Coronavirus and U. S. Public Health Preparedness by Roger F. Martin (Editor)Coronavirus disease 2019 (COVID-19) is a respiratory illness that can spread from person to person. The virus that causes COVID-19 is a novel coronavirus that was first identified during an investigation into an outbreak in Wuhan, China. Chapters 1-16 contain information about the science behind the virus, economic implications, global response and public safety. Chapters 17 and 18 access the readiness of the United States Public Health System in response to emerging infectious diseases, pandemics and biological attacks. (Imprint: SNOVA)
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2020-05-01
The Economics of Public Health by Heather BrownNon-communicable diseases have surpassed infectious diseases as the leading cause of morbidity and mortality in developed countries. Prevention and treatment of the causes and consequences of lifestyle-related diseases forms an important part of health policy in the twenty-first century. Public health economics - from quantifying the problem, to evaluating interventions and developing toolkits to assist decision makers - is an essential area for any postgraduate student and researcher with an interest in applied economics to understand. There are a wide range of techniques from mainstream economics and health economics that can be applied to the evaluation of public health policy and public health issues. In this book, Brown presents examples from developed countries to illustrate how economic tools can be applied to public health. Further, cross-country comparisons illustrate how contextual factors related to healthcare systems, demographics and environmental factors may impact on outcomes and the cost-effectiveness of public health policies, in order to aid understanding and help students apply theory into practice.
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2018-04-23
Epidemiology by Leon GordisEpidemiology, by award-winning educator and epidemiologist Leon Gordis, is a best-selling introduction to this complex science. Dr. Gordis leverages his vast experience teaching this subject in the classroom to introduce the basic principles and concepts of epidemiology in a clear, uniquely memorable way. He guides you from an explanation of the epidemiologic approach to disease and intervention, through the use of epidemiologic principles to identify the causes of disease, to a discussion of how epidemiology should be used to improve evaluation and public policy. It's your best choice for an accessible yet rich understanding of epidemiology! "Overall, I think it is an excellent book for medical students and occupational medicine trainees and a useful revision and reference text for consultant occupational physicians one of the most clearly laid out and readable general epidemiology texts that I have ever seen". Reviewed by: Julia Smedley on behalf of Occupational Medicine Date: July 2015 Gain a solid foundation of basic epidemiologic principles as well as practical applications in public health and clinical practice. Visualize concepts vividly through abundant full-color figures, graphs, and charts. Check your understanding of essential information with 320 multiple-choice epidemiology self-assessment questions (120 inside the book plus 200 more online). Access the complete contents online at Student Consult, including over 200 additional multiple-choice epidemiology self-assessment questions not found in the book, with answers to all questions as well as full rationales explaining why every answer is correct or incorrect. Master the latest nuances in epidemiology thanks to a wealth of new and updated illustrations, examples, and epidemiologic data.
Essentials of Epidemiology in Public Health by Ann Aschengrau; George R. SeageEssentials of Epidemiology in Public Health, Fourth Edition combines theory and practice in presenting traditional and new epidemiologic concepts. Broad in scope, the text opens with five chapters covering the basic epidemiologic concepts and data sources. A major emphasis is placed on study design, with separate chapters devoted to each of the three main analytic designs: experimental, cohort, and case-control studies.Full chapters on bias, confounding, and random error, including the role of statistics in epidemiology, ensure that students are well-equipped with the necessary information to interpret the results of epidemiologic studies. Up-to-date examples from the epidemiologic literature on diseases of public health importance are provided throughout the book.Key Features:* New examples and the latest public health statistics throughout* Coverage of the Ebola outbreak including an in-depth investigation of what happened* New examples that illustrate epidemiological principles including a greater emphasis on social factors that influence health, such as racism* Straightforward descriptions of the latest epidemiologic methods including mediation analysis, agent-based modelling, and the use of directed acyclic graphs (DAGs) to assess confounding.* An expanded glossary and key terms highlighted throughout the text
