Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
About Citation Styles
Style manuals and guides provide information on standard practices for manuscript preparation, source citation and bibliography preparation. Many academic disciplines use MLA as a standard style, but be aware that some courses might require a different style, such as APA, Chicago or Turabian. Chicago Style is used is literature, history, social sciences,and the arts.
In most cases, your professor will indicate which style to use for class assignments. If you have specific questions about formatting or writing style, stop by the Writing Center, located in the library.
Online Chicago Manual of Style Resource Guides
Sample Chicago Citations for a Works Cited Page
Schlosser, Eric. Fast Food Nation: The Dark Side of the All-American Meal. Boston: Houghton Mifflin, 2001.
Frumkin, Howard. "Climate Change: The Public Health Response." American Journal of Public Health 98, no. 3 (March 2008): 435-45.
OWL. Accessed March 3, 2014. https://owl.english.purdue.edu/owl/resource/551/1/.
Create Citations Using Word 2010
Did you know that you can create bibliographic citations using Microsoft Word?
Microsoft Word 2010 offers a bibliography tool built in! Go to the References tab at the top of your screen to enter your citations in a variety of formats, including Chicago, APA, and MLA.
More information and instructions from Microsoft
Chicago Manual of Style
The Chicago Manual of Style by Technologies may change, but the need for clear and accurate communication never goes out of style. That is why for more than one hundred years The Chicago Manual of Style has remained the definitive guide for anyone who works with words. In the seven years since the previous edition debuted, we have seen an extraordinary evolution in the way we create and share knowledge. This seventeenth edition of The Chicago Manual of Style has been prepared with an eye toward how we find, create, and cite information that readers are as likely to access from their pockets as from a bookshelf. It offers updated guidelines on electronic workflows and publication formats, tools for PDF annotation and citation management, web accessibility standards, and effective use of metadata, abstracts, and keywords. It recognizes the needs of those who are self-publishing or following open access or Creative Commons publishing models. The citation chapters reflect the ever-expanding universe of electronic sources--including social media posts and comments, private messages, and app content--and also offer updated guidelines on such issues as DOIs, time stamps, and e-book locators. Other improvements are independent of technological change. The chapter on grammar and usage includes an expanded glossary of problematic words and phrases and a new section on syntax as well as updated guidance on gender-neutral pronouns and bias-free language. Key sections on punctuation and basic citation style have been reorganized and clarified. To facilitate navigation, headings and paragraph titles have been revised and clarified throughout. And the bibliography has been updated and expanded to include the latest and best resources available. This edition continues to reflect expert insights gathered from Chicago's own staff and from an advisory board of publishing experts from across the profession. It also includes suggestions inspired by emails, calls, and even tweets from readers. No matter how much the means of communication change, The Chicago Manual of Style remains the ultimate resource for those who care about getting the details right.
Call Number: PN203 .C55 2017
Publication Date: 2017-09-05
Online Citation Tools
Online tools that will help you generate citations and entries for your bibliography in the appropriate style.
Please note: often there are subtle differences in standard bibliographical entries - always refer to the published style manual if you are uncertain or don't find the appropriate entry online.
Build your citations line by line
An online tool that generates entries for a Works Cited list. Supports MLA, and APA styles.
Zotero is a powerful, easy-to-use research tool that helps you gather, organize, and analyze sources and then share the results of your research.
Mendeley is a free reference manager and academic social network that can help you organize your research, collaborate with others online, and discover the latest research.