Skip to main content

Physics : Reference, Databases & Articles

Library resources for topics in physics.

Databases

Search the following databases for full-text articles and bibliographic citations related to content published in the physical sciences. For items without full-text access, use our Interlibrary Loan service to request articles for electronic delivery.

Physics Reference

Users can access content below with Marian University login credentials.

Journals: Print or Electronic?

Hackelmeier Memorial Library contains both print and electronic peridocals. Knowing the coverage of our holdings can be confusing, but here are some tips to better understand how we maintain our collection.

Sometimes we are limited by the publisher in the currency of certain electronic publications; not always the most current volume and issues are electronically available in full-text. This is called an embargo, or moving wall, whereby publishers set limits on access to encourage purchase of print publication.

Users then should search not only our E-journals A-Z list, but our catalog to determine whether we have access in print for content to which our databases don't provide access.

For example, using the ejournal A-Z list the journal Conservation Biology displays electronic access (from Ebsco's Academic Search Premier database) beginning in 1998, with the most current twelve months unavailable. Note however, that current issues in print are available on the second floor of the library in the periodical collection. 

Additionally, users can try our new Browzine Web platform to search and browse all DOI cataloged journals we have available electronically.  Mobile device users will be required to install the free app.