Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Search our Resources
Welcome to the HIS 348 course guide. Use this guide for information on numerous resources related to the topics for this course, based on the tabs above. Search the library catalog below for books as well as full-text, electronic articles we have in our collection. For items in our special collection, use the following link to directly access titles contained within.
General Catalog Search
Special Collection Titles
American Catholics: a History by A sweeping history of American Catholicism from the arrival of the first Spanish missionaries to the present This comprehensive survey of Catholic history in what became the United States spans nearly five hundred years, from the arrival of the first Spanish missionaries to the present. Distinguished historian Leslie Tentler explores lay religious practice and the impact of clergy on Catholic life and culture as she seeks to answer the question, What did it mean to be a "good Catholic" at particular times and in particular places? In its focus on Catholics' participation in American politics and Catholic intellectual life, this book includes in‑depth discussions of Catholics, race, and the Civil War; Catholics and public life in the twentieth century; and Catholic education and intellectual life. Shedding light on topics of recent interest such as the role of Catholic women in parish and community life, Catholic reproductive ethics regarding birth control, and the Catholic church sex-abuse crisis, this engaging history provides an up-to-date account of the history of American Catholicism.
Call Number: Available as an ebook
Publication Date: 2020-04-21
Roman Catholicism in the United States: a Thematic History by Roman Catholicism in the United States: A Thematic History takes the reader beyond the traditional ways scholars have viewed and recounted the story of the Catholic Church in America. The collection covers unfamiliar topics such as anti-Catholicism, rural Catholicism, Latino Catholics, and issues related to the establishment of diplomatic relations between the Vatican and the U.S. government. The book continues with fascinating discussions on popular culture (film and literature), women religious, and the work of U.S. missionaries in other countries. The final section of the books is devoted to Catholic social teaching, tackling challenging and sometimes controversial subjects such as the relationship between African American Catholics and the Communist Party, Catholics in the civil rights movement, the abortion debate, issues of war and peace, and Vatican II and the American Catholic Church. Roman Catholicism in the United States examines the history of U.S. Catholicism from a variety of perspectives that transcend the familiar account of the immigrant, urban parish, which served as the focus for so many American Catholics during the nineteenth and first half of the twentieth centuries.
Call Number: Available as an ebook
Publication Date: 2019-02-05
For several of the items listed within this guide, we do not currently own a copy on our shelves. For these items that have the designation Available for request (place hold) and Interlibrary Loan users can click the Place Hold button for items within other PALNI libraries. Once clicked, sign in with your MU credentials, click submit, and the request has been placed. Once a requested item has been delivered to us, an automatic confirmation email will be sent. Try it out with our self-paced tutorial.
Doesn't this sound like Interlibrary Loan? Yes, it is similar but this service, called PALShare, is another way to get items delivered slightly faster than normal ILL. Here's a chart breaking down the difference between the two services.
My Library Account
To see due dates, renew, or check fines for items on one's library account, click the My Library Account link at the top right of the catalog and add your Marian University (webmail) credentials.
, English & Literature
, Fine Arts
, FYS 110 - First Year Seminar
, History & Social Sciences
, Library Resource Guides
, Sociology & Social Work
, Theater & Performing Arts