ECandM's Electrical Calculations Handbook by
Electricians and other electrical professional use calculations on the job and all day long. This McGraw-Hill Portable Handbook gives them a handy, one-stop resource for finding the calculations they need to increase profits, solve technical problems, and be NEC compliant. This handy guide brings together two of the most respected names in the electrical industry: McGraw-Hill and EC&M magazine.
Electrical Engineer's Reference Book by
For ease of use, this edition has been divided into the following subject sections: general principles; materials and processes; control, power electronics and drives; environment; power generation; transmission and distribution; power systems; sectors of electricity use. New chapters and major revisions include: industrial instrumentation; digital control systems; programmable controllers; electronic power conversion; environmental control; hazardous area technology; electromagnetic compatibility; alternative energy sources; alternating current generators; electromagnetic transients; power system planning; reactive power plant and FACTS controllers; electricity economics and trading; power quality. *An essential source of techniques, data and principles for all practising electrical engineers *Written by an international team of experts from engineering companies and universities *Includes a major new section on control systems, PLCs and microprocessors
Electrical Engineering: a pocket reference by
This essential reference offers you a well-organized resource for accessing the basic electrical engineering knowledge you need for your work. Whether you're an experienced engineer who appreciates an occasional refresher in key areas, or a student preparing to enter the field, Electrical Engineering: A Pocket Reference provides quick and easy access to fundamental principles and their applications. You also find an extensive collection of time-saving equations that help simplify your daily projects.
The Electrical Engineering Handbook by
The Electrical Engineer's Handbook is an invaluable reference source for all practicing electrical engineers and students. Encompassing 79 chapters, this book is intended to enlighten and refresh knowledge of the practicing engineer or to help educate engineering students. This text will most likely be the engineer's first choice in looking for a solution; extensive, complete references to other sources are provided throughout. No other book has the breadth and depth of coverage available here. This is a must-have for all practitioners and students! The Electrical Engineer's Handbook provides the most up-to-date information in: Circuits and Networks, Electric Power Systems, Electronics, Computer-Aided Design and Optimization, VLSI Systems, Signal Processing, Digital Systems and Computer Engineering, Digital Communication and Communication Networks, Electromagnetics and Control and Systems. About the Editor-in-Chief. Wai-Kai Chen is Professor and Head Emeritus of the Department of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at the University of Illinois at Chicago. He has extensive experience in education and industry and is very active professionally in the fields of circuits and systems. He was Editor-in-Chief of the IEEE Transactions on Circuits and Systems, Series I and II, President of the IEEE Circuits and Systems Society and is the Founding Editor and Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Circuits, Systems and Computers. He is the recipient of the Golden Jubilee Medal, the Education Award, and the Meritorious Service Award from the IEEE Circuits and Systems Society, and the Third Millennium Medal from the IEEE. Professor Chen is a fellow of the IEEE and the American Association for the Advancement of Science. * 77 chapters encompass the entire field of electrical engineering. * THOUSANDS of valuable figures, tables, formulas, and definitions. * Extensive bibliographic references.
Fundamentals of Electrical Engineering I by
The course focuses on the creation, manipulation, transmission, and reception of information by electronic means. Elementary signal theory; time- and frequency-domain analysis; Sampling Theorem. Digital information theory; digital transmission of analog signals; error-correcting codes.
