Endocrinology and Metabolism

Required Texts:

Greenspan's Basic and Clinical Endocrinology
Online Access (AccessMedicine)

Additional Texts:

Robbins and Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease
Online Access (ClinicalKey)

Blueprints Neurology
Access via LWW Health Library
(Blumenfield) Neuroantaomy through clinical cases
Via VitalSource login.
(Haines) Neuroanatomy in Clinical Context (9th edition)
Access via LWW Health Library & Library Print
(Katzung) Basic & Clinical Pharmacology, 14e
Online Access via AccessMedicine & Library Print Copy available
Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine
Online access via AccessMedicine & Library Print Copy
Junqueira's Basic Histology
Access via AccessMedicine and Library Print Copy
(Vanderah & Gould) Nolte's The Human Brain: An introduction to its functional anatomy
Access via ClinicalKey
(Preston & Wilson) Lippincott’s Illustrated Reviews: Physiology
Via LWW Online access OR Library Circulating Collection
Robbins and Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease
Online Access (ClinicalKey)
Adams and Victor's Principles of Neurology, 11e
Online via AccessMedicine

Suggested Readings:

(Haines) Fundamental neuroscience for basic and clinical applications
Online Access (ClinicalKey)
(Squire) Fundamental Neuroscience for Basic and Clinical Applications, Fifth Edition
Online access via ClinicalKey
(Brady & Seigel) Basic Neurochemsitry
Library Circulating Collection
Concise Text of Neuroscience
Library Circulating Collection
(Krebs) Lippincott's Illustrated Reviews
Online Access (LWW Health) & Library Circulation Collection (Print)
Netter's Neurology, 3rd ed.
Online Access via ClinicalKey
Nolte's Essentials of the Human Brain
Online access via ClinicalKey

Alternative Atlases

Draw It To Know It; Neuroanatomy, Anatomy,Phys & More Basic Science modules (Can register for personal account) This link opens in a new window
Use this link to register for your Draw It To Know It account...

(DeArmond) Sturcture of the Human Brain: A Photographic Atlas, 3rd Edition
Library Circulating Collection (Print)
(England) Color Atlas of the Brain and Spinal Cord
Library Reserves 24 hours (Print)
(Woolsey) Brain Atlas: A Visual Guide to the Human Central Nervous System
Library Reserves 24 hour (Print)

EBM Lab Guide

MED 715 - Introduction to Clinical Medicine

Required Texts

Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking, 12e
Online Access (LWW Health Library)
Symptom to Diagnosis: An Evidence-Based Guide
Online Access (AccessMedicine)

Recommended Texts:

DeGowin's Diagnostic Examination, 10th ed.
Online Access (AccessMedicine)
Seidel's Guide to Physical Examination, 10th (previously Mosby's 7th edition)
Online Access (ClinicalKey)
(Beauchamp) Principles of Biomedical Ethics - 8th Ed. (2019)
Online Access (StatRef)
This electronic Book title is NOT unlimited users.. you may encounter a license restriction if too many people are accessing the ebook at the same time.
(Pellegrino) The Virtues in Medical Practice
Download up to 60 pages of PDF per session or
Download book for 14 day checkout (follow directions)
(Jonsen) Clinical Ethics A Practical Approach
Online Access (AccessMedicine)
The Patient History: An Evidence-Based Approach to Differential Diagnosis
Online Access (AccessMedicine)
Patient Centered Interviewing (Smith)
Online Access (AccessMedicine)

Video Content

Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination Videos This link opens in a new window

Intravenous Cannulation (IV & Phlebotomy)
Peripheral Intravenous Cannulation
How to administer EpiPen Auto-Injector
View between 6:15-9:00 only -- no need for the entire video
Basics of Wound Managment
Simple interrupted sutures (Basic Laceration Repair)
Neurology Video Textbook (2013)
Stanford Medicine PE and Procedure videos
DeGowin’s Lymph Node PE

MED 716 - Osteopathic Principles & Practice (OPP3)

Required Texts:

(Seffinger) Foundations of Osteopathic Medicine
(Nelson's) Somatic Dysfunction in Osteopathic Medicine
Online Access (LWW)
Greenman's Principles of Manual Medicine (5th edition)
Online Access (LWW)
(Seffinger) Evidence Based Manual Medicine
Online access via ScienceDirect.
(Simons) Myofascial Pain Syndrome Due to Trigger Points
Online Access
Glossary of Osteopathic Terminology (via Seffinger text)
Online Access (LWW)
Somatic Dysfunction in Osteopathic Family Medicine, 2e : Chapter 19 The hospitalized patient
Online Access (LWW)
(Nicholas) Atlas of Osteopathic Techniques (4th edition)
Online Access (LWW)

