Encyclopedia Britannica is the oldest general knowledge encyclopedia in the English language. Written by experts and carefully fact checked and edited, this is an authoritative reference resource. Also includes images, infographics and a dictionary. Subscription.
Professionally developed subject encyclopedia collection. Similar to Wikipedia yet with articles written by known subject experts.
Credo Reference is a multidisciplinary collection of subject encyclopedias and dictionaries. Developed with beginning researchers in mind, it includes resources to help develop search terms, as well as bibliographies that directly link to the library catalog. A strength is the robust quality of the articles written, while a weakness is that it is missing obscure topics. Subscription.
**Soon to be completely folded into JSTOR. The visual version of JSTOR, providing approximately 300,000 images. It includes architecture, painting, photography, sculpture, decorative arts and design, as well as archeological and anthropological objects, and visual and material culture more generally.
Broad collection of scholarly journals, magazines, and newspapers in most academic subjects. A great starting point for any topic!
Academic Search Elite encompasses a selection of academic disciplines, offering access to 1,329 active full-text journals, along with abstracted and indexed journals. Provided through Indiana State Library's INSPIRE program.
Full-text of core academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
JSTOR is a collection of scholarly journal articles in the humanities and social sciences. It's entire collection contains around 2,000 journals, although local access will vary. These are subscriptions, and chosen individually, so each collection will reflect the focus of the institution. The collection's strength lies in its complete back issues of journal titles, while a weakness is a "moving wall" limiting access to the most recent journal issues. Subscription.
Full-text of core academic journal articles, books, and primary sources in 75 disciplines.
JSTOR is a collection of scholarly journal articles in the humanities and social sciences. It's entire collection contains around 2,000 journals, although local access will vary. These are subscriptions, and chosen individually, so each collection will reflect the focus of the institution. The collection's strength lies in its complete back issues of journal titles, while a weakness is a "moving wall" limiting access to the most recent journal issues. Subscription.
Browse the titles for a journal related to your search. To search the journal, click any article title to go to the journal page, then find a journal-specific search bar and input your search terms.
Browse the titles for a journal related to your search. To search the journal, click any article title to go to the journal page, then find a journal-specific search bar and input your search terms.
Encyclopedia Britannica is the oldest general knowledge encyclopedia in the English language. Written by experts and carefully fact checked and edited, this is an authoritative reference resource. Also includes images, infographics and a dictionary. Subscription.
Professionally developed subject encyclopedia collection. Similar to Wikipedia yet with articles written by known subject experts.
Credo Reference is a multidisciplinary collection of subject encyclopedias and dictionaries. Developed with beginning researchers in mind, it includes resources to help develop search terms, as well as bibliographies that directly link to the library catalog. A strength is the robust quality of the articles written, while a weakness is that it is missing obscure topics. Subscription.
Other searching tools
LibKey Nomad Browser extension to helps you link back to library resources when searching elsewhere.
