Chemical Reactions : basic theory and computing by Antonio Laganà, Gregory A ParkerThis graduate textbook, written by experienced lecturers, features the study and computation of efficient reactive processes. The text begins with the problem of determining the chemical reaction properties by first decomposing complex processes into their elementary components. Next, the problem of two colliding mass points is investigated and relationships between initial conditions and collision outcomes are discussed. The failure of classical approaches to match experimental information is discussed and a quantum formulation of the calculation of the properties of two colliding bodies is provided. The authors go onto describe how the formalism is extended to structured collision partners by discussing the methods used to compute the electronic structure of polyelectronic reactants and products and the formalism of atom diatom reactions. Additionally, the relationships between the features of the potential energy surface and the outcomes of the reactive dynamics, are discussed. Methods for computing quantum, classical, and semi-classical reactive probabilities based on the already discussed concepts and tools are also featured and the resulting main typical reactive behaviors are analyzed. Finally, the possibility of composing the computational tools and technologies needed to tackle more complex simulations as well as the various competences and distributed computing infrastructure needed for developing synergistic approaches to innovation are presented.
Call Number: Available as an ebook
Publication Date: 2018
The Chemist's Companion: a handbook of practical data, techniques and references by Arnold J. Gordon; Richard A. FordHere in one source is a wide variety of practical, everydayinformation often required by chemists but seldom found together,if at all, in the standard handbooks, data collections, manuals,and other usual sources. Discussing physical, chemical, andmechanical properties of substances and systems, the authors answersuch questions as: * How do I test for and destroy peroxides in different solventsand what is the best way to purify such solvents? * What are the structure, physical properties, and recentreferences to the use of common-name solvents and solvent aids suchas the "Skellysolves," "Cellosolves," "Crownanes," and"Glymes"? * What is the utility of a particular molecular sieve, orpermeation gel, or epoxy cement, or liquid crystal, and where do Ibuy them and find references to their application? The book is divided into nine chapters and covers properties ofatoms and molecules, spectroscopy, photochemistry, chromatography,kinetics and thermodynamics, various experimental techniques, andmathematical and numerical information, including the definitions,values, and usage rules of the newly adopted International Systemof Units (SI Units). A section on statistical treatment of datawhich provides an actual least-squares computer program is alsoincluded. In the spectroscopy chapter, very extensive andup-to-date collections of spectral correlation data are presentedfor ir, uv-vis, optical rotation, nmr, and mass spectra, along withdata on esr and nqr spectroscopy. Also included is a variety ofhard-to-classify but frequently sought information, such as namesand addresses of microanalysis companies and chemistry publishers,descriptions and commercial sources of atomic and molecular models,and safety data for hazardous chemicals. More than 500 keyreferences are also included, most of which are recent. There areimportant hints and definitions associated with the art as well asthe state of the art for the appropriate subjects. Also foundthroughout the book are about 250 suppliers and directions forobtaining special booklets or other material. Containing a wealth of useful information, The Chemist'sCompanion will be an indispensable guide for students andprofessional chemists in nearly all the chemical disciplines. Inaddition, it will provide for the teacher and student an unusualadjunct for use in a broad cross-section of chemistry courses.
Call Number: REF QD65 .G67
Publication Date: 1973-01-19
The Chemist's Ready Reference Handbook by Gershon J. Shugar; John A. DeanThe busy professional will welcome this collection of data, procedures, precautions, & troubleshooting hints for all important areas in the chemist's day-to-day work. This timely handbook differs from all others in the field by treating theory in the briefest of terms as needed background. Instead it covers the real-world questions & problems faced in the chemical laboratory. Profusely illustrated throughout, the handbook: describes a wide range of laboratory instruments & their use; details a variety of analytical procedures; highlights precautions & safety procedures; & provides practical checklists & trouble-shooting hints. Relevant material was derived from Shugar's Chemical Technicians' Ready Reference Handbook, Second Edition. A major portion is entirely new, however, & includes sections on chromatography, spectrophotometry, spectroscopy, electroanalytical methods, thermal methods, determination of physical properties, preliminary operation of analysis, volumetric analysis, & much, much more.
Call Number: REF QD65 .S58
Publication Date: 1989-09-01
Chemistry of the Elements by N.N. Greenwood; A. EarnshawThis innovative textbook presents a balanced, coherent and comprehensive account of the chemistry of the elements for both undergraduate and postgraduate students. This crucial central area of chemistry is full of ingenious experiments, intriguing compounds and exciting new discoveries. The book covers not only the "inorganic" chemistry of the elements, but also analytical, theoretical, industrial, organometallic, bio-inorganic and other areas of chemistry which apply. The authors have broken with recent tradition in the teaching of their subject and adopted a new approach based on descriptive chemistry. The chemistry of the elements is still discussed within the context of an underlying theoretical framework, giving cohesion and structure to the text, but at all times the chemical facts are emphasized. This is a book that students will not only value during their formal education, but will keep and refer to throughout their careers as chemists.
