LibGuides: Anthropology: Organizations, Online Resources and Citation

National Organizations

American Anthropology Association
Includes information on joining and participating in AAA activities. Publication information is included, media releases and a job forum. Student resources include a link to the National Association of Student Anthropologists (NASA).
American Sociological Assocation - Undergraduate Resources
Information for undergraduate students studying sociology, including information on graduate programs, honor societies and membership in the ASA.
National Association of Student Anthropologists
Includes information on membership, conference attendance for students, a guide to anthropology clubs, student awards and a listserv. This group serves undergraduate and graduate students, promoting the study and practice of anthropology.

Online Resources & Collections

Anthropological Papers of the American Museum of Natural History
Papers are searchable by title, author or publication date as well as keyword, and may be downloaded in PDF format at no charge. Future papers to be published simultaneously in print and online. Coverage is roughly 1907 - date.
Center for World Indigenous Studies
The Center for World Indigenous Studies (CWIS) is an independent, non-profit [U.S. 501(c)(3)] research and education organization dedicated to wider understanding and appreciation of the ideas and knowledge of indigenous peoples and the social, economic and political realities of indigenous nations.
Great Jobs for Anthropology Majors
Hearst Museum of Anthropology - Online Exhibits
The Phoebe A. Hearst Museum at the University of California - Berkley houses an extensive collection of anthropological objects. Check out the online collections, materials not on display to the public.
Maxwell Museum of Anthropology
The Maxwell Museum of Anthropology offers exhibits and programs relating to cultures around the world, with a special emphasis on the cultural heritage of the Southwest. Check out the virtual exhibits!
Resources in Ethnographic Studies
From the American Folklife Center, a research center of the Library of Congress
Sociocultural Theory in Anthropology
Resources for student and professional anthropologists interested in learning more about the discipline and its recent history. Maintained by Indiana University.
The Museum of Anthropology - UBC
The Museum of Anthropology at the University of British Columbia. The UBC museum has a world-reknown collection of First Nation artifacts, in particular a collection of totem poles

Style Guides

If you are not certain what style to use when preparing your assignments, check with your instructor. In general, scholarly works in anthropology are expected to follow either the Chicago Manual of Style or ASA (American Sociological Association) style.

In addition to these resources, take a look at our Library Resources LibGuides for general citation information, in various formats.

American Sociological Association Style Guide
REF HM569 .A53
Chicago Manual of Style (AAA preferred style)
REF LB2369 .C44
OWL - The Online Writing Lab at Purdue University
Quick Reference to AAA style requirements