Skip to main content

Archives: Copyright and Citation Guidelines

Print Citation Example

 

APA FORMAT
Marian College. (1938, May 31-June 8). Examination Schedule. [Final examination schedule for second semester 1938]. Early College History Materials, College History: Foundations (HIS 02.1.0702 Box 1, Folder 5), Marian University Archives, Mother Theresa Hackelmeier Memorial Library, Indianapolis, IN.

MLA FORMAT
Marian College. Examination Schedule. 31 May - 8 June 1938. Early College History Materials. College History: Foundations. Marian University Archives, Mother Theresa Hackelmeier Memorial Library, Indianapolis. 

CMS FORMAT
Marian College, Examination Schedule, 31 May - 8 June 1938, HIS 02.1.0702 Box 1, Folder 5, Early College History Materials, College History: Foundations, Marian University Archives, Mother Theresa Hackelmeier Memorial Library. 

Digital Collection Citation Example

APA FORMAT
David Siqueiros. (1969). I Mascara. Mountain Suite Collection, The Art of Marian, Marian University Indianapolis, IN. http://replica.palni.edu/cdm/singleitem/collection/mc_art/id/53/rec/29

MLA FORMAT
David Siqueiros. I Mascara. 1969. Mountain Suite Collection. The Art of Marian, Marian University Indianapolis, IN. http://replica.palni.edu/cdm/singleitem/collection/mc_art/id/53/rec/29

CMS FORMAT
David Siqueiros, I Mascara, 1969, Mountain Suite Collection, The Art of Marian, Marian University Indianapolis, IN, http://replica.palni.edu/cdm/singleitem/collection/mc_art/id/53/rec/29

Creating a Citation

Citing a primary source document, from an archives, varies depending on the preference of your instructor, the publication you are submitting the article, or the discipline in which you are operating.  As institutions preserve the order of the archives according to their collections and needs, citations of archival resources is not standardized. You may wish to consult the Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL) for further information, or contact library staff for assistance. The particular style may be the American Psychological Association (APA), the Modern Language Association (MLA), the Chicago Manual of Style (CMS), etc.

There are several elements to the citation which may be necessary to properly cite a document such as the 1938 Examination Schedule to the left.

The document: The creator or author, specific item title, page, section, date.

  • Creator: Marian College
  • Title: Examination Schedule
  • Date: May 31-June 8 1938

Box and file number: The majority of materials found in archives, that are not books, are housed in some sort of container and within the container the various items are separated for various reasons in files.

  • ID: HIS02.1.0702 Box 1, Folder 5
  • Collection: College History: Foundations

Repository: This is the name of the archives. 

  • Marian University Archives, Mother Theresa Hackelmeier Memorial Library, Indianapolis, IN

Copyright Guidelines

The copyright protections that are normally associated with print also govern the use of audio, video, images, and text on the Internet. The intuitive interface of the Internet make it easy for the computer user to copy and use images, text, video and other graphics that are likely to be protected by copyright. A document may be copyrighted even if it does not explicitly state that it is copyrighted. Educators can avoid copyright violations and legally use copyrighted materials if they understand and comply with the fair use guidelines.

Citing a Digital Collection

Citing Marian University's Digital Collections is as simple as print sources. Use the same citation guide, but include the reference URL used in research. 

The lithograph shown above is available for public view in Marian Hall. It is also digitized for research purposes on the library website. The best way of citing this lithograph as a digital object using either APA, MLA, or Chicago Manual of Style (CMS) is to add the Reference URL at the end of the citation. The Purdue OWL has additional information on citing digital collections.