Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Selected Policy Resources - Local, State, Federal
City-County Council Of Marion County And Indianapolis
The Council is the legislative branch of local City and County government and is responsible for adopting budgets, levying taxes, and authorizing financial appropriations to fund city and county operations, as well as enacting, repealing, or amending local laws.
Congress.gov is the official website for U.S. federal legislative information. The site provides access to accurate, timely, and complete legislative information for Members of Congress, legislative agencies, and the public. It is presented by the Library of Congress (LOC) using data from the Office of the Clerk of the U.S. House of Representatives, the Office of the Secretary of the Senate, the Government Publishing Office, Congressional Budget Office, and the LOC's Congressional Research Service.
Indiana Advisory Commission on Intergovernmental Relations (IACIR)
The IACIR’s mission is to create effective communication, cooperation and partnerships between the federal, state and local units of government to improve the delivery of services to the citizens of Indiana.
Indiana General Assembly - 2016 Session
As one of three co-equal branches of state government, the General Assembly is responsible for enacting the laws by which the state of Indiana is governed. The intent behind this website is to afford you the opportunity to better understand the operation of the General Assembly and its impact on your life and well being.
Mayor's Action Center (Indianapolis)
The Mayor's Action Center (MAC) provides the citizens of the Consolidated City of Indianapolis and Marion County with a single point of contact to request City services, obtain information, or provide feedback.
National Association of Counties (NACo)
The National Association of Counties (NACo) unites America’s 3,069 county governments. Founded in 1935, NACo brings county officials together to advocate with a collective voice on national policy, exchange ideas and build new leadership skills, pursue transformational county solutions, enrich the public’s understanding of county government, and exercise exemplary leadership in public service.
National Conference of State Legislatures
NCSL is committed to the success of all legislators and staff. Our mission is to improve the quality and effectiveness of state legislatures, promote policy innovation and communication among state legislatures, and ensure state legislatures a strong, cohesive voice in the federal system.
Policy Analysis Resources - Local and National
Ballotpedia - the Encyclopedia of American Politics
"Ballotpedia is the online encyclopedia of American politics and elections. Our goal is to inform people about politics by providing accurate and objective information about politics at all levels of government. "
"The Brookings Institution is a nonprofit organization devoted to independent, in-depth research that leads to pragmatic and innovative ideas on how to solve problems facing society. Brookings’s commitment to institutional independence is rooted in the individual independence of its scholars. Therefore, the Institution does not take positions on issues."
Hoosier Environmental Council
"HEC is devoted to identifying the biggest environmental challenges facing Indiana, and uniting people toward a solution. We use a combination of education, advocacy, and sometimes, litigation, to address those challenges. The result is a new vision of Indiana’s future: one of cleaner air, safer water, more protected land, and ultimately, a healthier, higher quality of life."
Indiana Chamber of Commerce
"The Indiana Chamber of Commerce will cultivate a world-class environment
which provides economic opportunity and prosperity for the people of Indiana and their enterprises."
Indiana University Pubilc Policy Institute
The IU Public Policy Institute delivers unbiased research and data-driven, objective, expert analysis to help public, private and nonprofit sectors make important decisions that directly impact quality of life in Indiana and throughout the nation.
Pew Research Center
"Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that informs the public about the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. We conduct public opinion polling, demographic research, content analysis and other data-driven social science research. We do not take policy positions."
PolicyArchive is an innovative, new digital archive of global, non-partisan public policy research. It makes use of the power, efficiency, and economy of modern Internet technology to collect and disseminate summaries and full texts, videos, reports, briefs, and multimedia material of think tank, university, government, and foundation-funded policy research. It offers a subject index, an internal search engine, useful abstracts, email notifications of newly added research, and will soon expand to offer information on researchers and funders, and even user-generated publication reviews. Over time, it will grow to include policy content from international and corporate organizations.
STATS Indiana is the statistical data utility for the State of Indiana, developed and maintained since 1985 by the Indiana Business Research Center at Indiana University's Kelley School of Business. Support is or has been provided by the State of Indiana and the Lilly Endowment, the Indiana Department of Workforce Development and Indiana University.
Think Tank Search - Harvard University's Kennedy School
A searchable directory of partisan and non-partisan think tanks related to research on social policy.