Skip to main content

Education Studies: Find Articles

EBSCOhost Databases

ERIC, the Education Resource Information Center, provides access to education literature and resources.

Select Choose Databases to search multiple EBSCOhost databases at the same time.

More EBSCOhost Education Databases:

Professional Development Collection
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of nearly 520 high quality education journals.

Primary Search
Provides full text for more than 70 popular, magazines for elementary school research.

Middle Search
Middle Search Plus provides full text for more than 140 popular, middle school magazines.

MAS Ultra
Designed specifically for high school libraries, this database contains full text for nearly 500 popular, high school magazines.

 

Use specialized databases based on your topic!
Education Database List
A-Z Database List

Article Searching Tips

Use the Advanced Search
This will give you additional search options so you can perform more targeted searches.

ERIC
Advanced Search options: ERIC Number, Intended Audience, Publication Type

JSTOR
Advanced Search options: Item Type, Publication Title, Discipline

PsychArticles
Advanced Search options: Tests & Measures, Record Type, Age Groups, Methodology

TOPICsearch
Advanced Search options: Current Events, Topics, Lexile, Number of Pages

 

Use Ctrl+F when searching
Hold down the Ctrl key and tap the F key.
This opens a search box in your browser.
Allows you to search for keywords on your active page.

What you are looking for when you hit Ctrl+F:

Firefox

Google

Internet Explorer


Note: Ctrl+F also works in most pdfs and other documents, such as Excel spreadsheets.

Use Interlibrary Loan (ILL) when you can't access an article
Interlibrary Loan is a free service.
The library requests articles on your behalf from other institutions.
Requests can be initiated not only on our website and in the catalog, but also in databases such as EBSCO.

What a database ILL request button may look like:


To place a request: Click Here

To find out more about ILL: Library Resources at Marian University: InterLibrary Loan

Use keywords when performing searches
Databases use keywords to identify articles that are relevant to your search based on things such as how many times your keywords appear in the document.

Do not use full sentences, database searches don't work quite the same as Google.

Example:

Topic:
Would stricter border controls reduce illegal immigration?

Keywords:
Main ideas (i.e. illegal immigration, border control)

Related terms (i.e. illegal aliens, customs, border patrol, open borders, border policy)


Note: Use quotation marks to search for multiple words as one term (i.e. “immigration laws”)

Loading

Multidisciplinary Article Databases

Academic Search Premier
Articles and or summaries from scholarly journals, newspapers and popular magazines covering most academic disciplines.

ProQuest Basic Search
Search across all databases on the ProQuest Platform. Multidisciplinary.

JSTOR
A full-text journal archive, covering humanities, social sciences and science. JSTOR is a digital library of more than 1,500 academic journals, books, and primary sources.