Al-Ghazali's Path to Sufisimand his Deliverance from error : an annotated translation of al-Munqidh min al-dalal by
This text has long been recognized as not only an Islamic classic, but also as a great spiritual autobiography of one of the world's greatest religious thinkers. It is the narrative of how one dedicated seeker of true knowledge and salvation, having probed various systems of thought and differing paths of learning and enlightenment, discovered the peace of the inner life and discipline of mystical spirituality.
The Goodly Word by
Written by the renowned jurist of the fourteenth century, Taqi al-Din Ahmad Ibn Taymiyya, The Goodly Word is one of the most referred to works on prayer and the merits of prayer. Exclusively based on what the Prophet Muhammad himself said and did, this work includes prayers for every moment of the Muslims life. The Goodly Word is here presented in a bi-lingual edition so that the exact prayers of the Prophet can be read in the original Arabic. The translation is by two distinguished scholars who have also translated An-Nawawi's Forty Hadith and Forty Hadith Qudsi both published by the Islamic Texts Society.
The Invocation of God by
In describing al-Wabil al-Sayyib, here translated into English for the first time as Ibn Qayyim al-Jawziyya on the Invocation of God, the author says, 'We have mentioned [in it] nearly one hundred benefits of remembrance of God [dhikr], and the secrets of remembrance...This is a book of great usefulness.' Written in the fourteenth century by the renowned theologian Ibn Qayyim al-Jawziyya, this treatise movingly details the many blessings of the remembrance of God. Through discussions of the ego, the nature of the body, the ephemerality of the world, the degrees of prayer, fasting, charity, and the purification of the heart, this beautifully written work is a genuine contribution to Muslim spirituality. What makes Ibn Qayyim al-Jawziyya on the Invocation of God of great interest is that it illustrates the spiritual life of Ibn Qayyim and of his teacher, the Hanbalite reformer Ibn Taymiyya (1263AH/1328AD).
The Key to Salvation by
This is the first English translation of Miftah al-falah, a thirteenth century Sufi text, written by Ibn Ata Allah, one of the great masters of the Shadhili Sufi order. It is considered to be one of his most important works because it sets out the principles of actual Sufi mystical practices, shedding light on the sacred invocations, and associated practices, such as the spiritual retreat. Written in a clear, lucid style, it offers a glimpse into the Sufi world of the 7th Islamic century and allows us to see almost at first hand how the novice was guided by the Sufi Shaykh and, above all, the purpose and preparation involved in engaging in the invocation, dhikhru'llah. Ibn Ata' Allah sets out to define it, to explain its nature and power, to show its results and to prove that it is part of the Prophet's Sunna, or practice. The author goes to great lengths to point out many Qur'anic verses where dhikru'llah is mentioned and cites many noted authorities.
The Niche of Lights by
Abu Hamid Muhammad al-Ghazali's philosophical explorations covered nearly the entire spectrum of twelfth-century beliefs. Beginning his career as a skeptic, he ended it as a scholar of mysticism and orthodoxy. The Niche of Lights, written near the end of his illustrious career, advances the philosophically important idea that reason can serve as a connection between the devout and God. Al-Ghazali argues that abstracting God from the world, as he believed theologians did, was not sufficient for understanding. Exploring the boundary between philosophy and theology, The Niche of Lights seeks to understand the role of reality in the perception of the spiritual.
The Secret of Secrets by
An interpretative translation by Shaykh Tosun Bayrak of Sirr al-Asrar by Hadrat Abd al-Qadir al-Jilani (1077-1166AD), considered by many to be one of the greatest saints of Islam and the eponymous founder of the Qadiriyya order. This book, appearing in English for the first time, contains the very essence of Sufism, giving a Sufi explanation of how the outward practises of Islam--prayer, fasting, almsgiving and pilgrimage--contain a wealth of inner dimension which must be discovered and enjoyed if external actions are to be performed in a manner pleasing to God. When this is achieved the soul finds true peace and the spiritual life becomes complete.
