LibGuides: Open &amp; Affordable Textbooks: Find resources

What's an OER?

An OER is an open educational resource. This can be anything from full textbooks to modules to syllabi to test banks to images to videos, and many more.

What's an open educational resource? Free + permissions.

The Hewlett Foundation defines them like this: Open Educational Resources (OER) are teaching, learning, and research materials that are either (a) in the public domain or (b) licensed in a manner that provides everyone with free and perpetual permission to engage in the 5R activities [retain, reuse, remix, revise, and redistribute].

Where to find OERs

OER for the Indiana Course Transfer Library
View suggested open resources for general education courses in the state of Indiana.
Open Textbook Library
A great first stop in searching for open textbooks. Click Browse Subjects on the left to browse by discipline, or use the search box at the top.

The Open Textbook Library also includes the popular OpenStax textbooks.
OpenStax
OpenStax provides free, peer-reviewed textbooks and materials that cover introductory college courses. Materials typically include a textbook, PowerPoint slides, and test banks. Some OER also include whole Canvas courses.
OERCommons
A great place to find open textbooks, as well as other open educational resources. You may find resources here that are cross-listed elsewhere, on places like OpenStax, MERLOT, etc.

Use the "Subject" and "Educational Level" filters to help narrow your search.
Humbolt ISBN Search
Scroll down to the search bar under the "OPEN" image in the middle. You can put in your previous textbook's ISBN and get suggestions on OER that are similar!
BC Campus
A Canadian university system with many unique OER creations.
Mason OER Finder
This search tool searches multiple OER repositories at once, and allows you to filter by document type.
Lumen Learning
Lumen’s course materials are designed to strengthen learning using open educational resources (OER). They provide free resources as well as for fee services.

Open Streaming Videos

Open Streaming Video Collections
Looking for open multimedia components for your course? This collection of open access video streaming options provides video content in many arts, humanities, and science disciplines.

Content Organizer

Use this template to organize your zero-cost resources as you go, and align them with your course topics.

You can make your own copy of the document by going to File > Make a Copy.

What are library-licensed materials?

Library-licensed resources are resources that the library has purchased that are free for your students to use. You'll want to look for resources that are DRM-free, which means students can download, print, and read as much as they want with no technology restrictions. Another good option is ebooks with unlimited users, because that means that all your students could access the book at once, and usually print a good chunk of the book at a time if desired.

Where to find library-licensed textbooks

JSTOR
"These JSTOR ebooks provide unlimited, DRM-free access. The ebook chapters have no limits on downloads or printing, and there’s no need to use special software or create a login. It’s just like using journals on JSTOR. The ebooks are available on alongside more than 2,000 journals.

Easy to use in courses: If you’d like to use the ebooks in a course, you can add the stable URL for a chapter or a full ebook to a syllabus. With on-campus and remote access available 24/7, and no limits on simultaneous use, the ebooks are always available to your students."
ProQuest Ebook Central
This link takes you to the Browse by Subject landing page. Once you choose a subject from the list, select the filter on the left labeled "Unlimited Print, Copy, & Download." Any books under this label can be used by an unlimited number of simultaneous users, and they can download and print without restrictions. You can also use the other filters on the left to narrow your choices.
Project MUSE Ebooks
Project MUSE contains almost 2,000 open access ebooks that may be used for courses and study. Use the filters on the left, such as research area and publication year, to filter the results.
Taylor & Francis Open Access Ebooks
Choose from the left column or search by subject, then use the Open Access filter on the left to find free textbooks.

Springer E-book package This link opens in a new window
Springer ebooks are DRM-free, which means there is no limit to how much you can download and print of a text provided here.

Below is a spreadsheet detailing some Springer titles that have been identified by Springer as potential textbook options.

Springer Textbook Titles
This spreadsheet lists texts that Springer has identified as potential textbook material. Most were published in the last 5 years. You can click the blue and red boxes on the top of the Affordable Textbooks sheet (middle of three tabs at the bottom) to filter through the titles by package and subject.

To clear a filter and restart your search, click the Filter icon with a red X in the top right of the box.

E-Resource and Open Education Librarian

Caitlin Balgeman

she/her

Email Me

Contact:

Book a meeting, training, assistance with Caitlin

8-4, Monday through Friday

(317) 955-6393

Subjects: APA Academic Writer, Communication, Counseling, Education, English & Literature, Fine Arts, FYS 110 - First Year Seminar, Global Studies / Political Science, History, History & Social Sciences, Languages, Law, Music, Psychology, Sociology & Social Work, Spanish Language, Theater & Performing Arts

What have other faculty used?

Interested in what faculty at private colleges and universities in Indiana have used for their courses? View these spreadsheets (and check out the tabs at the bottom for more years of textbook selections).

Want to join the fun? Apply for a PALSave Course Redesign Grant and receive a $500 stipend.

Open & Affordable Textbooks: Find resources

Looking for assistance?

The library is here to help! If you'd like assistance in finding and sorting through resources, contact Caitlin Balgeman to schedule a one-on-one consultation.

And, you can always email or stop by the library with any questions you have throughout your textbook adoption process.

Your choices matter. Thank you for choosing affordable.