Capillary Electrophoresis - Mass Spectrometry (CE-MS): Principles and Applications by
This monograph offers the reader a complete overview on both principles and applications of CE-MS. Starting with an introductory chapter on detection in CE, also related and more specialized techniques such as electrophoretic and chromatographic preconcentration are discussed. A special emphasis is put on CE-MS interfaces, which are described in detail. In a separate chapter, attention is paid to sheath-liquid interfacing. The developments and possibilities of microchip CE-MS are also described. Applications to all relevant areas are discussed in distinct chapters, each written by experts in the respective fields. Besides applications in pharmaceutical analysis and bioanalysis, recent implementations in food science, forensic analysis, analysis of intact proteins, metabolomics and proteomics are highlighted. MS is a perfectly appropriate detection system for CE, as efficient separation is coupled to sensitive and selection detection. Moreover, MS can provide structure information on the separated compounds. CE-MS has now been developed into a strong hyphenated system complementary to LC-MS. This monograph is an unique source of knowledge for everyone dealing with and interested in CE-MS.
Chemometric Methods in Capillary Electrophoresis by
Use chemometric techniques to develop optimum separation conditions for capillary electrophoreses For all its advantages, capillary electrophoresis (CE) also carries significant disadvantages for the researcher. Offering a unique blend of information from authors active in a variety of developments of chemometrics in CE, Chemometric Methods in Capillary Electrophoresis presents modern chemometric methods as an alternative to help alleviate the problems commonly encountered during routine analysis and method development. Focusing on current chemometric methods utilized in CE endeavours by research-active experts in the field, the book begins with a thorough introduction to CE and chemometric-related concepts and the need for modern chemometric methods in CE. Part 1 discusses differing types of screening designs and response surface methodology¿in an¿application based format Part 2 includes vital discussion on various exploratory data analysis, prediction, and classification techniques utilized in CE-related studies Part 3 provides practical information on modelling quantitative structure relationships Part 4 explores transformation techniques, in particular fundamental studies and applications of cross-correlation and Hadamard Transform Electrophoresis Showing how chemometric methods are applied in a wide array of applications including biological, medical, pharmaceutical, food, forensic, and environmental science, Chemometric Methods in Capillary Electrophoresis is not only highly significant to capillary electrophoresis-based endeavours, but instructive for investigators active in other areas of separation science who could benefit from its informative content.
Chromatographic Separations by
This new addition to the series introduces the reader to the techniques of chromatography. Enough of the underlying theory is explained to make the techniques understandable to the beginner. The text covers methods and practice which are common to all forms of chromatography. The first three sections give the underlying principles of chromatographic separation and discuss those factors which affect the quality of the results. The fourth section covers the use of chromatography in qualitative and quantitative analysis. The final section deals with the practical aspects of classical liquid chromatography. Contains many examples and problems.
Chromatography: Principles and Instrumentation by
Provides students and practitioners with a solid grounding in the theory of chromatography, important considerations in its application, and modern instrumentation. Highlights the primary variables that practitioners can manipulate, and how those variables influence chromatographic separations Includes multiple figures that illustrate the application of these methods to actual, complex chemical samples Problems are embedded throughout the chapters as well as at the end of each chapter so that students can check their understanding before continuing on to new sections Each section includes numerous headings and subheadings, making it easy for faculty and students to refer to and use the information within each chapter selectively The focused, concise nature makes it useful for a modular approach to analytical chemistry courses
Electrophoresis in Practice: a Guide to Methods and Applications of DNA and Protein Separations by
This fifth edition of the successful, long-selling classic has been completely revised and expanded, omitting some topics on obsolete DNA electrophoresis, but now with a completely new section on electrophoretic micro-methods and on-the-chip electrophoresis. The text is geared towards advanced students and professionals and contains extended background sections, protocols and a trouble-shooting section. It is now also backed by a supplementary website providing all the figures for teaching purposes, as well as a selection of animated figures tested in many workshops to explain the underlying principles of the different electrophoretic methods.
