100 Years of Catholic Social Teaching Defending Workers and Their Unions: : summaries & commentaries for five landmark papal encyclicals by Joe Holland"The repeated calls issued within the Church's social doctrine, beginning with Rerum Novarum, for the promotion of workers' associations that can defend their rights must therefore be honored today even more than in the past, as a prompt and far-sighted response to the urgent need for new forms of cooperation at the international level, as well as the local level." - Benedict XVI, CARITAS IN VERITATE, Paragraph 25 THIS BOOK provides summaries and commentaries for five landmark papal encyclicals defending workers and their unions. These are: Leo XIII's 1891 Rerum Novarum; Pius XI's 1931 Quadragesimo Anno; John XXIII's 1961 Mater et Magistra; and John Paul II's 1981 Laborem Exercens and 1991 Centesimus Annus. The heart of the book is an extended summary and commentary on each of the above five encyclicals, which are often mentioned but seldom studied. The book opens with the author's analysis of the late modern breakdown of Catholic evangelization among the working classes especially in the United States and other English-speaking industrialized countries. It concludes with a proposed pastoral strategy of global church-labor solidarity to overcome both the older mid-19th century "loss of the working class" to the Catholic Church in much of Western Europe, and also the newer recently developing "loss of the working class" to the Catholic Church in the United States and other English-speaking industrialized countries. As the book makes clear, the Social Magisterium of the Catholic Church defends workers' unions as an essential human right rooted in workers' sharing in the image of God, and having the God-given human right to organize for their defense and for participation in decision-making within their workplaces. Bishops and other pastoral leaders who do not build their pastoral strategies for evangelization on this central theme of Catholic Social Teaching undermine their own Catholic (universal) vocation to preach the full Gospel of Jesus to all social classes. JOE HOLLAND is an eco-social philosopher and Catholic theologian with a Ph.D. in the field of Social Ethics from the University of Chicago. His earlier book, MODERN CATHOLIC SOCIAL TEACHING 1740-1958, traces the wisdom tradition of Catholic Social Teaching from its early modern expression through to the death of Pius XII. It addresses the tradition's development as first an anti-modern, and then a modern, ecclesial strategic response to the early and middle stages of Liberal Capitalism and Scientific Socialism. In a forthcoming book on John XXIII, and in additional future books on subsequent popes, Joe plans to address the postmodern development of the tradition from 1958 forward. These books will describe the still developing postmodern Catholic ecclesial strategic response to the turbulent local-global crises of both Liberal Capitalism and Scientific Socialism. They will also highlight the Spirit-inspired seeds of hope -- emerging across the human family -- for a regenerative local-global ecological civilization.
Call Number: BX860 .H65
Publication Date: 2012-05-01
The Encyclicals of John Paul II: an introduction and commentary by Richard A. SpinelloPope John Paul II was the second longest serving pope in history and the longest serving pope of the last century. His presence was influential not only to Catholics, but also throughout the world. The Encyclicals of John Paul II is the first book to focus in depth on the pope s fourteen encyclicals, through which he communicated many of the key themes of his papacy. The first part of the book includes helpful background information a brief biographical sketch of John Paul II s life, his intellectual formation, and central theological themes of his papacy, including some of the major controversies of the 20th century. The first section of the book also provides invaluable background on the nature of an encyclical, including the history of this papal document. The second part of the book provides a thorough commentary on these encyclicals. The encyclicals are grouped by theme, introduced individually, and analyzed to trace broad themes through John Paul II s work and theology. The Encyclicals of John Paul II provides an important discussion of these key documents from John Paul II s papacy."
The Joy of the Gospel by Francis I; Robert Barron (Foreword by); Scott Hahn (Afterword by)The perfect gift! A specially priced, beautifully designed hardcover edition of The Joy of the Gospel with a foreword by Robert Barron and an afterword by James Martin, SJ. "The joy of the gospel fills the hearts and lives of all who encounter Jesus... In this Exhortation I wish to encourage the Christian faithful to embark upon a new chapter of evangelization marked by this joy, while pointing out new paths for the Church's journey in years to come." - Pope Francis This special edition of Pope Francis's popular message of hope explores themes that are important for believers in the 21st century. Examining the many obstacles to faith and what can be done to overcome those hurdles, he emphasizes the importance of service to God and all his creation. Advocating for "the homeless, the addicted, refugees, indigenous peoples, the elderly who are increasingly isolated and abandoned," the Holy Father shows us how to respond to poverty and current economic challenges that affect us locally and globally. Ultimately, Pope Francis demonstrates how to develop a more personal relationship with Jesus Christ, "to recognize the traces of God's Spirit in events great and small." Profound in its insight, yet warm and accessible in its tone, The Joy of the Gospel is a call to action to live a life motivated by divine love and, in turn, to experience heaven on earth. Includes a foreword by Robert Barron, author of Catholicism: A Journey to the Heart of the Faith and James Martin, SJ, author of Jesus: A Pilgrimage
Call Number: Use ILL for requesting delivery
Publication Date: 2014-10-07
On Care for Our Common Home by Pope FrancisOn Care for Our Common Home (Laudato Si) is the new appeal from Pope Francis addressed to "every person living on this planet" for an inclusive dialogue about how we are shaping the future of our planet. Pope Francis calls the Church and the world to acknowledge the urgency of our environmental challenges and to join him in embarking on a new path. This encyclical is written with both hope and resolve, looking to our common future with candor and humility. Book jacket.
