Skip to main content

Course Continuation: Online Resources for Teaching and Learning: Home

This guide is a living list of resources being made available temporarily by publishers responding to COVID-19's effects on higher ed. It also includes some open resources, which are always free and give permissions to adapt and reuse to suit the needs of

What's this guide for?

Welcome!

This guide is a living list of resources being made available temporarily by publishers responding to COVID-19's effects on higher ed. It also includes some open educational resources (OERs), which are always free and give permissions to adapt and reuse to suit the needs of faculty and students. These are marked on the list below with **.

Send all your online resource questions to me, Caitlin Balgeman, at cbalgeman@marian.edu. I'm happy to assist you and your students as you continue teaching and learning online. 

Disclaimer: if the resource below does not have ** by it, it is TEMPORARY and may NOT be available for Fall semester. If you have questions or would like to suggest a purchase based on what you've found, contact your library liaison. 

General and Multidisciplinary Resources

MUSE in Focus: Confronting Structural Racism: A selection of temporarily free scholarship from Project MUSE publishers on the history of structural racism in the United States and how the country can realize anti-racist reform.

Publisher/vendor support for course continuation online: This large list includes temporarily free resources from vendors (some of which are also included below) and other resources which are always free but may be particularly helpful to you now. 

Internet Archive's National Emergency Library: The Internet Archive is removing the waitlist on checking out books from their historical collection. User will need to sign up for a free Internet Archive account. Available through June 30, 2020. 

JSTOR: The library subscribes to many resources through JSTOR already, but JSTOR has expanded ebook access through December 31, 2020. 

Kanopy films: Kanopy is offering select documentaries and narrative films plus any of The Great Courses series for free streaming to educational institutions for 30 days. Follow this walkthrough on how to gain access. 

**OERCommons: A great permanently free repository of all types of open educational resources. Includes whole courses, open textbooks, modules, and activities. 

**OpenStax: A popular source for widely used open textbooks in core college subjects, from biology to business. The OpenStax platform allows for highlighting and notetaking in their online books, and some books include instructor resources such as answer keys and PowerPoint slides. 

**Open Textbook Library: A great repository specifically focusing on full open textbooks, the Open Textbook Network's library also has in-depth reviews from faculty on most of their textbooks. 

ProQuest Ebook Central: The library already subscribes to many ebooks through ProQuest, but ProQuest has opened up all of its Ebook Central titles to be unlimited access (no user limits or restrictions). This is another good place to check if a course text is available online as an ebook.

Project MUSE: Project MUSE is a platform that hosts content from many university presses. Many of these publishers are making all content available for free through the end of May or June 2020. 

Redshelf: Redshelf is an online distributor of online textbooks, but has opened up their online inventory to any college students through May 25. Search here for your textbook by title or ISBN. You'll need to set up a free account with your Marian email to add books to your "shelf." See this Redshelf walkthrough for guidance. 

Science and Medicine Resources

Annual Reviews: publications in many, many science disciplines and some liberal arts disciplines temporarily freely available through April 30, 2020. 

**Remote teaching resource for science laboratories: this is a fantastic list of online labs for biology, chemistry, geology, physics, and more.

Psychotherapy.net: The library has purchased access to 25 of these videos, but Psychotherapy.net is opening up access to all of its video content for 60 days, until May 19, 2020. 

JoVE (Journal of Visualized Experiments): In addition to the library's subscription to JoVE's science education content, JoVE is temporarily offering its biology content and social psychology content for free. 

**Patient Simulation Lab: online trauma patient scenario activities by Simtech.org.

**Lab activities: this list is generated by professors in Oregon for entry-level lab students who do not have access to specialized equipment.

Vanderbilt University Press: selected books medicine and health hosted by Project MUSE, temporarily available through May 31, 2020.

Liberal Arts and Theology Resources

Central European University Press: Ebooks on various liberal arts topics. Available through June 30, 2020.  

Duke University Press: selected humanities, social sciences, and mathematics journals hosted by Project MUSE, temporarily available through June 30, 2020.

**Evaluating resources: open resource aimed at early-level English courses, this mini-course walks students through getting started with research, evaluating sources, and finding materials. 

**Everyday Social Justice: an open educational resource, with discussion activities and resources in the discipline of women's and gender studies. 

Fordham University Press: selected philosophical and historical books and issues hosted by Project MUSE, temporarily available through June 30, 2020.

HeinOnline: Law and history resources, available through December 15, 2020. Type in Marian University in the right-hand box labeled Off-campus/Remote access, and then input your Marian username (NO @marian.edu) and password. 

John Hopkins University Press: all books and journals about cultural studies, political science, historical texts hosted by Project MUSE, temporarily available through May 31, 2020.

Liturgical Press: theology ebooks hosted by Project MUSE, temporarily available for free through June 30, 2020.

Manchester University Press: all books performing arts, English literature, social sciences, hosted by Project MUSE, temporarily available through June 30, 2020.

The Ohio State University Press: hosted through Project MUSE, OSUP has opened up their content through June 30, 2020. They "specialize in literary studies, including narrative theory, Victorian studies, medieval studies, and classics. Books are also published in gender and sexuality studies, American studies, Latinx studies, comics studies, and rhetoric and communications."

Penn State University Press: all books and journals human rights, historical, philosophical hosted by Project MUSE, temporarily available through May 31, 2020.

Princeton University Press: selected books over history and theory hosted by Project MUSE, temporarily available through June 30, 2020.

Russell Sage Foundation: all books religion, social sciences, education hosted by Project MUSE, temporarily available through June 30, 2020.

Temple University Press: all books covering global ethics hosted by Project MUSE, temporarily available through June 30, 2020.

Texas Tech University Press: all books history and literature hosted by Project MUSE, temporarily available through June 30, 2020.

University of Arizona Press: all books education, ethnic studies, history hosted by Project MUSE, temporarily available through June 30, 2020.

University of California Press: all journals sociology, anthropology, ethnographic studies hosted by Project MUSE, temporarily available through June 30, 2020.

University of Georgia Press: all books history and social sciences hosted by project MUSE, temporarily available through June 30, 2020.

University of Nebraska Press: all books and journals indigenous and ethnic studies hosted by Project MUSE, temporarily available through May 31, 2020.

University of North Carolina Press: all books history and literature hosted by Project MUSE, temporarily available through June 30, 2020.

University of South Carolina Press: all books history hosted by Project MUSE, temporarily available through June 30, 2020.

University of Virginia Press: all books literature and U.S. History hosted by Project MUSE, temporarily available through June 30, 2020.

University Press of Colorado: all books of social sciences hosted by Project MUSE, temporarily available through June 30, 2020.

Utah State University Press: all books education and linguistics hosted by Project MUSE, temporarily available through June 30, 2020.

Vanderbilt University Press: selected books political and social sciences hosted by Project MUSE, temporarily available through May 31, 2020.

Electronic Resource Management Librarian