Skip to main content

ENG 239 Neff: Home

Welcome!

This guide links you directly to library resources and tips to help you with your ENG 239 project. 

If you additional questions, please contact me directly! Tell me about your topic and where you've searched so far. This will keep me from suggesting something you've already tried.

 

Types of Sources

Library databases contain collections of articles and reports from several different types of sources, including:

  • academic/scholarly publications
  • trade publications
  • newspapers
  • magazines

 

Search Strategies

Once you identify your topic, brainstorm words and short phrases that you think authors would use when writing about it. Make a list! The words and phrases on your list are keywords that you'll use when you're searching databases.

When you type one or more keywords in a database, the database will return a list of articles that contain your keywords. If you see too many results, try adding another keyword that describes your topic. If you're not seeing enough results, try dropping one of your keywords. If your results don't really apply to your topic, try another keyword.

Finding articles can be a long process. Write down the terms you use in each database to help keep track of how you've searched, and discover new keywords as you find articles. Different databases will return different results, so it helps to search several databases.

Starting Point: Databases

If you access a database from off-campus, you'll have to enter your Marian username and password (same username and password that get you into Canvas).

Because you're researching problems from the perspective of a business or organization, I'm linking you to databases that contain information written from a business perspective, as well as some general databases that cover a variety of topics. 

If you find an article that isn't available through our library, you can request that we get a copy for you. We'll borrow it from another library at no cost to you through our Interlibrary Loan service. Click this link for more information on using Interlibrary Loan.

Jessica Trinoskey's picture
Jessica Trinoskey
Contact:
Library, 1st floor offices
317-955-6730

Citing Your Sources (APA)

Once you're viewing an article in a database, you will frequently be able to find a link that will take you directly to information on how to cite it. This is what it looks like in Business Source Complete:

When you click on the icon, the database will attempt an APA citation for your References page. It's your responsibility to make sure that the information and formatting are accurate, but this is a great start! Remember, you still need to cite your sources in the text of your report. Purdue OWL is a great source of information for formatting in-text citations.