Scholarly or peer-reviewed databases refer to the process of verifying accuracy, authority, and overall credibility of the article by a group of experts using various criteria including literature review, research methods used, data, conclusions and bibliographic sources cited.
Popular resources such as magazines, though they may be deemed professional, typically aren't academically oriented as peer-reviewed journals. Consequently, they do not contain the level of citations, bibliographic information or other criteria listed above verifying the level of accuracy of the article.
New York Times: Environment
In addition to searching the library catalog, the following is a list of databases providing full-text access to scholarly research in ecology.
An electronic database indexing over 4,500 scholarly publications in all areas of study. Full-text access is available for more than 3,600 journals.
Academic Search Complete contains 18,000+ multidisciplinary titles indexed and abstracted (16,000+ are peer-reviewed) and 9,000+ full-text publications. Strength and weakness: very broad, so searchers are likely to find results, but may be overwhelmed by quantity. INSPIRE.
A comprehensive directory of open access scientific and scholarly journals in academic disciplines using a scholarly quality control system to guarantee the content. Approximately 145 biology-related journals accessible.
GreenFILE is an EBSCO collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles including content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more.
The Earth, Atmospheric & Aquatic Science Database contains full-text titles from around the world, including scholarly journals, trade and industry journals, magazines, technical reports, conference proceedings, and government publications.
The Environmental Sciences Collection provides the most complete collection of resources available to support this multidisciplinary field. The collection combines specialist topic resources from disciplines such as engineering, biotechnology, bacteriology, atmospheric science, ecology and biology and features a diverse range of full-text sources including scientific journals, trade journals, new sources, conference proceedings, reports, monographs, books and government publications.
Full text access to scholarly journals in the social sciences, humanities and the sciences. Coverage dates back to the first published issue of many publications, in some cases dating as far back as the 1800’s.