Gas Chromatography and Mass Spectrometry by
The second edition of Gas Chromatography and Mass Spectrometry: A Practical Guide follows the highly successful first edition by F.G. Kitson, B.S. Larsen, and C.N. McEwen (1996), which was designed as an indispensible resource for GC/MS practitioners regardless of whether they are a novice or well experienced. The Fundamentals section has been extensively reworked from the original edition to give more depth of an understanding of the techniques and science involved with GC/MS. Even with this expansion, the original brevity and simple didactic style has been retained. Information on chromatographic peak deconvolution has been added along with a more in-depth understanding of the use of mass spectral databases in the identification of unknowns. Since the last edition, a number of advances in GC inlet systems and sample introduction techniques have occurred, and they are included in the new edition. Other updates include a discussion on fast GC and options for combining GC detectors with mass spectrometry. The section regarding GC Conditions, Derivatization, and Mass Spectral Interpretation of Specific Compound Types has the same number of compound types as the original edition, but the information in each section has been expanded to not only explain some of the spectra but to also explain why certain fragmentations take place. The number of Appendices has been increased from 12 to 17. The Appendix on Atomic Masses and Isotope Abundances has been expanded to provide tools to aid in determination of elemental composition from isotope peak intensity ratios. An appendix with examples on "Steps to follow in the determination of elemental compositions based on isotope peak intensities" has been added. Appendices on whether to use GC/MS or LC/MS, third-party software for use in data analysis, list of information required in reporting GC/MS data, X+1 and X+2 peak relative intensities based on the number of atoms of carbon in an ion, and list of available EI mass spectral databases have been added. Others such as the ones on derivatization, isotope peak patterns for ions with Cl and/or Br, terms used in GC and in mass spectrometry, and tips on setting up, maintaining and troubleshooting a GC/MS system have all been expanded and updated. Covers the practical instruction necessary for successful operation of GC/MS equipment Reviews the latest advances in instrumentation, ionization methods, and quantitation Includes troubleshooting techniques and a variety of additional information useful for the GC/MS practitioner A true benchtop reference A guide to a basic understanding of the components of a Gas Chromatograph-Mass Spectrometer (GC-MS) Quick References to data interpretation Ready source for information on new analyses
Protein Purification: principles, high resolution methods, and applications by
The authoritative guide on protein purification--now completely updated and revised Since the Second Edition of Protein Purification was published in 1998, the sequencing of the human genome and other developments in bioscience have dramatically changed the landscape of protein research. This new edition addresses these developments, featuring a wealth of new topics and several chapters rewritten from scratch. Leading experts in the field cover all major biochemical separation methods for proteins in use today, providing professionals in biochemistry, organic chemistry, and analytical chemistry with quick access to the latest techniques. Entirely new or thoroughly revised content includes: High-resolution reversed-phase liquid chromatography Electrophoresis in gels Conventional isoelectric focusing in gel slabs and capillaries and immobilized pH gradients Affinity ligands from chemical and biological combinatorial libraries Membrane separations Refolding of inclusion body proteins from E. coli Purification of PEGylated proteins High throughput screening techniques in protein purification The history of protein chromatography
200 and More NMR Experiments: a practical course by
This work-book will guide you safely, in step-by-step descriptions, through every detail of the NMR experiments within, beginning with 1D routine experiments and ending with a series of advanced 3D experiments on a protein: · Which experiment can best yield the desired information? · How must the chosen experiment be performed? · How does one read the required information from the spectrum? · How does this particular pulse sequence work? · Which other experiments give similar information? This third edition of the book, following its two highly successful predecessors, has been revised and expanded to 206 experiments. They are organized in 15 chapters, covering test procedures and routine spectra, variable temperature measurements, the use of auxiliary reagents, 1D multipulse experiments, spectra of heteronuclides, and the application of selective pulses. The second and third dimensions are introduced using pulsed field gradients, and experiments on solid state materials are described. A key part describes 3D experiments on the protein ubiquitin with 76 amino acids. What is new in this third edition? 