American Musicals: the complete books & lyrics of eight Broadway classics by Laurence Maslon (Editor)The Broadway musical is one of America's great indigenous popular forms, a glorious hybrid that emerged "out of our speech, our tempo, our moral attitudes, our way of moving" (as Leonard Bernstein put it). Now, in this first volume of a landmark two-volume collection, The Library of America presents eight enduring masterpieces charting the Broadway musical's narrative tradition from the groundbreaking Show Boat (1927) through the start of the genre's Golden Age in 1949. Based on new research, this historic collection presents the complete libretto of each musical in its Broadway opening night version, making these beloved stories available as never before. Irving Berlin and Moss Hart's As Thousands Cheer is published here for the first time. Show Boat and Pal Joey are presented in newly restored versions. South Pacific returns to print for the first time in decades. Each of these classic musicals has evolved over time, receiving many important revivals and new productions. This Library of America volume offers readers unprecedented insight into this living history with a selection of hard-to-find or previously unpublished supplementary items, including lyrics of songs dropped out-of-town or added in later revivals. Lavishly illustrated with 32 pages of photographs and other images drawn from the original productions, this volume also contains biographical sketches of the book writers and lyricists; cast lists and other information about the shows' Broadway openings; and detailed accounts of the path each show took on the road to Broadway. AMERICAN MUSICALS 1927-1949 contains: Show Boat Book and lyrics by Oscar Hammerstein II · Music by Jerome Kern As Thousands Cheer Lyrics and music by Irving Berlin · Sketches by Moss Hart Pal Joey Book by John O'Hara · Music by Richard Rodgers · Lyrics by Lorenz Hart Oklahoma! Music by Richard Rodgers · Book and lyrics by Oscar Hammerstein II On the Town Book and lyrics by Betty Comden and Adolph Green · Music by Leonard Bernstein Finian's Rainbow Music by Burton Lane · Lyrics by E. Y. Harburg · Book by Fred Saidy and E. Y. Harburg Kiss Me, Kate Music and lyrics by Cole Porter · Book by Sam[uel] and Bella Spewack South Pacific Music by Richard Rodgers · Book and lyrics by Oscar Hammerstein II LIBRARY OF AMERICA is an independent nonprofit cultural organization founded in 1979 to preserve our nation's literary heritage by publishing, and keeping permanently in print, America's best and most significant writing. The Library of America series includes more than 300 volumes to date, authoritative editions that average 1,000 pages in length, feature cloth covers, sewn bindings, and ribbon markers, and are printed on premium acid-free paper that will last for centuries.
Call Number: Available for request via Interlibrary Loan
Publication Date: 2014-09-25
The Cambridge Guide to Theatre by Martin Banham (Editor)Substantially revised and updated for this new edition, this is the most comprehensive guide to the history and current practice of worldwide theatre available today: * Covers all major playwrights, works, traditions, theories, companies, venues and events * Details the origins of popular theatre tradition * Discusses the work of actors, directors and designers * Explains theatre architecture and design * Written by over 100 expert contributors * Illustrated throughout Providing information, assessment and entertainment, The Guide will prove an indispensable reference tool both for students of theatre, and the general theatregoer alike.
Call Number: Available as an e-book
Publication Date: 1995-09-21
Credo ReferenceCredo Reference features full-text, aggregated content from more than 500 reference titles; content includes encyclopedias, atlases, dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, and subject-specific works. Additional key features include customizable, dynamic data tables; tens of thousands of images; audio pronunciation files; over 90,000 atlas images of places and geographic features; and a Concept Map that visualizes your search results.
The Oxford Companion to the American Musical by Thomas HischakFrom films ranging from An American in Paris and Flying Down to Rio to such Broadway landmarks as Oklahoma and West Side Story and television hits such as Cinderella and High School Musical, the American musical has thrilled audiences around the world. Now, in The Oxford Companion to theAmerican Musical, readers have at last an engaging and authoritative reference to this highly popular genre--the only such book to cover stage, film, and television musicals in one volume. With more than two thousand entries, this book offers a wealth of information on musicals, performers, composers, lyricists, producers, choreographers, and much more. There are biographical entries on stars ranging from Fred Astaire and Bing Crosby to Mary Martin and Mae West as well as suchcontemporary show-stoppers as Nathan Lane, Savion Glover, and Kristin Chenowith; on composers ranging from Irving Berlin and George Gershwin to Richard Rodgers and Andrew Lloyd Webber; and on choreographers such as Bob Fosse, Tommy Tune, and Debbie Allen. The plays and films covered range frommodern hits such as Mamma Mia! and Moulin Rouge to timeless classics such as Yankee Doodle Dandy and Show Boat. Also, many musicals written specifically for television are included, and many entries follow a work (such as Babes in Toyland) as it moves across genres, from stage, to film, totelevision. The Companion also includes cross references, a comprehensive listing of recommended recordings, and a useful chronological listing of all the musicals described in the book. Whether you are curious about Singin in the Rain or Spamalot, The Wizard of Oz or Grease, this well-researched and entertaining resource is the first place to turn for reliable information on virtually every aspect of the American musical. "Enjoy as I did this wonderful book as you discover the place of the musical in history and its gift for the future." --Jonathan Pryce, Tony award-winning actor "How wonderful it is to have the entire history of the American musical theater, both on stage and on film, now available in one handy volume. Amazingly comprehensive and thoroughly researched, The Oxford Companion to the American Musical is a must for any theater professional or any theater fan." --Stephen Flaherty, Tony and Drama Desk award-winning composer "Everything you ever wanted to know about the American musical--at your fingertips. What could be better, or more useful?" --Marvin Hamlisch "Kudos to Thomas Hischak for The Oxford Companion to the American Musical. Resources such as these are extremely important, not only as historic and academic records, but for future generations of artists who need to understand the legacy they have inherited." --Carol Channing
Full-text collection of over 200 core academic subject, language, and quotations dictionaries as well as Oxford Univ Press encyclopedias and companions series.
