The Chemical Bond: fundamental aspects of chemical bonding by Gernot Frenking (Editor); Sason Shaik (Editor)This is the perfect complement to "Chemical Bonding - Across the Periodic Table" by the same editors, who are two of the top scientists working on this topic, each with extensive experience and important connections within the community. The resulting book is a unique overview of the different approaches used for describing a chemical bond, including molecular-orbital based, valence-bond based, ELF, AIM and density-functional based methods. It takes into account the many developments that have taken place in the field over the past few decades due to the rapid advances in quantum chemical models and faster computers.
Call Number: Available as an ebook
Publication Date: 2014-05-15
The Chemical Bond in Inorganic Chemistry: the bond valence model by I. David BrownThis book describes the bond valence model, a description of acid-base bonding which is becoming increasingly popular particularly in fields such as materials science and mineralogy where solid state inorganic chemistry is important. Recent improvements in crystal structure determination haveallowed the model to become more quantitative. Unlike other models of inorganic chemical bonding, the bond valence model is simple, intuitive, and predictive, and can be used for analysing crystal structures and the conceptual modelling of local as well as extended structures. This is the first bookto explore in depth the theoretical basis of the model and to show how it can be applied to synthetic and solution chemistry. It emphasizes the separate roles of the constraints of chemistry and of three-dimensional space by analysing the chemistry of solids. Many applications of the model inphysics, materials science, chemistry, mineralogy, soil science, surface science, and molecular biology are reviewed. The final chapter describes how the bond valence model relates to and represents a simplification of other models of inorganic chemical bonding.
Call Number: QD461 .B76
Publication Date: 2002-02-07
Discovering Chemistry with Natural Bond Orbitals by Frank WeinholdThis book explores chemical bonds, their intrinsic energies, and the corresponding dissociation energies which are relevant in reactivity problems. It offers the first book on conceptual quantum chemistry, a key area for understanding chemical principles and predicting chemical properties. It presents NBO mathematical algorithms embedded in a well-tested and widely used computer program (currently, NBO 5.9). While encouraging a "look under the hood" (Appendix A), this book mainly enables students to gain proficiency in using the NBO program to re-express complex wavefunctions in terms of intuitive chemical concepts and orbital imagery.
Call Number: Available as an ebook
Publication Date: 2012-06-15
Models for Bonding in Chemistry by Valerio MagnascoA readable little book assisting the student in understanding, in a nonmathematical way, the essentials of the different bonds occurring in chemistry. Starting with a short, self-contained,introduction, Chapter 1 presents the essential elements of the variation approach to either total or second-order molecular energies, the system of atomic units (au) necessary to simplify all mathematical expressions, and an introductory description of the electron distribution in molecules. Using mostly 2x2 Hückel secular equations, Chapter 2, by far the largest part of the book because of the many implications of the chemical bond, introduces a model of bonding in homonuclear and heteronuclear diatomics, multiple and delocalized bonds in hydrocarbons, and the stereochemistry of chemical bonds in polyatomic molecules, in a word, a model of the strong first-order interactions originating the chemical bond. In Chapter 3 the Hückel model of the linear polyene chain is used to explain the origin of band structure in the 1-dimensional crystal. Chapter 4 deals with a simple two-state model of weak interactions, introducing the reader to understand second-order electric properties of molecules and VdW bonding between closed shells. Lastly, Chapter 5 studies the structure of H-bonded dimers and the nature of the hydrogen bond, which has a strength intermediate between a VdW bond and a weak chemical bond. Besides a qualitative MO approach based on HOMO-LUMO charge transfer from an electron donor to an electron acceptor molecule, a quantitative electrostatic approach is presented yielding an electrostatic model working even at its simplest pictorial level. A list of alphabetically ordered references, author and subject indices complete the book.
Chemistry 2e by Paul Flowers, et al.Chemistry 2e is designed to meet the scope and sequence requirements of the two-semester general chemistry course. The textbook provides an important opportunity for students to learn the core concepts of chemistry and understand how those concepts apply to their lives and the world around them. The book also includes a number of innovative features, including interactive exercises and real-world applications, designed to enhance student learning. The second edition has been revised to incorporate clearer, more current, and more dynamic explanations, while maintaining the same organization as the first edition. Substantial improvements have been made in the figures, illustrations, and example exercises that support the text narrative.
