LibGuides: FYS Faculty Resources: Selected E-Journals and Bibliography

Selected Journals & Resources

Browzine Web/ Browse eJournals by Subject This link opens in a new window
Browse Marian eJournals by subject via Browzine

About Campus Covers the critical issues faced by both student affairs and academic affairs staff to help students learn.
Assessment Update Covers the developments in higher education assessment. Gives information & advice on conducting assessments, including student learning & outcomes, faculty instruction, academic programs, student services, & overall institutional functioning.
Higher Education : The International Journal of Higher Education Research Authoritative overview articles, comparative studies and analyses of specific problems affecting universities, technical colleges, polytechnics, adult education institutes, specialist institutions and research institutes worldwide.
Innovative Higher Education Innovative Higher Education presents fresh ideas in higher education in a straightforward and readable fashion. The journal features descriptions and evaluations of current innovations and provocative new ideas with relevance for action beyond the immediate context in higher education. It also focuses on the effect of such innovations on teaching and students.
Journal of Catholic Higher Education The Journal of Catholic Higher Education is the peer-reviewed, interdisciplinary, semi-annual journal of the Association of Catholic Colleges and Universities. It is the only international journal dedicated solely to the distribution of scholarly work and commentary with a focus on contemporary Catholic higher education in the United States and around the world.
The Journal of General Education Journal of General Education: A Curricular Commons of the Humanities and Sciences is devoted to the ideas and ideals of scholarship that enlighten the understanding of curriculum that reaches beyond disciplinary and professional concentrations to provide an undergraduate educational commons.
New Directions for Institutional Research A series of thematic journals providing planners and administrators in all types of academic institutions with guidelines in such areas as resource coordination, information analysis, program evaluation and institutional management.
New Directions for Teaching and Learning A series of thematic journals presenting ideas and techniques for improving college teaching, based both on the practical expertise of seasoned instructors and on the latest research findings of educational and psychological researchers.
Recruitment and Retention in Higher Education
Student Success: A journal exploring the experiences of students in tertiary education Student Success (previously titled the International Journal of the First Year in Higher Education) is an international, open-access, peer-reviewed, scholarly publication exploring the experiences of students in tertiary education. The Journal provides the opportunity to disseminate current research and innovative good practice about students’ tertiary learning experiences, which are supported by evidence.
Studies in Higher Education Presents essays on general higher education, but especially related to discussions of specific disciplinary perspectives and reflections of personal teaching practices.
Teaching in Higher Education Addresses the roles of teaching, learning and the curriculum in higher education in order to explore and clarify the intellectual challenges which they present.

Selected Bibliography

Download the bibliography below to locate full-text articles related to research involving first year students. Most of the items are available within the catalog for download. For those articles that are not directly available, they can be requested from the catalog via our Interlibrary Loan service.

FYE, Retention, Assessment Articles
Bibliography listing research available within our catalog on the First Year Experience.