Newnes Electrical Power Engineer's Handbook by
The second edition of this popular engineering reference book, previously titles Newnes Electrical Engineer's Handbook, provides a basic understanding of the underlying theory and operation of the major classes of electrical equipment. With coverage including the key principles of electrical engineering and the design and operation of electrical equipment, the book uses clear descriptions and logical presentation of data to explain electrical power and its applications. Each chapter is written by leading professionals and academics, and many sections conclude with a summary of key standards. The new edition is updated in line with recent advances in EMC, power quality and the structure and operation of power systems, making Newnes Electrical Power Engineer's Handbook an invaluable guide for today's electrical power engineer. #65533; A unique, concise reference book with contributions from eminent professionals in the field #65533; Provides straightforward and practical explanations, plus key information needed by engineers on a day-to-day basis #65533; Includes a summary of key standards at the end of each chapter
Practical Electrical Engineering by
This textbook provides comprehensive, in-depth coverage of the fundamental concepts of electrical engineering. It is written from an engineering perspective, with special emphasis on circuit functionality and applications. Reliance on higher-level mathematics and physics, or theoretical proofs has been intentionally limited in order to prioritize the practical aspects of electrical engineering. This text is therefore suitable for a number of introductory circuit courses for other majors such as mechanical, biomedical, aerospace, civil, architecture, petroleum, and industrial engineering. The authors' primary goal is to teach the aspiring engineering student all fundamental tools needed to understand, analyze and design a wide range of practical circuits and systems. Their secondary goal is to provide a comprehensive reference, for both major and non-major students as well as practicing engineers.
Advanced Computational Approaches to Biomedical Engineering by
There has been rapid growth in biomedical engineering in recent decades, given advancements in medical imaging and physiological modelling and sensing systems, coupled with immense growth in computational and network technology, analytic approaches, visualization and virtual-reality, man-machine interaction and automation. Biomedical engineering involves applying engineering principles to the medical and biological sciences and it comprises several topics including biomedicine, medical imaging, physiological modelling and sensing, instrumentation, real-time systems, automation and control, signal processing, image reconstruction, processing and analysis, pattern recognition, and biomechanics. It holds great promise for the diagnosis and treatment of complex medical conditions, in particular, as we can now target direct clinical applications, research and development in biomedical engineering is helping us to develop innovative implants and prosthetics, create new medical imaging technologies and improve tools and techniques for the detection, prevention and treatment of diseases. The contributing authors in this edited book present representative surveys of advances in their respective fields, focusing in particular on techniques for the analysis of complex biomedical data. The book will be a useful reference for graduate students, researchers and industrial practitioners in computer science, biomedical engineering, and computational and molecular biology.
Biomedical Engineering: Frontier Research and Converging Technologies by
This book provides readers with an integrative overview of the latest research and developments in the broad field of biomedical engineering. Each of the chapters offers a timely review written by leading biomedical engineers and aims at showing how the convergence of scientific and engineering fields with medicine has created a new basis for practically solving problems concerning human health, wellbeing and disease. While some of the latest frontiers of biomedicine, such as neuroscience and regenerative medicine, are becoming increasingly dependent on new ideas and tools from other disciplines, the paradigm shift caused by technological innovations in the fields of information science, nanotechnology, and robotics is opening new opportunities in healthcare, besides dramatically changing the ways we actually practice science. At the same time, a new generation of engineers, fluent in many different scientific "languages," is creating entirely new fields of research that approach the "old" questions from a new and holistic angle. The book reports on the scientific revolutions in the field of biomedicine by describing the latest technologies and findings developed at the interface between science and engineering. It addresses students, fellows, and faculty and industry investigators searching for new challenges in the broad biomedical engineering fields.
Engineering Materials for Biomedical Applications by
The success of any implant or medical device depends very much on thebiomaterial used. Synthetic materials (such as metals, polymers andcomposites) have made significant contributions to many establishedmedical devices. The aim of this book is to provide a basicunderstanding on the engineering and processing aspects ofbiomaterials used in medical applications.