The Work of Day and Night : Suyūṭī's collection of prophetic practices and prayers by
Imam Jalal al-Din Suyuti (d. 911/1505) was one of the most prolific writers produced by the Islamic world. He is the author of over 700 works in virtually every field known to Islamic science, including the famous Jalalayn commentary of the Qur'an (of which he was co-author). His works are still widely used, and his name is a by-word for breadth of learning, voluminous output and a saintly life. The Work of Day and Night is Imam Suyuti's collection of the daily and nightly practices of the Prophet of Islam and includes instructions on how to follow the Prophet in everyday actions and supplications. In it the reader will find: the prayers said upon awakening, before eating and when dressing; the acts carried out at various times of the day, and between prayers; the supplications recited in times of distress as well as of intimacy with God; and much else. This book is invaluable for learning the practices of the Prophet and integrating it into one's life.
An Anthology of Qur'anic Commentaries by
The vast and varied corpus of Islamic scriptural commentary is attracting much interest from contemporary western scholarship. Of seminal value within the Muslim tradition, Qur'an interpretation has been and continues to be the expression of diverse theological, legal, and mysticalunderstandings of the letter and meanings of God's word. In this first volume, the interpretations of a selection of Sunni, Shi'i, Ibadi, Mu'tazili, and Sufi scholars on six key Qur'anic verses are presented as a chronological and doctrinal cross-section stretching from the second century of Islamto the present day. This selection represents thirteen centuries of exegetical activity from the principal theological and confessional groups of Islam, reflecting the plurality and diversity of Qur'anic interpretation in the Muslim world. The work has been conceived with the general reader inmind, but it has also been designed to meet the specialist needs of those engaged in Islamic studies, its sub-fields, and related academic fields. The way in which the primary material is introduced, analyzed, and supported with extensive annotation will particularly appeal to teachers and studentswithin the field.
The Essential Koran: the Heart of Islam ; an introductory selection of readings from the Qurʼan by 
Interpretation of the meanings of the noble Qurʼān in the English language : a summarized version of At [i.e. al.]-Tabarī, Al-Qurtubī, and Ibn Kathīr with comments from Sahīh Al-Bukhārī by 
The Life of Muhammad : a translation of Isḥāq's Sīrat rasūl Allāh by
Professor Guillaume's translation of the Sira of Ibn Ishaq is now reissued. The translator used Ibn Hisham's abridgement and also included many additions and variants found in the writings of early authors. The book thus presents in English practically all that is known of the life of the Prophet.In the introduction, the translator discusses the character of the Sira in the light of the opinion of early Arabian scholars, noting especially the difficulties of the poetry. As the earliest monument of Arabian prose literature, the Sira remains a work of the first importance.
The Message of the Qur'an: The full account of the revealed Arabic text accompanied by parallel transliteration by
At just six pounds, this reduced-size version of Muhammad Asad's classic English translation and explanation of the Qur'an is much easier to handle. With a prologue by the Gai Eaton and original artwork by Ahmed Moustafa, this translation is widely considered to be the foremost in conveying the meaning and sensibility of the original Arabic text, making this edition a must-have for both veteran scholars and English readers with a budding interest in Islamic studies.
Muhammad: his life based on the earliest sources by
This is the definitive, objective biography of the Prophet, drawn from primary Arabic sources of the 8th and 9th centuries, and includes passages never before translated. It owes its freshness and directness of approach to the words of the men and women who heard Muhammad speak and witnessed the events of his life.
The Peak of Eloquence (Nahjul Balagha) by
The Prophet Muhammad referred to his eloquent son-in-law Ali as the "gate to the city of knowledge."Peak of Eloquence, Nahjul Balagha, is both a compilation of Ali's sermons, letters, and sayings and a glimpse into his personality. Compiled by Sayyid al-Sharif ar-Radi more than 1,000 years ago, it is considered a literary masterpiece and, by the Shia Muslims, the most valuable text after the Holy Qur'an.
