It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
A guide to resources for the study of theater arts.
Peer-reviewed (also referred to as scholarly) articles appear in academic or professional journals. The term "peer-review" means that the content of each article is reviewed by a panel of experts for accuracy and authority prior to publication. Common components of a scholarly article include author credentials, literature review, methodology (if a research article), findings (if a research article), conclusions and a reference bibliography.
Magazine articles often do not include a reference bibliography, and in some cases the author and credentials are not listed. Without that type of information, it is difficult to verify the source. For most research projects, your professors will expect you to use strong, verifiable sources that have undergone peer-review prior to publishing.
An online database that indexes roughtly 4,500 publications, providing full-text access to more than 3,000 journals and magazines. Sources include scholarly journals, news magazines and select newspaper articles.
NOTE: Do not click green Logout button in upper right corner of screen once you access.
Provides streaming of professional theatre performances. "Digital Theatre+ collaborates with over 50 world-class theatre companies, industry associations, practitioners, teachers, examination boards and scholars to[...]capture and curate live performance in stunning quality [and] bring an unprecedented range of insights from behind the scenes."
Full text access to scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities. Coverage dates back to the first published issue of many publications, in some cases dating as far back as the 1800’s.
JSTOR is a collection of scholarly journal articles in the humanities and social sciences. It's entire collection contains around 2,000 journals, although local access will vary. These are subscriptions, and chosen individually, so each collection will reflect the focus of the institution. The collection's strength lies in its complete back issues of journal titles, while a weakness is a "moving wall" limiting access to the most recent journal issues. Subscription.
A comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities, arts, and social sciences journals with full text access to more than 300 scholarly journals.
Project Muse is a collection of established and longstanding scholarly journals in literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy and religion, political science, medicine and health, and gender studies. Strengths of this collection include its caliber of content with historical and the current holdings. Subscription.