Fundamentals of Biomedical Engineering by
A well set out textbook explains the fundamentals of biomedical engineering in the areas of biomechanics, biofluid flow, biomaterials, bioinstrumentation and use of computing in biomedical engineering. All these subjects form a basic part of an engineer's education. The text is admirably suited to meet the needs of the students of mechanical engineering, opting for the elective of Biomedical Engineering. Coverage of bioinstrumentation, biomaterials and computing for biomedical engineers can meet the needs of the students of Electronic & Communication, Electronic & Instrumentation, Information Technology and Biotech Engineering. The book presents succinct coverage of the theory, definitions, formula and examples and is well supported by plenty of clear-cut diagrams and worked problems in order to make the underlying principles easily comprehensible. Key Features: Presents an introduction to basic biomedical engineering topics required by all engineering students in their studies Explains origin and simple rules to understand medical terminology Describes human joints and joint movements possible in various planes Presents methods to obtain various measurements from a human body Describes devices for prostheses and ortheses At the end of chapter objective type questions help students reinforce their conceptual understanding of the subject. Contents: Introduction Concepts of Physics, Mechanics and Fluid Mechanics Biomedical Engineering Biomechanics of Bone Biomechanics of Soft Tissues Skeletal Joints Mechanics of the Spinal Column Mechanics of Upper Limbs Machanics of Lower Limbs The Cardio vascular System and Blood Flow The Respiratory System The Function of the Kidney and Blood Flow Prostheses and Therapeutic Devices Orthosis Metallic Biomaterials Polymeric Biomaterials Bioceramics Composite Biomaterials Biogradable Polymeric Biomaterials Orthopedic Prostheses Fixation Physiological Singale & Transducers Signal Processing Digital Image Acquisition And Processing Radiography Computed Tomography Magnetic Resonance Imaging Ultrasound Imaging Radioisotopes and Radio Therapy Nuclear Medicine Healthcare Information & Communication Biotelemetry Applications of Computer in Medicine Telemedicine Database Design, Topologies & Network Security.
Numerical Methods in Biomedical Engineering by
Numerical Modeling in Biomedical Engineering brings together the integrative set of computational problem solving tools important to biomedical engineers. Through the use of comprehensive homework exercises, relevant examples and extensive case studies, this book integrates principles and techniques of numerical analysis. Covering biomechanical phenomena and physiologic, cell and molecular systems, this is an essential tool for students and all those studying biomedical transport, biomedical thermodynamics & kinetics and biomechanics. Supported by Whitaker Foundation Teaching Materials Program; ABET-oriented pedagogical layout Extensive hands-on homework exercises
Principles of Biomedical Engineering by
Describing the role of engineering in medicine today, this comprehensive volume covers a wide range of the most important topics in this burgeoning field. Supported with over 145 illustrations, the book discusses bioelectrical systems, mechanical analysis of biological tissues and organs, biomaterial selection, compartmental modeling, and biomedical instrumentation. Moreover, you find a thorough treatment of the concept of using living cells in various therapeutics and diagnostics. Structured as a complete text for students with some engineering background, the book also makes a valuable reference for professionals new to the bioengineering field. This authoritative textbook features numerous exercises and problems in each chapter to help ensure a solid understanding of the material.
A dictionary of construction, surveying, and civil engineering by
In over 8000 entries, this dictionary covers the key areas of construction and civil engineering, construction technology and practice, construction management techniques and processes, as well as legal aspects such as contracts and procurement.-- Provided by publisher.
Don't Throw This Away!: the civil engineering life by
If you keep your ties for so long, they start to curl up... If you think the Firth of Forth Rail Bridge is a dream vacation destination... If you evaluate infrastructure for your daughter's hamsters... If you one-up your techno-nerd neighbor by offering to network his toilets... ...you must meet Brian Brenner, a civil engineer's civil engineer. In Don't Throw This Away The Civil Engineering Life, Brenner reports on what it's like to be a civil engineer in the 21st century: the mindset, the practice, the profession. Equally skilled as a writer and an engineer, Brenner ranges from serious discussions of suburban sprawl, technology run amok, and bridge aesthetics, to comical accounts of packrat habits, quacking moments, and engineering fashion. This entertaining collection of essays displays Brenner's distinctive combination of quirky humor and engineering right stuff. Product Reviews ...Brenner's honest, assured voice, brainiac populism and bite-sized essays make this a quirky, addictive winner that should bring out the 'inner civil engineer' in a wide cross-section of readers. --Publisher's Weekly This unique collection of essays will make anyone chuckle as the author lampoons engineers regarding pack-rat-ism, bad clothing sense, pocket-protectors, and Dilbert-esque lifestyles. --Multidisciplinary Center for Earthquake Engineering Research (MCEER) ...engaging, occasionally thought-provoking, and more than a little amusing. --Civil Engineering This civil engineer's surprisingly pithy meditations...will delight even those who don't consider a trip to Scotland's Forth Rail Bridge the ideal vacation. --Tufts Magazine About the Author Brian Brenner, P.E., is a senior principal engineer with Fay Spofford & Thorndike in Burlington, Massachusetts, working on several bridge projects in Massachusetts, New Hampshire, Connecticut, and New York. He is also an adjunct professor at Tufts University and teaches classes in concrete design, bridge analysis and design, and introduction to engineering. He has published more than 70 papers and articles on structural analysis and design, design for construction mitigation, engineering education, computer-aided design, and other topics. Mr. Brenner received the Boston Society of Civil Engineers President's Award in 2000, the Clemens Herschel Award in 2001, and the Richard R. Torrens Award from ASCE in 2005.