Call Number: Available as an ebook
Publication Date: 2019
Handbook of Inorganic Compounds by Perry
Call Number: REF QD155.5 .H26
Inorganic Chemistry by Robert VallsUsing classification, diagrams and crystallography elements, we describe in this book the bonds in the crystals using the basic patterns. The use of various criteria such as ionicity character of the bonds, the use of hard sphere models, the Pauling rules and the spatial availability of ions all together make it possible to better understand the spatial organization of typical crystals. Through original representations, the structure and the nature of the bonds in binary crystals of MX- and MX2- types as well as the ternary crystals of the perovskite and spinel type are studied.
Call Number: Available as an ebook
Publication Date: 2017-11-29
Inorganic Chemistry: an industrial and environmental perspective by Thomas W. SwaddleThis practical treatment considers the vast economic and environmental importance of inorganic chemistry in applications from agriculture to water treatment to materials for electronics. Topics covered include: atmospheric pollution and its abatement; water conditioning; fertilizers; cement chemistry; extractive metallurgy; metallic corrosion; catalysts; fuel cells and advanced batter technology; pulp and paper production; explosives; superficial fluids; sol-gel science; materials for electronics; and superconductors.
Call Number: QD151.5 .S82
Publication Date: 1997-02-24
Inorganic Chemistry of Main Group Elements by R. Bruce KingMany chapters include the following: a summary of the typical coordination number, oxidation states, bonding types, etc. found in the elements covered; important properties of the free elements including a discussion of allotropic forms; discussions of halides, oxides, oxyacids, organimetallic derivatives, and other compound types in separate sections.
Call Number: QD151.2 .K46
Publication Date: 1994-10-01
The Physical Basis of Chemistry by Warren S. WarrenIf the text you're using for general chemistry seems to lack sufficient mathematics and physics in its presentation of classical mechanics, molecular structure, and statistics, this complementary science series title may be just what you're looking for. Written for the advanced lower-division undergraduate chemistry course, The Physical Basis of Chemistry, Second Edition, offers students an opportunity to understand and enrich the understanding of physical chemistry with some quantum mechanics, the Boltzmann distribution, and spectroscopy. Posed and answered are questions concerning everyday phenomena. Unlike other texts on this subject, however, Dr. Warren deals directly with the substance of the questions, avoiding the use of predigested material more appropriate for memorization exercises than for actual concrete learning. The only prerequisite is first-semester calculus or familiarity with one-variable derivatives. In this new edition, the entire text has been rewritten and keyed with an accompanying website, which contains instructive QuickTime movies on topics presented in the text to enhance student learning and participation.
Call Number: QD475 .W27
Publication Date: 2000-01-31
Principles of Inorganic Chemistry by Brian W. PfennigAimed at senior undergraduates and first-year graduate students, this book offers a principles-based approach to inorganic chemistry that, unlike other texts, uses chemical applications of group theory and molecular orbital theory throughout as an underlying framework. This highly physical approach allows students to derive the greatest benefit of topics such as molecular orbital acid-base theory, band theory of solids, and inorganic photochemistry, to name a few. Takes a principles-based, group and molecular orbital theory approach to inorganic chemistry The first inorganic chemistry textbook to provide a thorough treatment of group theory, a topic usually relegated to only one or two chapters of texts, giving it only a cursory overview Covers atomic and molecular term symbols, symmetry coordinates in vibrational spectroscopy using the projection operator method, polyatomic MO theory, band theory, and Tanabe-Sugano diagrams Includes a heavy dose of group theory in the primary inorganic textbook, most of the pedagogical benefits of integration and reinforcement of this material in the treatment of other topics, such as frontier MO acid--base theory, band theory of solids, inorganic photochemistry, the Jahn-Teller effect, and Wade's rules are fully realized Very physical in nature compare to other textbooks in the field, taking the time to go through mathematical derivations and to compare and contrast different theories of bonding in order to allow for a more rigorous treatment of their application to molecular structure, bonding, and spectroscopy Informal and engaging writing style; worked examples throughout the text; unanswered problems in every chapter; contains a generous use of informative, colorful illustrations
Call Number: Available as an ebook
Publication Date: 2015-03-03
Structural Methods in Molecular Inorganic Chemistry by D. W. H. Rankin; Norbert Mitzel; Carole MorrisonDetermining the structure of molecules is a fundamental skill that all chemists must learn. Structural Methods in Molecular Inorganic Chemistry is designed to help readers interpret experimental data, understand the material published in modern journals of inorganic chemistry, and make decisions about what techniques will be the most useful in solving particular structural problems. Following a general introduction to the tools and concepts in structural chemistry, the following topics are covered in detail: * computational chemistry * nuclear magnetic resonance spectroscopy * electron paramagnetic resonance spectroscopy * Mössbauer spectroscopy * rotational spectra and rotational structure * vibrational spectroscopy * electronic characterization techniques * diffraction methods * mass spectrometry The final chapter presents a series of case histories, illustrating how chemists have applied a broad range of structural techniques to interpret and understand chemical systems. Throughout the textbook a strong connection is made between theoretical topics and the real world of practicing chemists. Each chapter concludes with problems and discussion questions, and a supporting website contains additional advanced material. Structural Methods in Molecular Inorganic Chemistry is an extensive update and sequel to the successful textbook Structural Methods in Inorganic Chemistry by Ebsworth, Rankin and Cradock. It is essential reading for all advanced students of chemistry, and a handy reference source for the professional chemist.
