Skip to main content

Faculty Resources: March

Resources for faculty on databases, print and e-collections, instruction, research, citation management, digital objects, and library services.

March

Open Educational Resources

Finding and Using Images

Digital image collections may include one or more types of images, such as:

- Stock images
- Current events images
- Artwork
- Historical images
- Scientific images
- Maps

Before you start searching for images, it helps to categorize the way you want to use a digital image.

For research? presentation? web site? printed brochure? poster? holiday card?

Once you have a firm concept of your use, you'll have a better idea of:

- what resolution you'll need
- whether you can use images the university has licensed
- whether you'll need to negotiate your own license or other use agreement


Broadly speaking, there are two kinds of digital image collections, free and licensed. To determine your obligation in using free and licensed visual resources, please continue on to the copyright tab. 

Copyright Quick Guide

This Guide is to provide an overview of copyright law and it emphasizes key issues discussed in greater depth on this site. The Guide examines such seminal issues as fundamental principles of copyright law, copyright ownership, fair use and other permitted uses and provides a short bibliographic list. 

Fair Use Checklist

The Fair Use Checklist and variations on it have been widely used for many years to help educators, librarians, lawyers, and many other users of copyrighted works determine whether their activities are within the limits of fair use under U.S. copyright law (Section 107 of the U.S. Copyright Act). The four factors form the structure of this checklist.  Congress and courts have offered some insight into the specific meaning of the factors, and those interpretations are reflected in the details of this form.

Creative Commons

Creative Commons licenses are not an alternative to copyright. They work alongside copyright and enable you to modify your copyright terms to best suit your needs.

If you want to give people the right to share, use, and even build upon a work you’ve created, you should consider publishing it under a Creative Commons license. CC gives you flexibility (for example, you can choose to allow only non-commercial uses) and protects the people who use your work, so they don’t have to worry about copyright infringement, as long as they abide by the conditions you have specified.

If you’re looking for content that you can freely and legally use, there is a giant pool of CC-licensed creativity available to you. There are hundreds of millions of works — from songs and videos to scientific and academic material — available to the public for free and legal use under the terms of our copyright licenses, with more being contributed every day.

Art Index
Database includes indexing for more than 650 periodicals, more than 14,000 art dissertations and more than 200,000 art reproductions covering fine, decorative and commercial art, as well as photography, folk art, film, and architecture.

ARTstor
The visual version of JSTOR, providing approximately 300,000 images. It includes architecture, painting, photography, sculpture, decorative arts and design, as well as archeological and anthropological objects, and visual and material culture more generally.

Oxford Art Online
Online gateway for Grove Art Online and other Oxford art reference works.

More Databases with image collections

Library of Congress Prints & Photographs Online Catalog
The collections of the Prints & Photographs Division include photographs, fine and popular prints and drawings, posters, and architectural and engineering drawings. While international in scope, the collections are particularly rich in materials produced in, or documenting the history of, the United States and the lives, interests and achievements of the American people.

National Archives Digital Photograph Collections
Links to the history of photography, photograph care and preservation, and historic online photograph collections.

National Library of Medicine Digital Collections
Digital Collections is the National Library of Medicine's free online resource of biomedical books and videos. All of the content in Digital Collections is freely available worldwide and, unless otherwise indicated, in the public domain. Digital Collections provides unique access to NLM's rich resources.

Science Images and Video - Government Collections
Links to Government image websites, organized by broad scientific classes: agriculture, astronomy and aeronautics, biology, conservation, earth sciences and geology, energy, engineering, and health science and medicine

The Art of Marian University
An ongoing collection of fine art items created and/or housed on the Marian University campus.

Christmas Madonna Image Collection
A collection of images dating between 1943-66 from the Marian University tradition in which a member of the senior class was selected to portray the Christmas Madonna in a Nativity tableau.

History Makers
A collection of images illustrating the distinguished leaders of Marian University.

Mansions
Historic images of the historic mansions on Marian University's campus.

Compfight
Image search engine that locates high-resolution images with Creative Commons licenses for use in presentations, blogs, etc. Also retrieves stock photos.

Flickr Creative Commons
Flickr users can opt to use a creative commons license to share their work with others.

Free Images
Access hundreds of thousands of high-quality, hand-picked stock photos and graphics

Google
Use Google's web search to find hidden image collections.
Search example: KEYWORD image (archive OR gallery OR collection OR database) site:.edu

Google Image Search
Tip: Use advanced search or facets to limit by image size, images within a domain/site (e.g. site:marian.edu), and usage rights.

Image*After
Image*After is a large online free photo collection. It allows users to download images or textures and use them in personal or commercial work.

morgueFile
morgueFile is a "public image reference archive."

Pixabay
Over 570000 high quality photos, illustrations, and vector graphics. Free for commercial use. No attribution required.

TinEye Reverse Image Search
Submit an image to TinEye to find out where it came from, how it is being used, if modified versions of the image exist, or to find higher resolution versions.

Unsplash
Free high-resolution photos.10 new photos will be sent to your email address every 10 days if you subscribe.

Loading

Handouts and Resources