Skip to main content

Constitution Day: Constitution Day

Constitution Day commemorates the signing of the United States Constitution on September 17, 1787.

Constitution Day

What is Constitution Day?

On September 17, 1787 thirty-nine men signed the United States Constitution. Every year on the anniversary of this day we celebrate Constitution Day. We do this to commemorate the formation and signing of one of the most important documents in United State's History. This year marks the 225th anniversary of the signing of the U.S. Constitution.

Documents of Democracy

Read the transcripts of the original documents! Learn more about how these documents were created and what they mean for us today. 

The Declaration of Independence 

Articles of Confederation 


Bill of Rights 

Amendments 11-27 

Constitution Timeline

1775: The Revolutionary War between the Colonies and Britain begins.

1776: Declaration of Independence written; the 13 colonies become the 13 states, but are not yet united under one central government.

1781: The last battle of the Revolutionary War takes place; the 13 states set up a federal government under laws called the Articles of Confederation.

1786: Representatives from five states meet at Annapolis, Maryland, to discuss interstate trade. Because so few representatives attend, Alexander Hamilton and James Madison call for another convention to be held in Philadelphia.

1787: The Constitutional Convention begins on May 25, in Philadelphia. Fifty-five representatives attend and begin drafting the Constitution. On September 17, 1787, the convention comes to a close as the representatives sign the Constitution.

1788: The Constitution becomes the law of the land after New Hampshire becomes the ninth and final state to approve it.

1791: United States Bill of Rights is ratified. ‚Äč

1795: The Eleventh Amendment is ratified.

1804: The Twelfth Amendment is ratified.

1865: The Thirteenth Amendment is ratified.

1866: The Fourteenth Amendment is ratified.

1870: The Fifteenth Amendment is ratified.

1913: The Sixteenth and Seventeenth Amendments are ratified. 

1919: The Eighteenth Amendment is ratified.

1920: The Nineteenth Amendment is ratified. 

1933: The Twentieth and Twenty-First Amendments are ratified. 

1951: The Twenty-Second Amendment is ratified. 

1961: The Twenty-Third Amendment is ratified. 

1964: The Twenty-Fourth Amendment is ratified.

1967: The Twenty-Fifth Amendment is ratified.

1971: The Twenty-sixth Amendment is ratified. 

1992: The Twenty-Seventh Amendment is ratified.