General Reference - English - Literature and Composition

English Language Reference Sources

General Reference sources provide a basic background information on a variety of subjects. These types help to formulate the focus of research, especially if little is known about the topic. Use the information fuond in general reference sources to guide the research process toward more specific information.

Bartlett's Familiar Quotations
Credo Reference
Encyclopaedia Britannica Online
Print Edition REF AE 5 .E35 (Library second floor)
New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poets and Poetics
REF PN1021 .P73

Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Online access to the OED, bilingual dictionaries, subject dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopediae
Oxford Reference is a collection of electronic encyclopedias and dictionaries published by Oxford University Press. Its strength comes from Oxford University Press reputation, but many of the results are very short entries. Subscription.
Oxford English Dictionary (OED) This link opens in a new window
Print edition REF PE1625 .M88 (Library second floor)
The Oxford English Dictionary is the definitive source for the etymology of English words tracing first occurrence, historic usage, quotations, and present tense. Subscription.

English Literature Reference Sources

The Cambridge Guide to Literature in English
The Chronology of American Literature
Credo Reference - Literature Titles
Critical Terms for Literary Study
A Dictionary of Writers and their Works
The New Princeton Encyclopedia of Poetry and Poetics
The Oxford Companion to American Literature
The Oxford Companion to English Literature
The Oxford Companion to Shakespeare
The Oxford Companion to Twentieth-Century Poetry in English
The Oxford Dictionary of Phrase and Fable
The Oxford Encyclopedia of American Literature
REF PS21 .E62 (Library second floor)

English - Literature and Composition

Word of the Day

Contact the Library

@HackelmeierLib

English Language Reference Sources

English Literature Reference Sources