LibGuides: Kayle Gaviola Nursing Course: Nursing Research (These tabs can say whatever you want them to say)

Required Readings

Comfort Theory: A Unifying Framework to Enhance the Practice Environment.
Journal of Nursing Administration, 2012 Volume 36, Number 11, pp 538-544
Evidence-based practice: why does it matter?
ISNA Bulletin (ISNA BULL), Nov2012-Jan2013; 39(1): 6-10.
The Future of Nursing: Leading Change, Advancing Health
E-Book : Institute of Medicine. (2010).
Lag Time in Research to Practice [Monograph].
Applied Nursing Research, 21, 1, 2007
How to Read a Research Article
Hudson-Barr, D. (2004). Journal for Specialists in Pediatric Nursing, 9(2), 70-72
Why We Need Qualitative Research
Black, N. (1994). Journal of Epidemiology and Community Health, 48,425-426.
Searching for Evidence-Based Medicine in the Literature Part 2: Resources
Bartkowiak, B. (2005). Clinical Medicine & Research, 2(1), 39-40.

CINAHL Cumulative Index Nursing & Allied Health Literature (via Ebscohost) This link opens in a new window
Full text for nursing and allied health journals included in the CINAHL index covers biomedicine, health sciences, alternative medicine, and more
PubMed@Marian This link opens in a new window
A service of the National Library of Medicine, this database includes more than 22 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science/biomedical (including SOME nursing) articles dating to the 1950's. Some links to full text are included, along with related resources

Marian University Interlibrary Loan
Use the link above to request books and articles that Marian University doesn't own. Interlibrary loan service is offered at no charge to all current students, faculty, and staff.
PubMed for Nurses Tutorial
The following set of videos, designed specifically for nurses, provides an introduction to searching literature in PubMed

Google Scholar@Marian This link opens in a new window
Provides a search of scholarly literature across many disciplines and sources, including theses, books, abstracts and articles, w/direct links to Marian full text.

To link to Marian's electronic journal holdings, under settings (top left menu), click Library Links. Then, search for 'marian' and select the "Find it @ Marian University" option. Access will then be displayed in search result lists.

Integrative / Complementary Medicine Databases
Integrative / Complementary Medicine Databases
ClinicalTrials.gov
ClinicalTrials.gov is a Web-based resource that provides patients, their family members, health care professionals, researchers, and the public with easy access to information on publicly and privately supported clinical studies on a wide range of diseases and conditions
Predatory Publishers
Beall's List (Archived)
Beall's List by Publisher
This is a list of questionable, scholarly open-access publishers. We recommend that scholars read the available reviews, assessments and descriptions provided here, and then decide for themselves whether they want to submit articles, serve as editors or on editorial boards.
Beall's List by Journal Title
Quackwatch Questionable Journals
Quackwatch is an international network of people who are concerned about health-related frauds, myths, fads, fallacies, and misconduct. Its primary focus is on quackery-related information that is difficult or impossible to get elsewhere
Retraction Watch
Tracking retractions as a window into the scientific process.
DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals)

Email Me

Contact:

Chris Bishop, MLS
For Appt/Reference/Instruction/Help
Book a meeting, training, assistance w/Chris
Cbishop@marian.edu
Chris' Webex Room
Library 1st Floor, Back Office
M-F 8:30-5:00 p.m. or by appointment

317-955-6584

Subjects: Anatomy, APA Academic Writer, Biomedical Sciences, Clerkships, EndNote, Exercise Science, Library Resource Guides, Medicine, Nursing, Osteopathic (OMM)