An online database that indexes roughtly 4,500 publications, providing full-text access to more than 3,000 journals and magazines. Sources include scholarly journals, news magazines and select newspaper articles.
Academic Search Complete contains 18,000+ multidisciplinary titles indexed and abstracted (16,000+ are peer-reviewed) and 9,000+ full-text publications. Strength and weakness: very broad, so searchers are likely to find results, but may be overwhelmed by quantity. INSPIRE.
Access to the full range of statistics and statistical reports produced by Federal Government agencies. Topics include economic and population trends, crime, education, health, and many other topics. Use the Topics: A-Z list for quick access.
Original, comprehensive reporting and analysis on issues in the news
In-depth, unbiased coverage of health, social trends, criminal justice, international affairs, education, the environment, technology, and the economy. Each single-themed report is fact checked and footnoted. Each report provides researchers with an introductory overview, which poses and addresses relevant questions; a background and chronology on the topic; an assessment of the current situation; tables and maps; a pro/con debate by representatives of opposing positions; and bibliographies of key sources. Subscription.
This database brings together essential periodicals, compiled legislative histories, CRS reports, Congressional hearings, United States Supreme Court briefs, monographs, and other related materials on the difficult and controversial topic of regulating firearms in the United States.
Full text access to scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities. Coverage dates back to the first published issue of many publications, in some cases dating as far back as the 1800’s.
JSTOR is a collection of scholarly journal articles in the humanities and social sciences. It's entire collection contains around 2,000 journals, although local access will vary. These are subscriptions, and chosen individually, so each collection will reflect the focus of the institution. The collection's strength lies in its complete back issues of journal titles, while a weakness is a "moving wall" limiting access to the most recent journal issues. Subscription.
Opposing Viewpoints in Context is the premier online resource covering todays hottest social issues, from Offshore Drilling to Climate Change, Health Care to Immigration. Opposing Viewpoints in Context helps students research, analyze and organize a broad variety of data for conducting research, completing writing assignments, preparing for debates, creating presentations and more.
Provided by The Indianapolis Foundation a CICF affiliate.
A comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities, arts, and social sciences journals with full text access to more than 300 scholarly journals.
Project Muse is a collection of established and longstanding scholarly journals in literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy and religion, political science, medicine and health, and gender studies. Strengths of this collection include its caliber of content with historical and the current holdings. Subscription.
Full-text scholarly journals in the social sciences.
Social Sciences Full Text provides access to a wide assortment of English-language journals published in the social sciences. This resource provides the full text of 150 non-open access journals and detailed indexing for over 800 periodicalsthe vast majority are peer-reviewed. Over 220 titles are not held in Academic Search Complete, of these 60 are currently full-text (19 with a 12-month embargo) and about 40 have some full text but stopped over 3 years ago. (H.W. Wilson) INSPIRE.
Full text for 344 "core" journals dating to 1895, plus 129 "priority" journals. Also includes full text for more than 700 books and monographs, and nearly 7,000 conference papers