Call Number: Available as an ebook
Publication Date: 2013-01-02
Atoms & Molecules
The Architecture of Molecules by Linus Pauling, Roger HaywardAn "introduction to the subject of how atoms are arranged and interconnected in molecules and crystals and to the way in which the geometry of this organization accounts for some of the properties of substances. ... The Author and [Roger Hayward, the] illustrator. . . emphasize the significance of molecular structure to life."
Chemistry: Atoms First 2e by Paul Flowers, et al.Chemistry: Atoms First 2e is a peer-reviewed, openly licensed introductory textbook produced through a collaborative publishing partnership between OpenStax and the University of Connecticut and UConn Undergraduate Student Government Association.
This text is an atoms-first adaptation of OpenStax Chemistry 2e. The intention of “atoms-first” involves a few basic principles: first, it introduces atomic and molecular structure much earlier than the traditional approach, and it threads these themes through subsequent chapters. This approach may be chosen as a way to delay the introduction of material such as stoichiometry that students traditionally find abstract and difficult, thereby allowing students time to acclimate their study skills to chemistry. Additionally, it gives students a basis for understanding the application of quantitative principles to the chemistry that underlies the entire course. It also aims to center the study of chemistry on the atomic foundation that many will expand upon in a later course covering organic chemistry, easing that transition when the time arrives.
The second edition has been revised to incorporate clearer, more current, and more dynamic explanations, while maintaining the same organization as the first edition. Substantial improvements have been made in the figures, illustrations, and example exercises that support the text narrative.
Molecules by P. W. AtkinsPeter is well-known for the clarity of his writing, and for his ability to communicate ideas concisely, compellingly, and with elegance. His talents are here deployed in a book intended for delight - delight in the way in which the world around us is put together, in how structure is reflected in properties, and in the extra level of beauty revealed to the informed eye and brain. Education in Chemistry This is undoubtedly the most beautiful chemistry book ever written ...whether you spend only five minutes, or indulge an evening reading it all, you will be amply rewarded. New Scientist
Call Number: QD461 .A75
Publication Date: 1991-07-01
Spectra of Atoms and Molecules by Peter F. BernathSpectra of Atoms and Molecules, 2nd Edition is designed to introduce advanced undergraduates and new graduate students to the vast field of spectroscopy. Of interest to chemists, physicists, astronomers, atmospheric scientists, and engineers, it emphasizes the fundamental principles of spectroscopy with its primary goal being to teach students how to interpret spectra. The book includes a clear presentation of group theory needed for understanding the material and a large number of excellent problems are found at the end of each chapter. In keeping with the visual aspects of the course, the author provides a large number of diagrams and spectra specifically recorded for this book. Topics such as molecular symmetry, matrix representation of groups, quantum mechanics, and group theory are discussed. Analyses are made of atomic, rotational, vibrational, and electronic spectra. Spectra of Atoms and Molecules, 2nd Edition has been updated to include the 1998 revision of physical constants, and conforms more closely to the recommended practice for the use of symbols and units. This new edition has also added material pertaining to line intensities, which can be confusing due to the dozens of different units used to report line and band strengths. Another major change is in author Peter Bernath's discussion of the Raman effect and light scattering, where the standard theoretical treatment is now included. Aimed at new students of spectroscopy regardless of their background, Spectra of Atoms and Molecules will help demystify spectroscopy by showing the necessary steps in a derivation.
Call Number: QC451 B37
Publication Date: 2005-01-01
Stories of the Invisible: a guided tour of molecules by Philip BallWhat are things made of? 'Everything is composed of small molecules of itself, and they are flying around in concentric circles and arcs and segments,' explains Sergeant Fottrell in Flann O'Brien's The Dalkey Archive. Philip Ball shows that the world of the molecule is indeed a dynamic place.Using the chemistry of life as a springboard, he provides a new perspective on modern chemical science as a whole. Living cells are full of molecules in motion, communication, cooperation, and competition. Molecular scientists are now starting to capture the same dynamism in synthetic molecularsystems, promising to reinvent chemistry as the central creative science of the new century.