LibGuides: Philosophy: Databases, Journals, Articles

Locating Journals

In order to find journals limited to the subject of philosophy, click the link below to retrieve a list directly from our library catalog.

Philosophy Journals - Library Catalog

For a journal title search, use our A-Z list to find access from select publishers.

Journals A-Z List Search

Also, use our Browzine platform to find journal subjects and associated titles, as well as use interlibrary loan for embargoed content.

Philosophy Titles - Browzine

Databases

Academic Search Complete This link opens in a new window
An electronic database indexing over 4,500 scholarly publications in all areas of study. Full-text access is available for more than 3,600 journals. Coverage spans from the first published issue of a journal to the present.
Academic Search Complete contains 18,000+ multidisciplinary titles indexed and abstracted (16,000+ are peer-reviewed) and 9,000+ full-text publications. Strength and weakness: very broad, so searchers are likely to find results, but may be overwhelmed by quantity. INSPIRE.

Biography Resource Center
An electronic database providing biographical information on over 200,000 individuals. Options include searching by gender, occupation, ethnicity and birth/death date.
Directory of Open Access Journals - Philosophy
The directory of Open Access Journals (DOAJ) is a database of journals freely available on the Web, in a wide variety of disciplines.

JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Full text access to scholarly journals in the social sciences and humanities. Coverage dates back to the first published issue of many publications, in some cases dating as far back as the 1800’s.
JSTOR is a collection of scholarly journal articles in the humanities and social sciences. It's entire collection contains around 2,000 journals, although local access will vary. These are subscriptions, and chosen individually, so each collection will reflect the focus of the institution. The collection's strength lies in its complete back issues of journal titles, while a weakness is a "moving wall" limiting access to the most recent journal issues. Subscription.

Philosopher's Index
Philosopher’s Index is a comprehensive bibliography of scholarly research in all areas of philosophy

Project Muse This link opens in a new window
Project Muse is an excellent resource for finding articles from publications in various concentrations in the liberal arts, particularly philosophy.
Project Muse is a collection of established and longstanding scholarly journals in literature and criticism, history, performing arts, cultural studies, education, philosophy and religion, political science, medicine and health, and gender studies. Strengths of this collection include its caliber of content with historical and the current holdings. Subscription.
Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy This link opens in a new window
The Standford Encyclopedia of Philosophy combines an online encyclopedia of philosophy with peer reviewed publication of original papers in philosophy.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

Looking for a book or article that is not in the library's collection? The library will attempt to get a copy for you.

The best way to request items is to search our catalog and click the Request button located on the item record. Item information fill automatically fill out the form so no manual entry is needed.

Once a request is made, users can monitor their request by logging into the My Account feature, and clicking Requests to check the item status.

See the Interlibrary Loan resource guide for policies and procedures.