Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Authoritative Style Guides
Below is a list of standard style manuals and guides for manuscript preparation, source citation and bibliography preparation. If you have specific questions about formatting or writing style, stop by the Writing Center, located in the basement Clare Hall, or contact a librarian for assistance.
The Chicago Manual of Style by Technologies may change, but the need for clear and accurate communication never goes out of style. That is why for more than one hundred years The Chicago Manual of Style has remained the definitive guide for anyone who works with words. In the seven years since the previous edition debuted, we have seen an extraordinary evolution in the way we create and share knowledge. This seventeenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style has been prepared with an eye toward how we find, create, and cite information that readers are as likely to access from their pockets as from a bookshelf. It offers updated guidelines on electronic workflows and publication formats, tools for PDF annotation and citation management, web accessibility standards, and effective use of metadata, abstracts, and keywords. It recognizes the needs of those who are self-publishing or following open access or Creative Commons publishing models. The citation chapters reflect the ever-expanding universe of electronic sources--including social media posts and comments, private messages, and app content--and also offer updated guidelines on such issues as DOIs, time stamps, and e-book locators. Other improvements are independent of technological change. The chapter on grammar and usage includes an expanded glossary of problematic words and phrases and a new section on syntax as well as updated guidance on gender-neutral pronouns and bias-free language. Key sections on punctuation and basic citation style have been reorganized and clarified. To facilitate navigation, headings and paragraph titles have been revised and clarified throughout. And the bibliography has been updated and expanded to include the latest and best resources available. This edition continues to reflect expert insights gathered from Chicago's own staff and from an advisory board of publishing experts from across the profession. It also includes suggestions inspired by emails, calls, and even tweets from readers. No matter how much the means of communication change, The Chicago Manual of Style remains the ultimate resource for those who care about getting the details right.
Call Number: PN203 .C55 2010
Publication Date: 2017-09-05
Citing from Databases
Citations in varying formats can be found from our catalog and all of our databases to which we subscribe. Simply look for the icon mentioning 'citation' and the ability to format citations will be straightforward. Here are examples of the citation icons from different databases:
Though citation generation is a standard feature in most databases, its display, functionality and efficacy can vary between databases or vendors. Hence, when verifying accuracy of generated citations, users are encouraged to consult the authoritative style guides to ensure accurate citation creation.
Citing Sources from our Catalogs
Creating and/or exporting citations can be done through either the WorldCat Local catalog, or through that for Discovery. For the former, after performing a search, click the title and then the Cite/Export link toward the top of the options. Next, select the preferred citation style for copying/pasting into a document or click the Export to EndNote / Reference Manager option for importing into EndNote (either the client or web version).
For WorldCat Local
- In the title record, click the Cite/Export option.
Additionally, click the Export to EndNote / Reference Manager option if directly importing to EndNote.
For WorldCat Discovery
1. Click the Share button.
2. Click Cite Record.
3. Choose Cite With Endnote.
4. Import into client or web-based citation library.