Public Health 101 Improving Community Health by Richard Riegelman; Brenda KirkwoodPublic Health 101,Third Edition provides a big-picture, population perspective on the determinants of health and disease and the tools available to protect and promote health. Now with a greater emphasis on community involvement and providing community based-services, the third edition examines the full range of options for intervention including use of the healthcare system, the public health system, and society-wide systems such as laws and taxation.Through a unique set of case studies, vignettes, and extensive examples, readers will come away with a clear understanding of how public health affects their everyday lives. They will learn and apply frameworks for thinking about public health issues and gain a deeper understanding about the health news they are exposed to each day.Note: The Navigate Advantage and eBook versions of this text have been updated and enhanced (Fall 2020) to include 6 case studies on COVID-19 along with new interactive digital exercises that teach the principles of population health. Key Features:* A comprehensive look at new and expanding roles for nurses, efforts to address the nursing shortage, and additional case studies that emphasize the critical and evolving roles played by nurses in the health care and public health systems* Coverage of current content such as the opioid epidemic and "One Health" topics including antibiotic resistance, climate change, and international health regulations* New case studies on influenza, antibiotic resistance, aging as a public health issue, health navigation, diabetes, and morePublic Health 101 is part of the Essential Public Health series and one of the three Health Foundations courses. Public Health 101 follows the ASPPH "Critical Component Elements" for a public health overview course as well as the AAC&U recommendations for a Public Health 101 course.
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2018-03-21
Public Health Law and Ethics by Lawrence O. Gostin (Editor); Lindsay F. Wiley (Editor)Public Health Law and Ethics: A Reader, 3rd Edition probes the legal and ethical issues at the heart of public health through an incisive selection of judicial opinions, scholarly articles, and government reports. Crafted to be accessible to students while thorough enough for use by practitioners, policy makers, scholars, and teachers alike, the reader can be used as a stand-alone resource or alongside the internationally acclaimed Public Health Law: Power, Duty, Restraint, 3rd Edition. This updated edition reader includes new discussions of today's most pressing health threats, such as chronic diseases, emerging infectious diseases, antimicrobial resistance, biosecurity, opioid overdose, gun violence, and health disparities.
Call Number: ebook
Publication Date: 2018-10-02
Public Health Nutrition by M. Margaret Barth (Editor); Ronny Bell (Editor); Karen Grimmer (Editor)Public Health Nutrition is a comprehensive, practice-based textbook for graduate and upper undergraduate students and community nutrition and public health professionals. It provides readers with the principal understanding of how improving access to healthy foods at individual, local, regional and global levels as well as improving food security and sustainability can improve community health and combat non-communicable diseases, infectious diseases, hunger and malnutrition, obesity, social injustice, and debilitating food environments. Across diverse communities, this book not only directs readers' attention towards key public health nutrition-related challenges that affect rural and urban populations across the globe, it also adds critical thinking exercises, cases, and engaging discussion to advance application of evidence-based practice in the real world.Using an inter-professional approach and supported with evidence-based research in public health, nutritional science, and behavioral economics, this textbook covers how to plan health promotion programs and interventions in diverse communities, how to analyze and influence food policy, sustainability, and security initiatives, and how to address cultural competency, nutritional monitoring, professional development, and many other practice-based skills out in the field.. All chapters are complete with learning objectives, detailed case studies, discussion questions, learning activities for beyond the classroom, and a review of core topics covered. Essential for public health students studying nutrition, public policy, social work, and other health science-related areas, the book presents a strategic context to real-world initiatives while employing an inter-professional outlook to tackle public health nutrition issues. Key Features Addresses key public health nutrition-related challenges in working with rural, diverse, and global communities to improve outcomes Inter-professional and evidence-based approaches to food and water systems, food security and food sovereignty Includes coverage of hot topics, such as telehealth, mHealth, collaborative grantsmanship, and innovative communication strategies Highlights the aims of Healthy People 2030, Feed the Future, and Sustainability Development Goals Fosters skills and builds competencies related to community health needs assessment, problem solving and critical thinking, systems thinking, evidence-based public health practice, and leadership Chapters include case studies, suggested learning activities, reflection questions, an extensive glossary, and more Purchase includes access to the ebook for use on most mobile devices or computers