Skip to main content

Business & Management: Find Articles

Popular Business Article Databases

Business Insights: Essentials (Gale)
Includes newspapers, trade publications, Market Share Reporter, company and industry news.

Business Source Complete (EBSCO)
Includes newspapers, trade publications, scholarly journals and other reports.

CQ Researcher - Business and Economics
Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research.

LexisNexis Academic
Includes local, national and international news, legal information, financial news.

Entrepreneurship Collection (ProQuest)
Include scholarly journals, dissertations, working papers and conference proceedings, plus a full toolkit of practical guides, templates, forms, sample business plans and tips.

Multidisciplinary Article Databases

Academic Search Premier
Articles and or summaries from scholarly journals, newspapers and popular magazines covering most academic disciplines.

ProQuest Basic Search
Search across all databases on the ProQuest Platform. Multidisciplinary.

JSTOR
A full-text journal archive, covering humanities, social sciences and science. JSTOR is a digital library of more than 1,500 academic journals, books, and primary sources.

Article Searching Tips

Use the Advanced Search
This will give you additional search options so you can perform more targeted searches.

Business Insights: Essentials (Gale)
Advanced Search options: Content Type, Industry (NAICS 2012), Industry (SIC), and more.

Business Source Complete (EBSCO)
Advanced Search options: Document Type, Product Name, Company/Entity, Ticker Symbol, NAICS/Industry Code, Duns Number, and more.

Entrepreneurship Collection (ProQuest)
Advanced Search options: Company, NAICS code, Classification code, Location, Person, Market Segment, and more.

LexisNexis Academic
Advanced Search options: Content Type, which includes Company Profiles, Law Reviews, State and Federal Cases and Newspapers.

Use Ctrl+F when searching
Hold down the Ctrl key and tap the F key.
This opens a search box in your browser.
Allows you to search for keywords on your active page.

What you are looking for when you hit Ctrl+F:

Firefox

Google

Internet Explorer


Note: Ctrl+F also works in most pdfs and other documents, such as Excel spreadsheets.

Use Interlibrary Loan (ILL) when you can't access an article
Interlibrary Loan is a free service.
The library requests articles on your behalf from other institutions.
Requests can be initiated not only on our website and in the catalog, but also in databases such as EBSCO.

What a database ILL request button may look like:


To place a request: Click Here

To find out more about ILL: Library Resources at Marian University: InterLibrary Loan

Use keywords when performing searches
Databases use keywords to identify articles that are relevant to your search based on things such as how many times your keywords appear in the document.

Do not use full sentences, database searches don't work quite the same as Google.

Example:

Topic:
Would stricter border controls reduce illegal immigration?

Keywords:
Main ideas (i.e. illegal immigration, border control)

Related terms (i.e. illegal aliens, customs, border patrol, open borders, border policy)


Note: Use quotation marks to search for multiple words as one term (i.e. “immigration laws”)

Loading

More Research Resources

National Bureau of Economic Research
A private, non-profit, non-partisan organization dedicated to conducting economic research and to disseminating research findings among academics, public policy makers, and business professionals.

Research@INSEAD
Displays INSEAD's latest research and is updated in real-time.

Research Papers in Economics (RePEc)
A decentralized bibliographic database of working papers, journal articles, books, books chapters and software components.

Social Science Research Network
Devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences.