It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Communication / Rhetoric / Speech: Articles/Databases
A guide to resources for communications and rhetoric studies and research.
Peer-reviewed (also referred to as scholarly) articles appear in academic or professional journals. The term "peer-review" means that the content of each article is reviewed by a panel of experts for accuracy and authority prior to publication. Common components of a scholarly article include author credentials, literature review, methodology (if a research article), findings (if a research article), conclusions and a reference bibliography.
Magazine articles often do not include a reference bibliography, and in some cases the author and credentials are not listed. Without that type of information, it is difficult to verify the source. For most research projects, your professors will expect you to use strong, verifiable sources that have undergone peer-review prior to publishing.
An online database that indexes roughly 4,500 publications, providing full-text access to more than 3,000 journals and magazines. Sources include scholarly journals, news magazines and select newspaper articles.
Finds electronic and print publications from the U.S.government (GPO). Links to online publications and provides catalog information for materials not yet online (but available in libraries). Most content is since 1976; prior data being gradually added.
Credo Reference features full-text, aggregated content from more than 500 reference titles; content includes encyclopedias, atlases, dictionaries, bilingual dictionaries, and subject-specific works. Additional key features include customizable, dynamic data tables; tens of thousands of images; audio pronunciation files; over 90,000 atlas images of places and geographic features; and a Concept Map that visualizes your search results.
CQ Researcher provides award winning in-depth coverage of the most important issues of the day. Reports are written by experienced journalists, footnoted and professionally fact-checked. Full-length articles include an overview, historical background, chronology, pro/con feature, plus resources for additional research. Graphics, photos and short "sidebar" features round out the reports.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text
This database is the world’s most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997.
Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles, w/direct links to Marian full text.
To link to Marian's electronic journal holdings, under settings (top left menu), click Library Links. Then, search for 'marian' and select the "Find it @ Marian University" option. Access will then be displayed in search result lists.
EBSCO's Newswires provides near real-time access to top world-wide news from Associated Press, United Press International, PR Newswire, Xinhua, CNN Wire, and Business Wire on a continuous basis. This content is monitored by EBSCO and relevant results are provided when users enter searches in EBSCOhost. This collection includes AP Financial News, AP Top News, AP WorldStream, AP U.S. Politics & Government, AP 50 State Reports, UPI Security Industry, UPI Emerging Threats, UPI Business, UPI Entertainment, UPI Sports, UPI Top News, Arabia 2000, and more. End users can immediately access the full text of the web content, by following the link in the record. The index to the full text content in EBSCO Newswires is held for a rolling 30-day archive by EBSCO.
Containing resources that present multiple sides of an issue, this database provides rich content that can help students assess and develop persuasive arguments and essays, better understand controversial issues and develop analytical thinking skills.