1. 24 new experiments have been inserted into the 14 chapters that were in the 2nd edition, e.g., alpha/beta-SELINCOR-TOCSY, WET, DOSY, ct-COSY, HMSC, HSQC with adiabatic pulses, HETLOC. J-resolved HMBC, (1,1)- and (1,n)-ADEQUATE, STD, REDOR, and HR-MAS. 2. 20 new protein NMR experiments have been specially devised and are collected in the newly added Chapter 15, ProteinNMR, for which one needs a special model sample: fully 13C- and 15N-labeled human ubiquitin. Techniques used include the constant time principle, the PEP method, filters, gradient selection, and the echo/anti-echo procedure. The guide has been written by experts in this field, following the principle of learning by doing: all the experiments have been specially performed for this book, exactly as described and shown in the spectra that are reproduced. Being a reference source and work-book for the NMR laboratory as well as a textbook, it is a must for every scientist working with NMR, as well as for students preparing for their laboratory courses
Atomic Absorption Spectrometry by
Atomic Absorption Spectroscopy (AAS) is a well-established elementalanalysis technology. It remains one of the most popular and cost-effectiveanalysis tools used by chemists, physicists, and materials scientists worldwide.This second edition offers a concise introduction to AAS concepts, essentialmethodologies, and important applications. It has been comprehensivelyupdated for the latest advances in AAS techniques and instruments.Highlights include:* Overviews of all basic atomic absorption concepts, including atomicline spectra theory, common sampling techniques, radiation sources,spectrometers, and detectors;* Coverage of hydride generation, cold vapor generation andelectrothermal generation, as well as flow injection analysis (FIA) toenhance AAS analytical performance;* New sections on troubleshooting and quality control guidelines,chemometrics, and emerging fields of applications, including analysisof nanoparticles; and* Selected examples of standards for chemical analysis.
Carbon-13 NMR Spectroscopy by
E. Breitmaier, W. Voelter Carbon-13 NMR Spectroscopy High-Resolution Methods and Applications in Organic Chemistry and Biochemistry Third, completely revised edition New techniques and increased use of computers have led to rapid development in 13C NMR spectroscopy with enhanced instrumental sensitivity and improved quality of the spectra. This necessitated a complete revision when the third edition of this successful monograph was prepared. The new methods described include those for multiplicity analysis and two-dimensional homo- or hetero-nuclear shift correlations. As in the second edition, the authors survey the large number of 13C NMR applications to organic molecules and natural products in a representative and systematic rather than an exhaustive way. New sections about coupling constants, organophosphorus and organometallic compounds as well as synthetic polymers have been added. The scope remains limited to high-resolution methods and molecular systems.
Essential Practical NMR for Organic Chemistry by
This book describes the use of NMR spectroscopy for dealing with problems of small organic molecule structural elucidation. It features a significant amount of vital chemical shift and coupling information but more importantly, it presents sound principles for the selection of the techniques relevant to the solving of particular types of problem, whilst stressing the importance of extracting the maximum available information from the simple 1-D proton experiment and of using this to plan subsequent experiments. Proton NMR is covered in detail, with a description of the fundamentals of the technique, the instrumentation and the data that it provides before going on to discuss optimal solvent selection and sample preparation. This is followed by a detailed study of each of the important classes of protons, breaking the spectrum up into regions (exchangeables, aromatics, heterocyclics, alkenes etc.). This is followed by consideration of the phenomena that we know can leave chemists struggling; chiral centres, restricted rotation, anisotropy, accidental equivalence, non-first-order spectra etc. Having explained the potential pitfalls that await the unwary, the book then goes on to devote chapters to the chemical techniques and the most useful instrumental ones that can be employed to combat them. A discussion is then presented on carbon-13 NMR, detailing its pros and cons and showing how it can be used in conjunction with proton NMR via the pivotal 2-D techniques (HSQC and HMBC) to yield vital structural information. Some of the more specialist techniques available are then discussed, i.e. flow NMR, solvent suppression, Magic Angle Spinning, etc. Other important nuclei are then discussed and useful data supplied. This is followed by a discussion of the neglected use of NMR as a tool for quantification and new techniques for this explained. The book then considers the safety aspects of NMR spectroscopy, reviewing NMR software for spectral prediction and data handling and concludes with a set of worked Q&As.
