Skip to main content

BUS 401 Polito: Spring 2020: Home

Welcome!

This guide links you directly to library resources and tips to help you with your BUS401 Literature Sort project. You can view additional resources at the Business & Management Research Guide.

If you have questions or would like to schedule a research help meeting, email Jessica at jtrinoskey@marian.edu.

 

Types of Business Sources

Library databases contain collections of articles and reports from several different types of sources, including:

  • academic/scholarly publications
  • trade publications
  • newspapers
  • magazines

As you find articles, keep in mind potential bias of the authors and seek multiple perspectives on issues.

Interlibrary Loan

Starting Point: Databases

Search Strategies

Once you identify your topic, think of words that authors would use when writing about it. Make a list of words and phrases that you think might appear in articles about your topic. These are keywords that you'll use and combine when you're searching databases.

If you want the perspective of a specific type of source, use that as a keyword as well. For example, if you're researching the insurance industry, you might combine "insurance" and "policy holder" and "perspective". If you don't get results, try dropping the word "perspective" . You'll still see articles that mention "insurance" and "policy holder". They may contain information from that perspective without identifying it as such.

Finding articles can be a long process. You may need to make your search more narrow or broad to get closer to the results you want. Write down the terms you use in each database to help keep track of how you've searched. Different databases will return different results.

Hello!

Jessica Trinoskey's picture
Jessica Trinoskey
Contact:
Library, 1st floor offices
317-955-6730

Citing Your Sources (APA)

Once you're viewing an article in a database, you will frequently be able to find a link that will take you directly to information on how to cite it. This is what it looks like in Business Source Premier:

When you click on the icon, the database will attempt an APA citation for your References page. It's your responsibility to make sure that the information and formatting are accurate, but this is a great start! Remember, you still need to cite your sources in the text of your report. Purdue OWL is a great source of information for formatting in-text citations.