Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

*Nursing Resources

Find Articles / Databases

Book a Meeting with Chris

Finding Nurse Authored Articles

At times it is necessary to find articles which are authored by nurses. There are two databases with specific methods of finding those articles, CINAHL and PubMed. Click the tabs above for instructions on searching the databases.

The Nursing database CINAHL has options to limit to articles authored by a nurse. This limit was added in the summer of 2010 so can only be used for articles published since then. 

To activate the limiter:

  1. Connect to the CINAHL database
  2. Enter your search terms and click Search
  3. On the left side of the results page, in the Limit To section click the box for Any Author is Nurse 
  4. Your Search will automatically be updated

Here is a video tutorial of using CINAHL to search for articles by nurses.

If the "Any Author is a Nurse" limit does not work for you, you have to look at the full-text of articles to determine if the author is a nurse. This is usually on the first page of the article and may be noted by degrees (CRNA, MSN, RN etc...) after the name or in an "about the authors" section. Some journals do not provide this information at all. 

Please Note: There are not necessarily articles published/written by a nurse on your topic! If you follow the directions on this page -- it is possible your search results in zero results. You may have to broaden your search, choose another aspect of your topic, or ultimately change your topic altogether.

PubMed does not have a limiter for articles authored by a nurse. However, you can construct a search for nurse authors.

  1. Connect to PUBMED
  2. In the search box type (copy and paste) the following exactly:

"RN"[ad] OR "CRNA"[ad] OR "MSN"[ad] OR "APRN"[ad] OR "CNS"[ad] OR "DNP"[ad] OR "NP"[ad] OR "nursing"[ad] AND [your search term]

  1. Replace [your search term] with your search term
  2. Click Search

So for example, if you wanted to search Pubmed for nurse authored articles on Patient Falls your search would look like this: 

"RN"[ad] OR "CRNA"[ad] OR "MSN"[ad] OR "APRN"[ad] OR "CNS"[ad] OR "DNP"[ad] OR "NP"[ad] OR "nursing"[ad] AND Patient Falls

Here is a video tutorial of using CINAHL/PubMed to search for articles by nurses.

This will search the Author Description field and any author that includes RN in their credentials will show up. It is up to you as the researcher to be sure that the authors are indeed nurses while searching in Pubmed.

Please Note: There are not necessarily articles published/written by a nurse on your topic! If you follow the directions on this page -- it is possible your search results in zero results. You may have to broaden your search, choose another aspect of your topic, or ultimately change your topic altogether.

Clinical Practice Guidelines

Trusted Clinical Practice Guideline Repositories

Finding Guidelines in Databases