American Musical Theater : a Chronicle by Gerald BordmanThe new edition of the leading survey of the American musical has been expanded and updated to cover the 1999-2000 season. Covering more than 250 years o musical theater history, the new edition of the book Newsweek called "the best reference of its kind" is an ummatched blend of narrative history, expert critical judgement, and detailed, show-by-show, season-by-season decscription.
Call Number: Available as an e-book
Publication Date: 2001-01-01
The Golden Age of American Musical Theatre: 1943-1965 by Corinne J. NadenThe Golden Age of American Musical Theatre: 1943-1965 provides synopses, cast and production credits, song titles, and other pertinent information for over 180 musicals from Oklahoma to On A Clear Day You Can See Forever. Concentrating on a 22-year span, this book lists both commercial successes and flops of the Golden Age-when the musicals presented on Broadway showcased timeless, memorable tunes, sophisticated comedy, and the genius of creative artists like Richard Rodgers, Oscar Hammerstein, Jerome Robbins, Leonard Bernstein, George Abbott, Moss Hart, Angela Lansbury, Robert Preston, and many others. After an introduction and an overview of the history of Broadway, Naden offers a chronological timeline of the Golden Age musicals in America. She then presents details, in succeeding chapters, about the shows, the stars (on and off stage), the theatres, and the awards, beginning with an alphabetical listing of shows. Each show entry supplies the title, opening date, theatre, number of performances, primary cast and crew, and a plot synopsis, as well as other interesting data about the show, such as the awards won. Additional details about well-known actors, singers, composers, lyricists, directors, and choreographers of the period are provided, including birth and death dates, birth cities, born names, a brief biography, and award nominations and wins. Finishing with a bibliography and an index, this book is beneficial to anyone wanting to know more about one of the richest periods in Broadway history.
Call Number: Available as an e-book
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Musical Theatre Realism and Entertainment by Millie TaylorIn Musical Theatre, Realism and Entertainment, Millie Taylor explores the ways in which musical theatre reaches out to and involves its audiences. Taylor investigates how pleasure is stimulated by vocal, musical and spectacular performances.
Showtime: a history of the Broadway musical theater by Larry StempelHere for the first time is the whole history of the musical, on Broadway and off. Stempel combines original research--including a wealthy of primary sources and archival holdings--with deft and insightful analysis, and explores the rich strands of musical theater by genre and type, looking at not only how musicals work but also how they serve as barometers of social concerns and bearers of cultural values.Beginning with the scandalous Astor Place Opera House riot of 1849, Stempel traces the growth of musicals from minstrel shows and burlesques, through the golden age of Show Boat and Oklahoma!, to such groundbreaking works as Company and Rent. Stempel examines musicals in their cultural and historical context and includes detailed portraits of all the influential figures--the creators, directors, and performers--who made it all possible.
Call Number: ML1711.8.N3 S73 2010
Publication Date: 2011-02-03
Musicality in theatre : music as model, method and metaphor in theatre-making by David RoesnerMusic continues to be immensely influential in key developments of theatrical practices. In this study of musicality in the theatre, David Roesner offers a revised view of the nature of the relationship between music and theatre. The theoretical scope of the book is developed from a wide range of case studies, some of which are re-readings of the classics of theatre history (Appia, Meyerhold, Artaud, Beckett), while others introduce or rediscover less-discussed practitioners such as Joe Chaikin, Thomas Bernhard, Elfriede Jelinek, Michael Thalheimer and Karin Beier.
Call Number: Available as an e-book
Publication Date: 2014-07-02
Sing for Your Supper: the Broadway musical in the 1930s by Ethan MorddenIn the 1930s, Broadway's lights still burned brightly. Ethan Mordden completes his history of the Broadway musical by taking a look at this forgotten era. Shows likeAnything Goes brought the glitter of Cole Porter and Merman's brass to the public. Innovations in dance were pioneered by Balanchine and others. Scenic advancements made Astaire'sThe Band Wagon move across the stage in novel ways. Gershwin's revolutionaryPorgy and Bess entered the canon of American Classics. AndThe Cradle Will RockandJohnny Johnson took the American political temperature. With his trademark wit and style, Ethan Mordden shines the spotlight on Broadway's forgotten decade.