Glow Discharge Optical Emission Spectroscopy: a Practical Guide by
Glow discharge optical emission spectroscopy (GDOES) is an essential technique for the direct analysis of bulk solids, for elemental surface analysis and for the depth profiling of thin films and industrial coatings. The technique has shown rapid growth in numbers of instruments, in breadth of applications, in improved quantification in recent years and is now a recognised technique within the ISO, with two international standards. Glow Discharge Optical Emission Spectroscopy: A Practical Guide takes the reader on a journey through instrument operation, sample preparation, analysis, and reporting results. It follows two sets of samples through the whole process of analysis, brass samples for bulk analysis, and zinc-coated steel for depth profiling. Procedures are consistent with recent ISO standards and each step is loaded with hands-on tips and theoretical insight. The book also includes unique data tables on spectral interferences, molecular bands, self-absorption and relative sputtering rates. This book is designed for those using or managing GDOES instruments and for students interested in learning the technique from a hands-on perspective. It is also an invaluable aid to those considering the purchase of a GDOES instrument, or those using GDOES results, to understand in detail how the technique works and what is involved in maintaining the instrument and achieving high quality results.
A Guide to the Complete Interpretation of Infrared Spectral of Organic Structures by
The accurate interpretation of infrared spectra of organic structures is an extremely important tool for the analytical chemist. Using up-to-date source material, this volume presents a compilation of the infrared absorption regions of ninety of the most important organic molecular fragments. This highly practical guide introduces the reader to a straightforward technique for determining all the fundamental vibrations of a molecular fragment. The set of normal vibrations and the infrared absorption regions of ninety molecular fragments are then discussed and tabulated. The discussion of each fragment is accompanied by a large number of references. A Guide to the Complete Interpretation of Infrared Spectra of Organic Structures offers the analytical chemist the possibility of a more profound interpretation of infrared spectra. In addition, it assumes only a basic knowledge of infrared spectra, and so will prove very useful for non-specialists who use infrared spectroscopy in analysis.
Infrared Spectroscopy: fundamentals and applications by
Provides an introduction to those needing to use infrared spectroscopy for the first time, explaining the fundamental aspects of this technique, how to obtain a spectrum and how to analyse infrared data covering a wide range of applications. Includes instrumental and sampling techniques Covers biological and industrial applications Includes suitable questions and problems in each chapter to assist in the analysis and interpretation of representative infrared spectra Part of the ANTS (Analytical Techniques in the Sciences) Series.
Infrared Spectroscopy of Biomolecules by
Infrared Spectroscopy of Biomolecules Edited by Henry H. Mantsch and Dennis Chapman Dramatic new advances in the application of infrared spectroscopy to biomolecules and instrumentation are revolutionizing this branch of molecular spectroscopy. Infrared Spectroscopy of Biomolecules provides an up-to-date, detailed look at the different spectroscopic techniques now available and offers a framework for progression in the field, including the evolution of Fourier transform methods, the development of time-resolved techniques and difference spectroscopy, as well as new modulation methods. The book begins with a fundamental introduction to the theories behind both infrared spectroscopy and the Fourier transform method, which lays the groundwork for the instrumental and mathematical chapters that follow. Once the basics of the infrared methods are established, the proceeding chapters cover the application of infrared spectroscopy to proteins, lipids, enzymes, nucleic acids, carbohydrates, and biomembranes. Other chapters in this excellent reference include: Theoretical Analyses of the Amide I Infrared Bands of Globular Proteins Slow and Fast Infrared Kinetic Studies Fourier Transform Infrared Spectroscopy of Cell Surface Polysaccharides What Can Infrared Spectroscopy Tell Us About the Structure and Composition of Intact Bacterial Cells Biomedical Infrared Spectroscopy Editors Henry Mantsch and Dennis Chapman, leading experts in the field, conclude with an exciting look at much-anticipated future developments, including the use of caged compounds and studies of oxidation reduction systems within the IR spectrometer. A solid introduction to the basics with up-to-the-minute coverage of the latest developments in the field, Infrared Spectroscopy of Biomolecules is an indispensable reference tool for biochemists, biophysicists, and structural biologists alike.