The Catholic Way by Donald W. WuerlThe Catholic Way is an up-to-date reflection on what it means to be a Catholic today. It is a clear, intelligent, and authoritative guide to the perennial faith of the Catholic Church as presented in the Catechism of the Catholic Church. Written by a bishop recognized internationally and nationally for his teaching and writing, and for producing video presentations on the Catholic faith, this indispensable book illuminates the riches of the Catholic Church, guiding readers -- whether recent converts or lifelong Catholics -- to a deeper understanding and appreciation of the Church. In concise, easy-to-understand language, Bishop Wuerl explains what the Church's Catechism is and how its content touches our life. He elucidates the words of the Sacred Scripture, the meaning of Jesus' life and ministry, Mary's place and significance within the Church's teachings, what the articles of the creed mean, what the sacraments signify, and how the commandments apply to us today. His insights provide answers to the questions "What do we believe?" and "Why do we believe that?" The Catholic Way can be used with confidence by all Catholics. For the faithful and the questioning, for believers and seekers, The Catholic Way will stand as the definitive book on the meaning and power of the Church's Catechism and its beliefs and teachings.
Call Number: BX1961 .W83
Publication Date: 2001-09-18
The Future of the Catholic Church with Pope Francis by Garry WillsGarry Wills, the prizewinning historian, argues that changes have been the evidence of life in the Catholic Church. It has often changed, sometimes with bad consequences, more often with good. In this brilliant and incisive study, he gives seven examples of deep and serious changes that have taken place (or are taking place) within the last century. None of them was effected by the pope all by himself. As Wills contends, it is only by examining the history of the Church that we can understand Pope Francis's and the Church's challenges.
Modern Catholicism by Adrian Hastings (Editor)When Pope John XXIII convened the Second Vatican Council in 1963, he could not have predicted the dramatic transformation of modern Roman Catholicism that would result from its deliberations. Its influence has reached into every aspect of Catholic life and continues to be felt and hotly debated to the present day. In this sweeping new study, edited by the eminent British Catholic theologian Adrian Hastings, a distinguished team of international scholars provides a complete history of the Council and assesses its impact on the last quarter century of Catholic thought and practice. The contributors consider the reign of John XXIII and his immediate predecessors and successors, the history of the Council, and each of the sixteen documents it issued, which together represent perhaps the most authoritative church teaching of this century, embodying radical changes in the liturgy and greater participation in services by lay members. But Vatican II also left behind many unresolved controversies (such as celibacy of priests and birth control) and the contributors also examine these and other issues, including the role of women in the Church, homosexuality, divorce, and war and the nuclear predicament. In addition, the impact of the Council on different parts of the world is discussed, giving full weight to the emergence of liberation theology in Latin America and the Philippines, and the desire of African and Asian Catholics to assimilate aspects of their traditional culture into Church life. Modern Catholicism offers us a new map for understanding the challenges faced by the Church as we approach the end of the second millennium of Christianity. Commemorating the twenty-fifth anniversary of Vatican II, this book is destined to become the standard resource on the Council and its influence.
Call Number: BX1390 .M63 1990
Publication Date: 1990-11-29
The Social Mission of the U. S. Catholic Church by Charles E. CurranHow does the Church function in the world? What is it called to do, and what does it actually do? Charles E. Curran explores the social mission of the U.S. Catholic Church from a theological perspective, analyzing and assessing four aspects: the importance of social mission, who carries it out, how it is carried out, and the roles that the Church and individual Catholics play in supporting these efforts. In the early and mid-twentieth century the Catholic Church in the United States tended to focus its social mission on its own charities, hospitals, and schools. But the Second Vatican Council called the Church to a new understanding of social mission, deepening its involvement in and commitment to civic, social, and political life in the United States and abroad. Curran devotes particular attention to three issues that have reflected the Church's strong sense of social mission since that time: abortion, war and peace, and labor. The Social Mission of the U.S. Catholic Church describes the proper role of bishops, institutions, and movements in the Church, but insists that the primary role belongs to all the baptized members of the Church as they live out the social mission in their daily lives.
Encyclopedia of Catholicism by Frank K. FlinnEncyclopedia of Catholicism covers the key people, movements, institutions, practices, and doctrines of Roman Catholicism from its earliest origins. Focusing on the living faith and its historical and social background, this volume provides academic and college students with the tools to help them understand this multifaceted religion.
New Catholic Encyclopedia by Catholic University of America Staff (Contribution by)The first edition of this reference work, called the Catholic Encyclopedia, was published around the turn of the 20th century, with the last revised edition appearing in 1967. This new edition includes the best of the previous entries - many completely revised and updated - as well as new entries, written by subject experts, covering the latest topics of interest. Many thousands of articles are biographical profiles of the people who make up the history of the Catholic Church.
This supplement covers the areas of art, music and literature. It includes articles written by specialists and scholars, bios of the beatified and canonized since 2010 as well as entries on other relevant current Catholic issues, events and topics, such as: Internet and the Church, Pope Benedict XVI, popular culture, sex abuse crisis, television and Catholicism, and women artists and Catholic art.
This supplement covers a wide range of topics including ethics, metaphysics, epistemology, logic, aesthetics, philosophy of literature, art, and music, political philosophy, and philosophy of law. It contains numerous articles of special interest to Catholic thought and culture covering such areas as the philosophical aspects of love, hope, wisdom, marriage, friendship, death, pain and suffering, the human person and the human soul, and the philosophy of God and religion.