Failure Case Studies: Steel structures by
Prepared by the Education Committee of the Forensic Engineering Division of the American Society of Civil Engineers Failure Case Studies: Steel Structures, provides case studies of failures observed in steel structures between 1970 and 2013. Designed to promote learning from failures by disseminating information regarding previous failure cases, each case study is comprised of a summary description of a documented civil engineering failure followed by lessons learned from the failure and references for further study. Case studies include West Gate bridge collapse University of Washington stadium collapse Damage to steel moment resisting frames during the Northridge Earthquake Colorado State Route 470 overpass collapse Pittsburgh Convention Center expansion joint failure I-35W bridge collapse Elliot Lake Algo mall collapse; and Skagit River Bridge collapse. This book supplies a summary of the published findings from eight steel structure failure investigations and a valuable collection of references that can be used by civil engineering students and practicing engineers to improve their failure literacy. Engineering professors and students can use these case studies as the basis for class discussions, a starting point for further research, and a reminder that learning from past failures can avoid similar failures in the future and lead to improved engineering practices. Practicing engineers can use the book as a continuing education resource to improve their practice and to avoid similar failures.
Guidelines for Failure Investigation by
Prepared by the Committee on Forensic Investigation of the Forensic Engineering Division of ASCE Forensic engineering involves a wide range of services, from the investigation of failures and performance problems to participation in the legal proceedings that often follow. The planning and implementation of a successful investigation involves a series of interrelated tasks and steps that need to be carried out by the forensic engineer and an interdisciplinary investigation team. Guidelines for Failure Investigation, Second Edition, outlines five fundamental steps in a failure investigation and will assist forensic engineers in tailoring their investigations to their particular failure scenarios. This book emphasizes failures and investigations related to structural and geotechnical systems, building envelopes, and construction practices; however, the investigative process outlined may also be appropriate for conducting other types of failure investigations. Topics include: Investigation planning and coordination, Data collection, Development of testing protocol, Data analysis and interpretation, and Presentation of opinions and conclusions. This technical report will be valuable to practicing engineers and students needing an introduction to the investigative process. It also serves as a reference guide for veteran investigators.
Minimum design loads and associated criteria for buildings and other structures : provisions. by 
Structures, or, Why things don't fall down by
In a book that Business Insider noted as one of the "14 Books that inspired Elon Musk," J.E. Gordon strips engineering of its confusing technical terms, communicating its founding principles in accessible, witty prose. For anyone who has ever wondered why suspension bridges don't collapse under eight lanes of traffic, how dams hold back--or give way under--thousands of gallons of water, or what principles guide the design of a skyscraper, a bias-cut dress, or a kangaroo, this book will ease your anxiety and answer your questions. Structures: Or Why Things Don't Fall Down is an informal explanation of the basic forces that hold together the ordinary and essential things of this world--from buildings and bodies to flying aircraft and eggshells. In a style that combines wit, a masterful command of his subject, and an encyclopedic range of reference, Gordon includes such chapters as "How to Design a Worm" and "The Advantage of Being a Beam," offering humorous insights in human and natural creation. Architects and engineers will appreciate the clear and cogent explanations of the concepts of stress, shear, torsion, fracture, and compression. If you're building a house, a sailboat, or a catapult, here is a handy tool for understanding the mechanics of joinery, floors, ceilings, hulls, masts--or flying buttresses. Without jargon or oversimplification, Structures opens up the marvels of technology to anyone interested in the foundations of our everyday lives.
