New Catholic Encyclopedia by
The first edition of this reference work, called the Catholic Encyclopedia, was published around the turn of the 20th century, with the last revised edition appearing in 1967. This new edition includes the best of the previous entries - many completely revised and updated - as well as new entries, written by subject experts, covering the latest topics of interest. Many thousands of articles are biographical profiles of the people who make up the history of the Catholic Church.
When searching for online references, be sure to try the encyclopedic database Credo Reference, or Encyclopedia Britannica. Limit your searches by subject, title, classification system, or material type.
Searching the library catalog will provide call number and in some cases electroonic access for the following titles. The "REF" code represents materials located in the reference section on the first floor of the library; these materials are available for anyone to use though they may not be checked out.
The Atlas of the Bible by
The Cultural Atlas series combines intellectual depth and visual richness as it distills and synthesizes an enormous amount of information. Weaving together geography, history, archaeology, anthropology, architecture, the arts, and more, these handsomely designed, interdisciplinary volumes encompass the entire physical and cultural world of each civilization, evoking its unique spirit and vitality. Delight the eye, inform the mind Designed to appeal to both the serious student and the more casual reader, the Cultural Atlas series is written with authority and clarity. Panoramic in scope, these volumes provide an overview of places and peoples through the centuries and are illustrated throughout with hundreds of striking and informative photographs and drawings. Each volume is divided into three key sections: -- Geographical/ethnographic background -- Cultural history -- A tour of present-day regions. Unique in its geographical orientation, this volume provides a beautiful anddetailed look at the places and events of this remarkable religious and literary work.
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church by
Based on the highly acclaimed Oxford Dictionary of the Christian Church, this is an indispensable guide for both students and the general reader. Over 6,000 entries provide authoritative coverage of theology, patristic scholarship, churches and denominations across the world, canon law, and the church calendar, as well as entries on theologians, philosophers, artists, musicians, and mystics. The third edition has been updated to reflect recent changes in the Church. Over 100 new entries cover topics such as the Antonian Movement, dispensationalism, Heilsgeschichte, Alvin Plantinga, Garima Gospels, and Intelligent Design. It also includes a new appendix listing the Archbishops of Canterbury and a web links appendix providing online resources that are listed and regularly updated on a dedicated companion website. This handy, concise volume is essential reading for anyone with an interest in Christianity.
Dictionary for Theological Interpretation of the Bible by 
Encyclopedia of Ancient Christianity by
This invaluable reference compiled by top scholars covers 8 centuries of the Christian church and addresses such topics as archaeology, art and architecture, biography, culture, doctrine, ecclesiology, geography, history, philosophy, and theology.
Encyclopedia of Catholicism by
Encyclopedia of Catholicism covers the key people, movements, institutions, practices, and doctrines of Roman Catholicism from its earliest origins. Focusing on the living faith and its historical and social background, this volume provides academic and college students with the tools to help them understand this multifaceted religion.
Hastings' Dictionary of the Bible by
Complete, trustworthy, and portable, "Hastings' Dictionary of the Bible "is an indispensable reference for all readers of the Bible. For nearly a century, lay people and scholars alike have valued both the authoritative contents and the convenient format of this one-volume work.Here are just a few reasons "Hastings' Dictionary of the Bible" has generally been considered the best single-volume Bible dictionary: - Important events, biblical doctrines, and theological concepts are treated completely and concisely- Bold-faced cross references point the reader easily to related articles- Accessible to all, the articles are comprehensive but non-technical- Explains all the proper names mentioned in the Old Testament, New Testament, and Apocrypha
New Catholic Encyclopedia - The Wojtyla Years by
This preamble to the revised edition of the New Catholic Encyclopedia focuses on the pontificate of Pope John Paul II and on events in the last decades of the twentieth century. Promising the same scholarship and comprehensive coverage praised in the NCE, the Jubilee Volume is a registry of people and issues that shaped the Church in the period after the Second Vatican Council. Their importance lies in the influence they have had on shaping the future of the Church as it crosses the threshold from one millennium to the next. The volume has two distinctive parts. The first is a series of interpretative essays that survey developments and analyze the principles that have determined church policy in the years of Pope John Paul's pontificate. They trace political and cultural influences that formed the outlook and values that Karol Wojtyla brought with him from Poland to Rome and to the world. Each of the authors focuses on a particular aspect: his personalist philosophy, approach to theology, social thought,,implementation of Vatican II, and ecumenical concerns. The essays show that his vision and influence transcend theological issues and extend well beyond the institutional Church to basic human rights and family values, to the arts and science, to economics and geopolitics. The second part of the volume follows the traditional encyclopedia format in reporting the hard data that one expects to find in a reference work: dates, place names, information about people, institutions, and events. A major section of this second part presents thumbnail sketches of hundreds of saints and beati declared by John Paul II.
The New Dictionary of Theology by 