Call Number: REF QD466 .G73
Publication Date: 1984-01-01
Condensed Chemical Dictionary by Michael D. Larrañaga (Editor); Richard J. Lewis (Editor); Robert A. Lewis1471 new definitions, 5,236 revised or updated definitions, a new Chemical Abstract Number index, and an update of all trademarks Significant expansion of both chemical and biochemical terms including the addition of biochemical terms in the emerging fields in biology and biological engineering such as synthetic biology, highlighting the merging of the sciences of chemistry and biology Updates and expands the extensive data on chemicals, trade name products, and chemistry-related definitions Adds entries for notable chemists and Nobel Prize winners, equipment and devices, natural forms and minerals, named reactions, and chemical processes Update on toxicological profiles
A Dictionary of Chemistry by Richard Rennie (Editor); Jonathan Law (Editor)Fully revised and updated, the seventh edition of this popular dictionary is the ideal reference resource for students of chemistry, either at school or at university. With over 5000 entries--over 175 new to this edition--it covers all aspects of chemistry, from physical chemistry to biochemistry. The seventh edition boasts broader coverage in areas such as nuclear magnetic resonance, polymer chemistry,nanotechnology and graphene, and absolute configuration, increasing the dictionary's appeal to students in these fields. New diagrams have been added and existing diagrams updated to illustrate topics that wouldbenefit from a visual aid. There are also biographical entries on key figures, featured entries on major topics such as polymers and crystal defects, and a chronology charting the main discoveries in atomic theory, biochemistry, explosives, and plastics.
Call Number: Available as an ebook
Publication Date: 2016-03-21
The Elements : a very short introduction by Philip BallThis Very Short Introduction traces the history and cultural impact of the elements on humankind, and examines why people have long sought to identify the substances around them. Looking beyond the Periodic Table, the author takes the reader on an engaging and entertaining tour: from the Greek philosophers who propounded a system with four elements - earth, air, fire, and water - to the modern-day scientists who are able to create their own.
Macmillan Encyclopedia of Chemistry by J.J. LagowskiThis unique 4-vol. set offers readers a complete overview of the broad spectrum of general chemistry. It enables them to obtain a basic yet thorough understanding of matter, the processes it undergoes, the principles that govern it and scientists who have been critical in the development of the field. Ninety-five biographical articles deal with prominent chemists, while other articles provide additional historical context, particularly with respect to 18th, 19th and 20th-century developments.
Call Number: REF QD4 .M22
Publication Date: 1997-09-01
The Merck Index : an encyclopedia of chemicals, drugs, and biologicals by Maryadele J. O'Neil (Editor)The Merck Index is the definitive reference work for scientists and professionals looking for authoritative information on chemicals, drugs and biologicals. It has been the leading source of information on chemical compounds for generations of scientists and professionals, selling over one million copies since its publication in 1889. The Merck Index contains over 10,000 monographs with information relating to compounds of significance in research, commerce and environmental impact. The 15th edition, available from Royal Society of Chemistry publishing for the first time, is fully revised and updated and contains over 500 new monographs. Over 35% of the existing entries have been updated since the last edition, molecular weights have been recalculated with the latest IUPAC standards and there are revised periodic table and atomic weight tables. The Merck Index is an essential reference for all scholarly and professional chemists, biochemists, pharmacists and toxicologists and of interest to students, teachers, academic libraries, academic researchers, information professionals, solicitors, journalists and government agencies. *The name THE MERCK INDEX is owned by Merck Sharp & Dohme Corp., a subsidiary of Merck & Co., Inc., Whitehouse Station, N.J., U.S.A., and is licensed to The Royal Society of Chemistry for use in the U.S.A. and Canada. oxicologists and of interest to students, teachers, academic libraries, academic researchers, information professionals, solicitors, journalists and government agencies. *The name THE MERCK INDEX is owned by Merck Sharp & Dohme Corp., a subsidiary of Merck & Co., Inc., Whitehouse Station, N.J., U.S.A., and is licensed to The Royal Society of Chemistry for use in the U.S.A. and Canada.
Call Number: REF RS51 .M37
Publication Date: 2013-04-30
The Periodic Table: its story and significance by Eric R. ScerriThe periodic table is one of the most potent icons in science. It lies at the core of chemistry and embodies the most fundamental principles of the field. The one definitive text on the development of the periodic table by van Spronsen (1969), has been out of print for a considerable time. The present book provides a successor to van Spronsen, but goes further in giving an evaluation of the extent to which modern physics has, or has not, explained the periodic system. The book is written in a lively style to appeal to experts and interested lay-persons alike.The Periodic Table begins with an overview of the importance of the periodic table and of the elements and it examines the manner in which the term 'element' has been interpreted by chemists and philosophers. The book then turns to a systematic account of the early developments that led to the classification of the elements including the work of Lavoisier, Boyle and Dalton and Cannizzaro. The precursors to the periodic system, like Döbereiner and Gmelin, are discussed. In chapter 3 the discovery of the periodic system by six independent scientists is examined in detail.Two chapters are devoted to the discoveries of Mendeleev, the leading discoverer, including his predictions of new elements and his accommodation of already existing elements. Chapters 6 and 7 consider the impact of physics including the discoveries of radioactivity and isotopy and successive theories of the electron including Bohr's quantum theoretical approach. Chapter 8 discusses the response to the new physical theories by chemists such as Lewis and Bury who were able to draw on detailed chemical knowledge to correct some of the early electronic configurations published by Bohr and others.Chapter 9 provides a critical analysis of the extent to which modern quantum mechanics is, or is not, able to explain the periodic system from first principles. Finally, chapter 10 considers the way that the elements evolved following the Big Bang and in the interior of stars. The book closes with an examination of further chemical aspects including lesser known trends within the periodic system such as the knight's move relationship and secondary periodicity, as well at attempts to explain such trends.