A Brief History of Mechanical Engineering by
What is mechanical engineering? What a mechanical engineering does? How did the mechanical engineering change through ages? What is the future of mechanical engineering? This book answers these questions in a lucid manner. It also provides a brief chronological history of landmark events and answers questions such as: When was steam engine invented? Where was first CNC machine developed? When did the era of additive manufacturing start? When did the marriage of mechanical and electronics give birth to discipline of mechatronics? This book informs and create interest on mechanical engineering in the general public and particular in students. It also helps to sensitize the engineering fraternity about the historical aspects of engineering. At the same time, it provides a common sense knowledge of mechanical engineering in a handy manner.
Essays on the History of Mechanical Engineering by
This book treats several subjects from the History of Mechanism and Machine Science, and also contains an illustrative presentation of the Museum of Engines and Mechanisms of the University of Palermo, Italy, which houses a collection of various pieces of machinery from the last 150 years. The various sections deal with some eminent scientists of the past, with the history of industrial installations, machinery and transport, with the human inventiveness for mechanical and scientific devices, and with robots and human-driven automata. All chapters have been written by experts in their fields. The volume shows a wide-ranging panorama on the historical progress of scientific and technical knowledge in the past centuries. It will stimulate new research and ideas for those involved in the history of Science and Technology.
Handbook of Mechanical Engineering Terms by
About the Book: The Handbook of Mechanical Engineering terms contains short, precise definitions of about four thousand terms. These terms have been collected from different sources, edited and grouped under twenty six parts and given alphabetically under
Landmarks in Mechanical Engineering by
The book describes, and where possible illustrates, historic mechanical engineering landmarks, representing the accomplishments of mechanical engineers over the past 250 years-from the steam engine of Thomas Newcomen (1712), which launched the Industrial Revolution, to the Saturn V rocket (1967). Some of them are recognizable to us all, such as Xerography, Sikorsky's helicopter, and Disneyland's monorail. Others work behind the scenes or have been superseded, such as the Owens AR bottle machine and the Jackson Ferry Shot Tower. The landmarks are grouped into such categories as mechanical power production, power transmission, minerals extraction and refining, food processing, environmental control, transportation, biomedical engineering, and communications and data processing. Each section is introduced by an essay that helps place each landmark into the context of technical and general history. While some of these landmarks have not survived intact, others can be visited, and travel information is provided. The machines that shape our society help educate us about an important facet of human history and how technology has influenced it. ASME International's landmarks program identifies and recognizes artifacts of significance before they disappear. This roster of landmarks tells a magnificent story of people and places and of innovation and discovery.
Mechanical Design Engineering Handbook by
Mechanical Design Engineering Handbook is a straight-talking and forward-thinking reference covering the design, specification, selection, use and integration of machine elements fundamental to a wide range of engineering applications. Develop or refresh your mechanical design skills in the areas of bearings, shafts, gears, seals, belts and chains, clutches and brakes, springs, fasteners, pneumatics and hydraulics, amongst other core mechanical elements, and dip in for principles, data and calculations as needed to inform and evaluate your on-the-job decisions. Covering the full spectrum of common mechanical and machine components that act as building blocks in the design of mechanical devices, Mechanical Design Engineering Handbook also includes worked design scenarios and essential background on design methodology to help you get started with a problem and repeat selection processes with successful results time and time again. This practical handbook will make an ideal shelf reference for those working in mechanical design across a variety of industries and a valuable learning resource for advanced students undertaking engineering design modules and projects as part of broader mechanical, aerospace, automotive and manufacturing programs. Clear, concise text explains key component technology, with step-by-step procedures, fully worked design scenarios, component images and cross-sectional line drawings all incorporated for ease of understanding Provides essential data, equations and interactive ancillaries, including calculation spreadsheets, to inform decision making, design evaluation and incorporation of components into overall designs Design procedures and methods covered include references to national and international standards where appropriate
Mechanical Engineer's Handbook by