Introduction to Experimental Infrared Spectroscopy: fundamentals and practical methods by
Infrared spectroscopy is generally understood to mean the science of spectra relating to infrared radiation, namely electromagnetic waves, in the wavelength region occurring intermediately between visible light and microwaves. Measurements of infrared spectra have been providing useful information, for a variety of scientific research and industrial studies, for over half a century; this is set to continue in the foreseeable future. Introduction to Experimental Infrared Spectroscopy is intended to be a handy guide for those who have no, or limited, experience in infrared spectroscopic measurements but are utilising infrared-related methods for their research or in practical applications. Written by leading researchers and experienced practitioners, this work consists of 22 chapters and presents the basic theory, methodology and practical measurement methods, including ATR, photoacoustic, IR imaging, NIR, 2D-COS, and VCD. The six Appendices will aid readers in understanding the concepts presented in the main text. Written in an easy-to-understand way this book is suitable for students, researchers and technicians working with infrared spectroscopy and related methods.
Mass Spectrometry : a textbook by
This book offers a balanced mixture of practice-oriented information and theoretical background as well as numerous references, clear illustrations, and useful data tables. Problems and solutions are accessible via a special website. This new edition has been completely revised and extended; it now includes three new chapters on tandem mass spectrometry, interfaces for sampling at atmospheric pressure, and inorganic mass spectrometry.
NMR Spectroscopy: basic principles, concepts, and applications in chemistry by
Nuclear magnetic resonance (NMR) spectroscopy is one of the most powerful and widely used techniques in chemical research for investigating structures and dynamics of molecules. Advanced methods can even be utilized for structure determinations of biopolymers, for example proteins or nucleic acids. NMR is also used in medicine for magnetic resonance imaging (MRI). The method is based on spectral lines of different atomic nuclei that are excited when a strong magnetic field and a radiofrequency transmitter are applied. The method is very sensitive to the features of molecular structure because also the neighboring atoms influence the signals from individual nuclei and this is important for determining the 3D-structure of molecules. This new edition of the popular classic has a clear style and a highly practical, mostly non-mathematical approach. Many examples are taken from organic and organometallic chemistry, making this book an invaluable guide to undergraduate and graduate students of organic chemistry, biochemistry, spectroscopy or physical chemistry, and to researchers using this well-established and extremely important technique. Problems and solutions are included.
Protein NMR Spectroscopy: practical techniques and applications by
Nuclear Magnetic Resonance (NMR) spectroscopy, a physical phenomenon based upon the magnetic properties of certain atomic nuclei, has found a wide range of applications in life sciences over recent decades. The dramatic advances in NMR techniques have led to corresponding advances in the ability of NMR to study structure, dynamics and interactions of biological macromolecules in solution under close to physiological conditions. This volume focuses on the use of NMR to study proteins. NMR can be used to determine detailed three-dimensional structures of proteins in solution. Furthermore, it provides information about conformational or chemical exchange, internal mobility and dynamics at timescales varying from pcoseconds to seconds. It is the primary technique used to obtain information on intrinsically disordered (unfolded) proteins, since these proteins will not crystallize easily. NMR is also a very powerful method for the study of interactions of protein with other molecules, whether small molecules (including drugs), nuclear acids or other proteins. This up-to-date volume covers NMR techiniques and their application to proteins, with a focus on practical details. This book will provide a newcomer to NMR with the practical guidance in order to carry out successful experiments with proteins and to analyze the resulting spectra. Those who are familiar with the chemical applications of NMR will also find is useful in understanding the special requirements of protien NMR.
Spectrochemical Analysis by Atomic Absorption and Emission by
This book describes both the theory of atomic spectroscopy and all the major atomic spectrometric techniques (AAS, Flame-AES, Plasma AES, AFS, and ICP-MS), including basic concepts, instrumentation and applications. Spectrochemical Analysis by Atomic Absorption and Emission is very wide in scope and will be extremely useful to both undergraduates and lecturers undertaking modern analytical chemistry courses. It contains many figures and tables which illuminate the text, covers various sample preparation methods and gives suggestions for further reading.