Skip to main content

Archives: What is a Special Collection?

Mission

The mission of The Mother Theresa Hackelmeier Memorial Library Special Collection is to acquire, organize, preserve, and provide access to unique and rare materials related to Marian University history, Catholic heritage, and classical literature.

Marian's Collection

The Mother Theresa Hackelmeier Memorial Library Special Collection is located on the second floor near the Bound Periodicals section. The Special Collection is treated as reference only, and thus all materials are non-circulating. Please see librarian for assistance with using these materials.

Copies

Please ask for assistance with making copies of Special Collection materials at the Circulation Desk.

Overview

The Special Collection consists of a series of rare books and papers that are considered culturally and religiously unique or significantThe collection houses primarily the personal library of our Most Reverend Paul C. Schulte, Archbishop of the Diocese of Indianapolis from 1946 to 1970. The Archbishop Schulte collection focuses on Catholic Heritage, as well as regional histories and literature, including:

  • Documents from the Second Vatican Ecumenical Council.
  • Various parish records, primarily from Indiana and the Upland South.
  • The full series Deutsche National-Litteratur. Historisch kritische Ausgabe, a critical and inclusive set of German literature.

Due to the fragile nature of the Special Collection, many items are in library storage. For assistance, please contact library staff. 

Search Special Collections

Archbishop Schulte Collection

What is a Special Collection?

A special collection is a group of items, such as rare books or documents, that are built around a special topic, such as the history of Catholicity. A library's special collections are created to benefit scholars by grouping related materials together in one repository. Often a repository will specialize in a limited number of subject areas for their special collections, to distinguish the institution from other libraries. 

Source

Special Collection in Photographs