The Mechanical Engineer's Handbook was developed and written specifically to fill a need for mechanical engineers and mechanical engineering students. With over 1000 pages, 550 illustrations, and 26 tables the Mechanical Engineer's Handbook is comprehensive, compact and durable. The Handbook covers major areas of mechanical engineering with succinct coverage of the definitions, formulas, examples, theory, proofs, and explanations of all principle subject areas. The Handbook is an essential, practical companion for all mechanical engineering students with core coverage of nearly all relevant courses included. Also, anyone preparing for the engineering licensing examinations will find this handbook to be an invaluable aid. Useful analytical techniques provide the student and practicing engineer with powerful tools for mechanical design. This book is designed to be a portable reference with a depth of coverage not found in "pocketbooks" of formulas and definitions and without the verbosity, high price, and excessive size of the huge encyclopedic handbooks. If an engineer needs a quick reference for a wide array of information, yet does not have a full library of textbooks or does not want to spend the extra time and effort necessary to search and carry a six pound handbook, this book is for them. * Covers all major areas of mechanical engineering with succinct coverage of the definitions, formulae, examples, theory, proofs and explanations of all principle subject areas * Boasts over 1000 pages, 550 illustrations, and 26 tables * Is comprehensive, yet affordable, compact, and durable with strong 'flexible' binding * Possesses a true handbook 'feel' in size and design with a full colour cover, thumb index, cross-references and useful printed endpapers
Mechanical Engineering Principles by
In this book John Bird and Carl Ross introduce mechanical principles and technology through examples and applications - enabling students to develop a sound understanding of the principles needed by professional engineers and technicians. No previous background in engineering is assumed and theoretical concepts are supported by over 600 problems and worked examples. This completely new text is designed to match a wide range of pre-degree courses, and provide an accessible introduction for undergraduates with no previous background in engineering studies. The authors have ensured syllabus-match for the leading UK courses at this level: AVCE optional units Mechanical Engineering Principles and Further Mechanical Engineering Principles, and the new BTEC National unit: Mechanical Principles. A student-friendly introduction to core engineering topics which does not assume any background in engineering studies A brand new text matched to the latest syllabus requirements Includes over 600 problems and 400 worked examples
Modern Mechanical Engineering by
This book covers modern subjects of mechanical engineering such as nanomechanics and nanotechnology, mechatronics and robotics, computational mechanics, biomechanics, alternative energies, sustainability as well as all aspects related with mechanical engineering education. The chapters help enhance the understanding of both the fundamentals of mechanical engineering and its application to the solution of problems in modern industry. This book is suitable for students, both in final undergraduate mechanical engineering courses or at the graduate level. It also serves as a useful reference for academics, mechanical engineering researchers, mechanical, materials and manufacturing engineers, professionals in related with mechanical engineering.
Newnes Mechanical Engineer's Pocket Book by
The Newnes Mechanical Engineer's Pocket Book is a comprehensive collection of data for mechanical engineers and students of mechanical engineering. Bringing together the data and information that is required to-hand when designing, making or repairing mechanical devices and systems, it has been revised to keep pace with changes in technology and standards. The Pocket Book emphasizes current engineering practice and is supported by clear accounts of the fundamental principles of mechanical engineering. Key features include the latest BSI engineering data; focus on engineering design issues; enhanced coverage of roller chain drives, pneumatic and hydraulic systems; and expanded and more accessible detail on statics, dynamics and mathematics. * Over 300 pages of new material, including the latest standards information from BSI * Exhaustive collection of data for mechanical engineers and students of mechanical engineering * Unique emphasis on engineering design, theory, materials and properties
Chemical, Biochemical, and Engineering Thermodynamics by 
Chemical Engineering the Essential Reference by