Qur'an by
This English translation of the Qur'an is a compilation of the Muslim faith's Final Revelation from God to mankind through the last Prophet Muhammad, Peace be upon Him. The Qur'an has a wealth of information--both worldly wisdom and intellectual concepts--providing a code of life for humankind generally and Muslims in particular. Indeed, the Qur'an's miracle lies in its ability to offer something to non-believers and everything to believers. This edition is fully indexed.
The Qur'an: English translation and parallel Arabic text by
The Qur'an, believed by Muslims to be the word of God, was revealed to the Prophet Muhammad 1400 years ago. Recognized as the greatest literary masterpiece in Arabic, the sacred text has nevertheless remained difficult to understand in its English translations. First published in 2004, M.A.S.Abdel Haleem's translation has been acclaimed for its success in avoiding archaism and cryptic language to produce a version that is both faithful to the original and easy to read. Now for the first time it is published with the original Arabic text to give a greater appreciation and understandingof the holy book. The traditional Arabic calligraphic pages are displayed alongside the English translation, which has been revised for this new edition. A useful general introduction on the revelation, stylistic features, issues of interpretation and translation of the Qur'an is included, togetherwith summaries of each sura, essential footnotes and an index. The verses are individually numbered to facilitate comparison with the Arabic. It is an edition both for those familiar with the Qur'an and for those coming to it for the first time; the message of the Qur'an was directly addressed toall people regardless of class, gender, or age, and this dual-language edition is equally accessible to everyone.
The Qur'an: with Annotated Interpretation in Modern English by
A timely addition to literature on the holy book of Islam, this translation provides the Arabic text as well as extensive explanations and interpretations on most verses. The use of modern English throughout the translation, combined with the focus on social and historical aspects of Islam in the commentaries, make this edition particularly accessible. Thirteen maps and several special glossaries are also included.
The Study Quran: a new translation and commentary by
An accessible and accurate translation of the Quran that offers a rigorous analysis of its theological, metaphysical, historical, and geographical teachings and backgrounds, and includes extensive study notes, special introductions by experts in the field, and is edited by a top modern Islamic scholar, respected in both the West and the Islamic world. Drawn from a wide range of traditional Islamic commentaries, including Sunni and Shia sources, and from legal, theological, and mystical texts, The Study Quran conveys the enduring spiritual power of the Quran and offers a thorough scholarly understanding of this holy text. Beautifully packaged with a rich, attractive two-color layout, this magnificent volume includes essays by 15 contributors, maps, useful notes and annotations in an easy-to-read two-column format, a timeline of historical events, and helpful indices. With The Study Quran, both scholars and lay readers can explore the deeper spiritual meaning of the Quran, examine the grammar of difficult sections, and explore legal and ritual teachings, ethics, theology, sacred history, and the importance of various passages in Muslim life. With an introduction by its general editor, Seyyed Hossein Nasr, here is a nearly 2,000-page, continuous discussion of the entire Quran that provides a comprehensive picture of how this sacred work has been read by Muslims for over 1,400 years.
An-Nawawī's Forty hadith: an anthology of the sayings of the Prophet Muhammad by
This collection of forty hadith by one of the most famous compilers of hadith is generally regarded as the most popular anthology and the best introduction to the study of the Prophet's sayings which, together with the Qur'an, contain the essential teachings of Islam. The Arabic original has been printed alongside the English translation for the benefit of those with a knowledge of Arabic. The translation, by two scholars working in close collaboration, combines accuracy with readability.
Divine Sayings: 101 ḥadīth qudsī by
A collection of 101 hadith sayings, this work is one of the most important and influential early collections of hadith qudsi. Falling into three categories, the first 40 sayings each have a full, unbroken chain of transmission that goes back to God through the medium of the Prophet Muhammad. The second category are sayings mostly taken from well-known written collections. The final section is drawn from similar books, with Ibn 'Arabi adding one extra hadith, orally transmitted. Comprised of a full introduction explaining the meaning of Hadith, the text stresses the importance of this tradition in Ibn 'Arabi's writing.
