Skip to main content

* Library Resources at Marian University: Home

Library Essentials

Databases

Looking for Databases? Search our list of discipline specific databases for content within your academic area.

E-Journals

If you're looking for specific e-journals, try our A-Z list as well as those available on our Browzine platform. You'll be able to find what titles we have, which databases they're located within, and the date-specific coverage of those titles.

My Library Account

To see due dates, renew, or check fines of what items one has on their library account, click the My Library Account link at the top right of the catalog and add your Marian University login credentials. 

Contact the Library

Call Us:

317.955.6090

Email Us:

librarystaff@marian.edu

Follow Us on Twitter:

@HackelmeierLib

Friend Us on Facebook :

Hackelmeier Memorial Library

Hours of Operation:

Updated Hours

Search our Resources

Welcome to Hackelmeier Memorial Library's Guide to Library Resources. Use this resource page for information on numerous topics related to library sources and services available to the Marian University community. Search below for full-text, electronic articles and physical items we have in the library.

 

Constructing a Search

As opposed to using general search engines, it is not enough to find scholarly content through basic keyword searches. Library catalog holdings will not be indexed on the open Web, so when searching there are several ways to help retrieve varied and specific results rather than using keywords.

Using index values is a great way to help develop a structured and specific search. Indexes are sections of records that are very specific, having certain standard values that identify certain characteristics of items they represent. The following values can be used to help refine or expand search results based on the index value of a part of the topic/item desired.

Values for Searching:

Boolean Operators

Boolean Operators are helpful tools to expand or refine multiple keywords in a search. When searching our catalog, it is recommended to capitalize the operators. The operators include:

  • AND - a connector between terms. This shows how many results contain each the desired terms, resulting in a small result list. ex: eagles AND condors AND California
  • OR - an expander of retrieved results. This will generate a list containing all results lumped together for each term searched. Ex. Diabetes OR cancer OR america.
  • NOT - a value that excludes any unwanted results from a desired result set. Ex. chemistry NOT inorganic

Useful Index Values

  • au: author search. Use last name, first when searching. Use = to search as a phrase Ex: au=Steinbeck, John. The colon searches individual keywords.
  • yr: year. Use to limit results for content published (or reprinted) within certain years. Ex. au=Steinbeck, John AND yr:1939
  • """" (quotation marks): phrase searching, differentiates keywords from phrases, will search groups of text as a whole. Ex. "The Grapes of Wrath" or "organic chemistry"
  • su: subject headings:  searches subjects found within records of records, not necessarily records of individual items. Ex. su:Migrant agricultural laborers Fiction.
  • * (asterisk) - this value is a "wildcard" marker to help find variations of words or phrases, especially if they are difficult or time consuming to spell. Ex. ti=On the revolutions of h* AND au:coper*
  • () (parentheses) - terms placed within parentheses help locate additional subsets of information within an overall specific search. Ex. ("native american" OR "american indian" OR Indian) AND "north america"  AND treaties
  • pb: publisher. Ex. pb:Oxford Uni*

The helpful thing about these indicators is that they can be used creatively or interchangeably in searches to provide a suitably broad or very specific set of results depending on the topic. It is up to the researcher to experiment with terms they come across (both popular and scholarly) in their studies to find the best strategy to get the most relevant results. Click here to find more indicators, indexes and values that could be of use when searching our catalog.

Resource Tutorials

In addition to our subject guides, we've created some web-based tutorials for specific resources. These tutorials are browser-based, allowing for self-pacing and active learning of content. Not restricted to library resources, they can be used by faculty for retention and comprehension of course information. Guides include:

  • Library Catalog searching tips and strategies
  • Searching Google scholar
  • Specific database familiarity
  • Using the EndNote citation manager
  • Accessing one's Library Account
  • Accessing library e-books

More tutorials are being developed to our platform, so check back frequently. Feel free to contact a librarian with any questions or comments.