Featuring a pragmatic, applied perspective, this concise handbook thoroughly covers chemical engineering principles and applications "Chemical Engineering: The Essential Reference" delivers the key content covered in the renowned "Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook" in a convenient format with expanded coverage of new topics, including nanotechnology, legal considerations, OM&I, and purchasing equipment. This handbook teaches the practical skills needed to solve chemical engineering problems. It serves as a training tool for those in academia and industry involved with chemical engineering applications. Unlike the many texts that emphasize theory and theoretical derivations, this book presents the subject of chemical engineering from a strictly pragmatic standpoint.Each of the 30 chapters serves a unique purpose within a particular chemical engineering subjectWritten by a section editor for "Perry's Chemical Engineers' Handbook"Covers topics of importance to today's chemical engineers--nanotechnology, operation, maintenance and inspection (OMI) procedures, how to purchase equipment, legal considerations, the need for a second language, oral and written communication, and moreShows how to apply basic chemical engineering concepts to real-world problem-solvingOverview of topics related to ABET (Accreditation Board for Engineering and Technology) for practicing engineers
A Dictionary of Chemical Engineering by
A Dictionary of Chemical Engineering is one of the latest additions to the market leading Oxford Paperback Reference series. In over 3,400 concise and authoritative A to Z entries, it provides definitions and explanations for chemical engineering terms in areas including: materials, energy balances, reactions, separations, sustainability, safety, and ethics. Naturally, the dictionary also covers many pertinent terms from the fields of chemistry, physics, biology, andmathematics.Useful entry-level web links are listed and regularly updated on a dedicated companion website to expand the coverage of the dictionary. Comprehensively cross-referenced and complemented by over 60 line drawings, this excellent new volume is the most authoritative dictionary of its kind. It is an essential reference source for students of chemical engineering, for professionals in this field (as well as related disciplines such as applied chemistry, chemical technology, and processengineering), and for anyone with an interest in the subject.
Green Chemistry and Chemical Engineering by
This expanded, revised, and updated second edition of Innovations in Green Chemistry and Green Engineering provides a comprehensive introduction to the state-of-the-art in this key area of sustainability research. Processes that meet the objectives of green chemistry and chemical engineering minimize waste and energy use, and eliminate toxic by-products. Given the ubiquitous nature of products from chemical processes in our lives, green chemistry and chemical engineering are vital components of any sustainable future. Peer-reviewed articles from worldwide experts present the latest developments on topics ranging from organic batteries and green catalytic transformations to green nanoscience and nanotoxicology. Now under the leadership of distinguished Editors from the Chinese Academy of Sciences, this volume in the Encyclopedia of Sustainability Science and Technology, Second Edition, is an essential, one-stop reference for professionals in research and industry. The book also fills the need for an authoritative course text in environmental and green chemistry and chemical engineering at the upper-division undergraduate and graduate levels.
Guidelines for Integrating Process Safety into Engineering Projects by
There is much industry guidance on implementing engineering projects and a similar amount of guidance on Process Safety Management (PSM). However, there is a gap in transferring the key deliverables from the engineering group to the operations group, where PSM is implemented. This book provides the engineering and process safety deliverables for each project phase along with the impacts to the project budget, timeline and the safety and operability of the delivered equipment.
Introduction to Chemical Engineering by
The field of chemical engineering is undergoing a global "renaissance," with new processes, equipment, and sources changing literally every day. It is a dynamic, important area of study and the basis for some of the most lucrative and integral fields of science. Introduction to Chemical Engineering offers a comprehensive overview of the concept, principles and applications of chemical engineering. It explains the distinct chemical engineering knowledge which gave rise to a general-purpose technology and broadest engineering field. The book serves as a conduit between college education and the real-world chemical engineering practice. It answers many questions students and young engineers often ask which include: How is what I studied in the classroom being applied in the industrial setting? What steps do I need to take to become a professional chemical engineer? What are the career diversities in chemical engineering and the engineering knowledge required? How is chemical engineering design done in real-world? What are the chemical engineering computer tools and their applications? What are the prospects, present and future challenges of chemical engineering? And so on. It also provides the information new chemical engineering hires would need to excel and cross the critical novice engineer stage of their career. It is expected that this book will enhance students understanding and performance in the field and the development of the profession worldwide. Whether a new-hire engineer or a veteran in the field, this is a must--have volume for any chemical engineer's library.