LibGuides: Library Resources at Marian University: General Reference

General Reference Sources

General reference sources provide basic background information on a variety of subjects. These types of sources are ideal when beginning research, in particular if little is known about the research topic. Use the information you find in general reference sources to guide the research process toward more specific information.

Credo Reference
Online access to more than 300 reference works in a wide range of subjects. Credo provides authoritative reference information in an easily searchable format available 24/7.
Encyclopaedia Britannica - Academic Edition
Encyclopædia Britannica is a global educational publisher with products that promote knowledge and learning with timely, relevant, and trustworthy information and instructional sources.
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
Gale Virtual Reference Library
World History in Context
Provides historical information on individuals, events and movements. Includes full text articles, biographical sketches and chronologies.

Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford provides quality reference publishing, bringing together over 2 million entries, many of which are illustrated, into a single cross-searchable resource.
Oxford Reference is a collection of electronic encyclopedias and dictionaries published by Oxford University Press. Its strength comes from Oxford University Press reputation, but many of the results are very short entries. Subscription.

Oxford (OED) English Dictionary Online
Online access to the OED.