It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Start here for scholarly journals and professional publications in communication, mass media, and film studies.
Communication & Mass Media Complete incorporates CommSearch and Mass Media Articles Index along with numerous other journals in communication, mass media, and other closely-related fields of study. CMMC offers cover-to-cover (core) indexing and abstracts for over 370 journals, and selected (priority) coverage of over 230 more, for a combined coverage of over 600 titles. Many journals have indexing, abstracts, PDFs and searchable cited references from their first issues to the present (dating as far back as 1915). Contains a Communication Thesaurus and comprehensive reference browsing (i.e. searchable cited references for peer-reviewed journals covered as "core"). INSPIRE.
Professionally developed subject encyclopedia collection. Similar to Wikipedia yet with articles written by known subject experts.
Credo Reference is a multidisciplinary collection of subject encyclopedias and dictionaries. Developed with beginning researchers in mind, it includes resources to help develop search terms, as well as bibliographies that directly link to the library catalog. A strength is the robust quality of the articles written, while a weakness is that it is missing obscure topics. Subscription.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Full Text This database is the worlds most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1743 to the present day and offering full text for graduate works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written prior to 1997.
Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles, w/direct links to Marian full text.
To link to Marian's electronic journal holdings, under settings (top left menu), click Library Links. Then, search for 'marian' and select the "Find it @ Marian University" option. Access will then be displayed in search result lists.
A comprehensive selection of prestigious humanities, arts, and social sciences journals with full text access to more than 300 scholarly journals.
Journal vs. Magazine
Peer-reviewed (also referred to as scholarly) articles appear in academic or professional journals. The term "peer-review" means that the content of each article is reviewed by a panel of experts for accuracy and authority prior to publication. Common components of a scholarly article include author credentials, literature review, methodology (if a research article), findings (if a research article), conclusions and a reference bibliography.
Magazine articles often do not include a reference bibliography, and in some cases the author and credentials are not listed. Without that type of information, it is difficult to verify the source. For most research projects, your professors will expect you to use strong, verifiable sources that have undergone peer-review prior to publishing.