Focusing specifically on primary sources, this guide is to help students in Dr. Miguda's US History 1864-Present course find the resources they need for their assignments.
Library databases can be excellent places to find sources, particularly peer-reviewed ones. Some databases may have primary source materials, but most covered here will focus on peer-reviewed articles. For primary source databases, please see General Primary Source Collections.
Broad collection of scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers in most academic subjects. A great starting point for any topic!
Academic Search Complete contains 18,000+ multidisciplinary titles indexed and abstracted (16,000+ are peer-reviewed) and 9,000+ full-text publications. Strength and weakness: very broad, so searchers are likely to find results, but may be overwhelmed by quantity. INSPIRE.
Full text of reference books, magazines, journals, and primary source documents in U.S. and world history.
History Reference Center, covering both U.S. and world history topics, features historical reference books, magazines, journals and thousands of primary source documents. Also includes images and historical video. INSPIRE.
Full-text of core academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
JSTOR is a collection of scholarly journal articles in the humanities and social sciences. It's entire collection contains around 2,000 journals, although local access will vary. These are subscriptions, and chosen individually, so each collection will reflect the focus of the institution. The collection's strength lies in its complete back issues of journal titles, while a weakness is a "moving wall" limiting access to the most recent journal issues. Subscription.
Scholarly articles on the humanities and social sciences.
Project Muse is a collection of established and longstanding scholarly journals in literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy and religion, political science, medicine and health, and gender studies. Strengths of this collection include its caliber of content with historical and the current holdings. Subscription.
World History in Context moves chronologically over 5,000 years from antiquity to the present and geographically around the globe, to ensure that the events, movements and individuals that defined, informed and shaped world history are covered with a sense of balance
Provided by The Indianapolis Foundation a CICF affiliate.