Recommended Texts

OMM Video Access

Osteopathic Technique Videos
100+ videos from LWW Osteopathic Collection
Principles of Manual Medicine : Greenman Video Series
Muscle Energy & High Velocity
Myofacial Release & Functional Techniques

Required Texts:

Harrison's Principles of Internal Medicine
Online Access (AccessMedicine) & Print Copy @ Library Reserve Desk
Greenspan's Basic and Clinical Endocrinology
Online Access (AccessMedicine)
Robbins and Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease
Online Access (ClinicalKey)
Faculty may also assign readings from previously required textbooks

Recommended Reading

Nutritional Biochemistry (2nd) (Brady)
Online access via Ebrary
Lippincott Illustrated Reviews: Pharmacology 8th Edition (LIR)
Rubin's Pathology: Mechanisms of Human Disease
Mandell, Douglas, and Bennett's Principles and Practice of Infectious Diseases, Ninth Edition
Ebook via ClinicalKey
Faculty may have recommended reading lists in the PPT slide decks

MED 720 RAP (Reproduction/Aging/Psychiatry)

Reproduction

(Gabbe) Obstetrics: Normal and Problem Pregnancies, 8th ed
Online Access (ClinicalKey)
(Lentz) Comprehensive Gynecology
Online Access (ClinicalKey)
Campbell-Walsh Urology, 12th ed
Online Access (ClinicalKey)

(Di Saia) Clinical Gynecologic Oncology
Online Access (ClinicalKey)
Creasy and Resnik's Maternal-Fetal Medicine: Principles and Practice
Online Access (ClinicalKey)
(Walters) Urogynecology and Reconstructive Pelvic Surgery
Online Access (ClincialKey)
(Schaefer) Drugs during Pregnancy & Lactation
Online Access (ClinicalKey)
TeLinde's Operative Gynecology
Online Access (Ovid Books)
Robbins and Cotran Pathologic Basis of Disease
Online Access (ClinicalKey)

Psychiatry

DSM-5 Library Online
Diagnostic and statistical manual of mental disorders (5th edition) Specific reading sections & direct URL's below.
Trauma and Stressor Related Disorders
Direct link to section on: Post-Traumatic Stress Disorders
Substance Related & Addictive Disorders
First three sections; Substance-Related, Substance Induced & Substance Use.
Schizophrenia Spectrum and Other Psychotic Disorders
Link to section
Geriatric evaluation (includes ADL and IADL)
Child Development CURRENT Diagnosis & Treatment: Pediatrics, 22e
Chapter 3: Child Development & Behavior
ADD / ADHD Neurodevelopmental Disorders: Introduction
Introduction stops at Intellectual Disabilities heading.
ADD / ADHD Attention-Deficit/Hyperactivity Disorder (DSM-5)
Ending @ Specific Learning Disorder
Behavioral Disorders: Disruptive, Impulse-Control, and Conduct Disorders
Introduction; Oppositional Defiant Disorder ends at subheading Intermittent Explosive Disorder
Behavioral Disorders: Conduct Disorders
Conduct Disorder Section ends at Antisocial Personality Disorder
Depressive Disorders: Introduction & Disruptive Mood Dysregulation Disorder
Readings end @ Major Depressive Disorder
Anxiety Disorders: Introduction & Separation Anxiety Disorder
Ends @ Selective Mutism
The American Psychiatric Publishing Textbook of Psychiatry, Sixth Edition
Online book via (APA, PsychiatryOnline)

Pediatrics

Blueprints Pediatrics (2020)
Print Book at Library
Blueprints Pediatrics (2020)
Online via LWW Clerkship collection
All Pediatric Resources

MED 725 - Introduction to Clinical Medicine

Required Texts

Bates' Guide to Physical Examination and History Taking, 12e
Online Access (LWW Health Library)
Symptom to Diagnosis: An Evidence-Based Guide
Online Access (AccessMedicine)

Recommended Texts:

DeGowin's Diagnostic Examination, 10th ed.
Online Access (AccessMedicine)
Seidel's Guide to Physical Examination, 10th (previously Mosby's 7th edition)
Online Access (ClinicalKey)
(Beauchamp) Principles of Biomedical Ethics
Library Circulating (Print)
(Pellegrino) The Virtues in Medical Practice
Download up to 60 pages of PDF per session or
Download book for 14 day checkout (follow directions)
(Jonsen) Clinical Ethics A Practical Approach
Online Access (AccessMedicine)
The Patient History: An Evidence-Based Approach to Differential Diagnosis
Online Access (AccessMedicine)
Patient Centered Interviewing (Smith)
Online Access (AccessMedicine)

Repro / Section / Videos

Bates' Visual Guide to Physical Examination Videos This link opens in a new window