The Cambridge Dictionary of Philosophy by Robert Audi (Editor)This is the leading, full-scale comprehensive dictionary of philosophical terms and thinkers to appear in English in more than half a century. Written by a team of more than 550 experts and now widely translated, it contains approximately 5,000 entries ranging from short definitions to longer articles. It is designed to facilitate the understanding of philosophy at all levels and in all fields. Key features of this third edition include: * 500 new entries covering Eastern as well as Western philosophy, and covering individual countries such as China, France, Germany, Italy, and Spain * Increased coverage of such growing fields as ethics and philosophy of mind * More than 100 new intellectual portraits of leading contemporary thinkers * Wider coverage of Continental philosophy * Dozens of new technical concepts in cognitive science and other areas * Enhanced cross-referencing to add context and increase understanding * Expansions in both text and index to facilitate research and browsing
Call Number: Available as an ebook
Publication Date: 2015-04-02
A Dictionary of Philosophy, Macmillan by Antony Flew (Editor)"The Dictionary of Philosophy can be used as a guidebook to the history of ideas, an immensely useful handbook for the student of philosophy - or of the many disciplines touching on philosophy - or for the general reader who needs clarification or definition of the many terms and names within its scope. From the classic thinkers, through Aquinas, Descartes, Spinoza, Kant and hundreds more who lead up to the modern age, this comprehensive dictionary spans the personalities, terminology and vocabulary of thousands of years of philosophical thought in addition to the more recent encroachment of social and psychological sciences"--Publisher.
Call Number: Available as an ebook
Publication Date: 2001-12-31
Dictionary of Religion and Philosophy by Geddes MacGregor (Editor)Reflected in the more than three thousand entries in this reference work is the rigorous professional training and the maturity of a lifetime of learning by an eminent scholar. Through judicious selection, Professor MacGregor has produced an essential and highly accessible reference book While no dictionary can pretend to cover every conceivable aspect within its field, the scope of this one makes it a unique desk companion for students at every level of religious studies. In addition to its extensive presentation of religious and philosophical ideas of the Judeo-Christian heritage, the Dictionary of Religion and Philosophy also treats vast numbers of concepts that span philosophical and religious ideas from Egyptian and Indian antiquity to the Bogomils and the Druze, from the Zoroastrians to contemporary movements as diverse as scientology and the Rastafarians, from Neoplatonism to the Vienna circle, from the varieties of Buddhism to the schisms in Islam, from bioethical questions in ancient India to contemporary American discussions on euthanasia. All told, this is the most expansive one-volume desk reference work available for religious studies. Extensive bibliographies, organized by subject at the end of the book further its value as a reference work.
Call Number: REF BL31 .M22
Publication Date: 1998-05-29
Dictionary of World Philosophy by A. Pablo IannoneThe Dictionary of World Philosophy covers the diverse and challenging terminology, concepts, schools and traditions of the vast field of world philosophy. Providing an extremely comprehensive resource and an essential point of reference in a complex and expanding field of study the Dictionary covers all major subfields of the discipline. Key features: * Cross-references are used to highlight interconnections and the cross-cultural diffusion and adaptation of terms which has taken place over time * The user is led from specific terms to master entries which provide valuable historical and cultural context * Each master entry is followed by at least two suggestions for further reading on the subject, creating a substantial bibliography of world philosophy * References extend beyond philosophy to related areas such as cognitive science, computer science, language and physics Subdisciplines covered include:* aesthetics * ethics * sociopolitical philosophy * the philosophy of law * epistemology * logic * the philosophy of science * the philosophy of mind * the philosophy of culture and history * metaphysics * the philosophy of religion Entries are drawn from West Africa, Arabic, Chinese, Indian, Japanese, Jewish, Korean, Latin American, Maori and Native American philosophy including the important and so far largely neglected instance of Pre-Hispanic thought: Nahua philosophy.
Aesthetics A-Z by Eran GuterA concise yet thorough introduction to aesthetics in the form of an alphabetic guide.Written in a clear and engaging style, Aesthetics A-Z provides authoritative coverage of the main concepts, arguments, problems and key figures in aesthetics and the philosophy of art. Informative entries - extensively cross-referenced and supplemented with carefully chosen suggestions for further reading - provide a layered treatment of both historical background and contemporary debates in aesthetics, and underline points of intersection between aesthetics and other branches of philosophy or other fields that study the arts. Aesthetics A-Z is an ideal first guide for newcomers to the field of aesthetics, as well as a handy and useful reference work for more advanced students of philosophy, art history, education, media studies and the performing arts.
This encyclopedia belongs on the bookshelf of every reader as the authoritative reference work of the generation. Breadth of coverage, quality of writing and reference features make it indispensable to general reader and philosopher.
Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment by Alan Charles Kors (Editor)Defining the Enlightenment as the "long eighteenth century," the Encyclopedia focuses on the entire range of philosophic and social changes engendered by the Enlightenment. It extends the conventional geographical boundaries of the Enlightenment, covering not only France, England, Scotland,the Low Countries, Italy, English-speaking North America, the German states, and Hapsburg Austria but also Iberian, Ibero-American, Jewish, Russian, and Eastern European cultures. Nor does the Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment limit itself to major centers like Paris in France and Edinburgh inScotland, but shares the rich lode of recent scholarship on "secondary" and "provincial" centers such as Berlin and Geneva; Philadelphia and Milan.The Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment brings a similar spirit of inclusion to the new theoretical and methodological approaches that have flowered in the humanities during the past two decades. Including feminist and various post-modernist reassessments alongside more traditional perspectives, thefour volumes offer the broadest possible range of current knowledge.Accessibility combined with scholarly rigor make the Encyclopedia the first choice for researching any aspect of the Enlightenment.
Call Number: REF B802 .E65
Publication Date: 2002-12-26
The Essentials of Philosophy and Ethics. by Martin CohenAn important resource for those needing to understand the key concepts in philosophy and ethics and their relevance to current issues. It covers a wide range of philosophical ideas including often-neglected non-European traditions such as African philosophies and Islamic ethics.
Call Number: Available as an ebook
Publication Date: 2006-01-01
Meet the Philosophers of Ancient Greece by Patricia F. O'GradyAncient Greece was the cradle of philosophy in the Western tradition. Meet the Philosophers of Ancient Greece brings the thoughts and lives of the pioneers of Western philosophy down from their sometimes remote heights and introduces them to a modern audience. Comprising seventy essays, written by internationally distinguished scholars in a lively and accessible style, this book presents the values, ideas, wisdom and arguments of the most significant thinkers from the world of ancient Greece.