LibGuides: HIS 348: History of the Catholic Church in the United States of America: Reference Sources

Online Reference

When searching for online references, be sure to try the encyclopedic database Credo Reference, or Encyclopedia Britannica. Limit your searches by subject, title, classification system, or material type.

Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Broad selection of books for reliable, brief entries on many subjects.
Oxford Reference is a collection of electronic encyclopedias and dictionaries published by Oxford University Press. Its strength comes from Oxford University Press reputation, but many of the results are very short entries. Subscription.

New Catholic Encyclopedia

New Catholic Encyclopedia by Catholic University of America Staff (Contribution by) The first edition of this reference work, called the Catholic Encyclopedia, was published around the turn of the 20th century, with the last revised edition appearing in 1967. This new edition includes the best of the previous entries - many completely revised and updated - as well as new entries, written by subject experts, covering the latest topics of interest. Many thousands of articles are biographical profiles of the people who make up the history of the Catholic Church.
ISBN: 9780787640040
Publication Date: 2002-09-13

2009 Supplement: Science and the Church
2010 Supplement
This supplement focuses on the Church in Modern History, particularly WWII and after. It also includes about 200 entries on the men and women who have been beatified or canonized since 2003.
2011 Supplement
This supplement covers the areas of art, music and literature. It includes articles written by specialists and scholars, bios of the beatified and canonized since 2010 as well as entries on other relevant current Catholic issues, events and topics, such as: Internet and the Church, Pope Benedict XVI, popular culture, sex abuse crisis, television and Catholicism, and women artists and Catholic art.
2013 Supplement
This supplement covers a wide range of topics including ethics, metaphysics, epistemology, logic, aesthetics, philosophy of literature, art, and music, political philosophy, and philosophy of law. It contains numerous articles of special interest to Catholic thought and culture covering such areas as the philosophical aspects of love, hope, wisdom, marriage, friendship, death, pain and suffering, the human person and the human soul, and the philosophy of God and religion.